We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great lake”
Review of Issyk-Kul Lake

Issyk-Kul Lake
Ranked #1 of 45 things to do in Karakol
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great lake”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

around the issyk-kul lake you have many places to visit and a horseback riding in barskoon is highly recommented ! the tien shan mountains are mindblowing beautiful !

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank th0mas1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    92
    13
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
216 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“a "must-do" in Kyrgyzstan !”
Reviewed 6 February 2014

a 5 hour mini-bus ride from Bishek to Tamga, was ok. roads not bad (for Central-Asia). we spent 5 days in this small village at the Issyk-Kul. (Juri Gagarin, the cosmonaut, relaxed here after his trip to space). We stayed at the guesthouse "Askar and Tamara Guesthouse", which is absolutly great ! Tamara speaks English very well, and both run this guesthouse with their heart. she organized two horse-riding trips and Askar took us to the fairy-tale-mountains... amazing !!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank globalcycling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
721 reviews
364 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
“Beautiful lake!”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Lake Issyk-Kul is an amazing beautiful lake set high up in the mountains. It would truly be a mistake to not make the drive to the lake from either Bishkek or Almaty. However, we made the mistake of trying to stay in Cholpon-Ata, and found it to be an overdeveloped Kyrgyz party place that was striving to be Miami, and we didn't like the scene at all. We passed Cholpon-Ata a little ways and ended up finding a highly overpriced apartment to rent for the night in Bosteri. In the morning we did get to hang out at the beach in Bosteri and were actually pleasantly surprised by the sandy beach and crystal clear waters. Obviously it was cold, but how could you not go for a dip in such a beautiful place?

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank AlnAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innsbruck, Austria
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Southern shore is absolutely fantastic”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We stayed in a yurt camp on the southern shore of Lake Issyk-Kul. This was booked through Community Based Tourism and we loved it. The location was great and very quiet. The water is crystal clear and swimming was great fun (although it's a little tricky to get into the deeper water because there are slippery rocks).

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Manuela O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I am partial to Issyk Kul lake as I travelled there a lot as a child. I used to stay in one of the small villages near Cholpon Ata. It is an unbelievably beautiful area to visit: clear water, gorgeous views of mountain chains. Great outdoors, from horse riding to hiking to water sports. The accomodations are basic but certainly better than in many of neighboring "Stans". Summer months are the best to go.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mariya1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Issyk-Kul Lake also viewed

Karakol, Issyk Kul Province
Karakol, Issyk Kul Province
 

Been to Issyk-Kul Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing