We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One INEXPERIENCED and NOT TRAINED guide!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Auberge de montagne des Chic Chocs
Reviewed 7 July 2010

1- This is an outdoor activity place and they have guides. My family took a walk to the water fall and on the return hike back up the lodge, I barely could make it. I was short of breath, my skin was cold and clammy, I had tunnel and double vision and I was walking half a step at a time with my head down to get the blood flowing in my brain. I knew what I needed - I needed to be saved. Suddenly, the 17 year old boy with me and I heard a 4 wheel bike arriving. I stopped the guide and asked him to bring me back to the lodge. He informed me that I could not ride with him bc it is only for MEDICAL EMEGENCY. I informed him that I needed help. Then he looked at me from head to feet and said "You look OK and you will be proud when you make it back the lodge on your own". I then told him again -I need help. He told the kid with me that he should carry me and started laughing. I asked him again for help as I need to be really saved now and he again with his "superman xray vision" told me that his transportation was for medical emergency only. He then futher informed me and the boy I was with that we should radio the lodge if I need saving! My God, I was asking him already many times! He was the guide from the lodge that was suppose to save me! He was right there infront of me! I did not have any energy left to argue and I told him if he is not going to help me he should just go pass us... and he did ... and his last words were "You have the radio (walkie-talkie), call the lodge if you need help." As we was passing us, I told the boy with me that I will write about this if I make it through bc people should be infomred of the quality of guides that they provide. After he passed by us, he stopped 20 feet after and informed the kid I was with that he was going to take me! He then informed me to hop on the back. I did not get any help form him! I am about ready to faint and barely walking, yet this guide thought I could lift my leg alone with him sitting infront of that bike! Of course the light bulb in his brain suddenly opened and he realized he needed to stand bc my legs were not anymore stable-ARGH! He did bring me back in the lodge and dropped me off the front. There was no "Will you be fine?" I barely made it to the Aderondack chair in front of the entrance of the lodge and collapsed there.
WHEN YOU ASKED TO BE SAVED, YOU EXPECT TO BE SAVED IN A PLACE LIKE THIS!

2- If you have friends going with you on the trip, make sure you all reserve under ONE RESERVATION number. They do not tell you this so they can get your money and u end up not qualifying for the second person half price. They also lie when they tell you it is one full price and one half price because they do not tell you that you need to have the same reservation number. They make you reserve and then tell you IT IS NOT REFUNDABLE!!! SO my husband and I paid full price and out daughter got the half price. Her friend that was book by his parents had to pay full also instead of half price. Then I told the people in the reservations that they can share a room and have 2 twin beds- I was told, the price is per person NOT PER ROOM. When I addressed this issue in the lodge, they told me that it was because the friend and my daughter had their own rooms...WE WERE NEVER GIVEN THE SECOND HALF PRICE rebate! Stupid reservation staff!

3- Our room was never cleaned in 3 days- go figure that one out! We were instructed to put a certain sign if we wanted it cleaned and we did...still no cleaning lady came. We had mud all over!

4- The food was mostly good except for one night the "special bird" was so hard it was not eatable. They accomodated the allergies of the family.

5- The spa is a hot tub and sauna...and that is it. There are no other services so do not expect a real "spa".

6- To find the place, we were instructed to go to "rue de l'iglise" (translated, church street). So we drove around the church many times and waited there! No one was there. The place was further up the main highway in a RESTAURANT! Gee, say restaurant not church!

7- Oh, we did see some moose.

8- They only have satellite phone

9- There is one computer...why can't they have wireless?

10- The resevation person will tell you to bring your bike helmets. They have mountain bikes (about 16 maybe) and only 8 helmets...Can't they buy more as that is not expensive at all? For the price they are charging, we should not be bringing the helmets.

11- My husband enjoyed the hikes. He had the experienced guide.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank yknip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2007

The Chic-chocs Mountain Lodge is located in the heart of an exquisite a wildlife preserve approximately 315 miles north east of Quebec City. Three years old, it consists of an modern18 room building with lounge, dining room, sauna, and outdoor hot tub. It is located at the end of a 20 mile gravel road, and you reach it after a 90 minute ride through the preserve in a small but comfortable bus. In winter, when the snow is several feet deep, the last five miles of the trip are made in a special "snow cat." You receive an introduction to the wildlife preserve during the trip, and when you arrive, you are warmly met by the staff and shown to your simple but beautiful rooms, all of which contain full baths and feature fine views. No air conditioning is provided or required.

As we went in August, activities at the Lodge centered around hiking, mountain biking, kayaking, and fishing. All equipment is provided (bring bike helmets), and activities are guided according to your abilities and wishes. While we don't ski, the Lodge is in its glory in winter, and we'd love to return then. The guides are knowledgeable, friendly, and you eat your meals with them and other members of the staff.

The Lodge is located in the heart of French-speaking Quebec in the Gaspe Peninsula. We were the only Anglophones (we both have a smattering a high and college French and looked forward to the opportunity to try it out. Many of the the staff are bilingual and all were extremely gracious to us in this regard.

Simply put, the experience was superb. The food, prepared by resident chefs, reflects a high-end approach to Quebecois cooking (we had duck, quail, steak, etc.) and the bar supports an excellent international list of wines and beers (these are not included in the otherwise all-inclusive daily rate). Vegetarians are cheerfully and deliciously accommodated. After a hard day outside, it was a delight to return to delicious meals, good conversation, and an early bedtime.

Go.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank CatFolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Eve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Toutes les chambres ont une superbe vue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juliemariestrutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank 605man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank laurent503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SylvieJeanN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cap-Chat hotels
0.7 mi away
Motel Restaurant Nanook
Motel Restaurant Nanook
#1 of 3 in Cap-Chat
44 reviews
1.5 mi away
Motel & Camping Le Pirate
Motel & Camping Le Pirate
#5 of 10 in Cap-Chat
12 reviews
1.9 mi away
Gite Reve et Realite
Gite Reve et Realite
#1 of 5 in Cap-Chat
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8 mi away
No photo provided
Domaine Joseph Ross
#5 of 5 in Cap-Chat
9 reviews
1.5 mi away
No photo provided
Gite L'Arc-en-Ciel
#6 of 10 in Cap-Chat
9 reviews
0 mi away
Village Grande Nature Chic-Chocs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge de montagne des Chic Chocs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge de montagne des Chic Chocs

Address: Matane Wildlife Reserve | 10 rue Notre-Dame Est, Cap-Chat, Quebec, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Gaspesie Region > Cap-Chat
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Cap-Chat
Price Range: £191 - £392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Auberge de montagne des Chic Chocs 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Auberge de montagne des Chic Chocs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge De Montagne Des Chic Chocs Hotel Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing