We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best moments in Armenia”
Review of B&B Iris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
B&B Iris
Ranked #1 of 9 Alaverdi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We have spent just one night at Iris B&B but it has been enough for us to make our stay the best moment we have had in Armenia! Irina & Stepan are a wonderful couple; the room we had was simple but in order and the food we've been served was extraordinary! What makes the difference here is the management and if you cannot feel it, well, there is something wrong with you!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gonzalo75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 165 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2013

We have spent three night at B&B Iris. It was a a fantastic adventure. Rooms are clean and quiet. You have a wonderful view from the balcony in lounge room. Irina (owner of this place) helped us in arranging sightseeing trips. Food was incredible. You can try plenty of real Armenian dishes. We would strongly recommend this place if you would like to visit Hachpat and Sanachin monasteries.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jacek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

There B&B is a house with a very warm heart. The location is beautiful with from the balcony’s view on the mountains and very peaceful with the sound of the river.
Breakfast and dinner were SUPER and more than enough. Many kinds of food to choose from, homemade cake and vodka hmmm…..
The bedroom and bathroom were very clean and comfortable.
Irina and her husband Stephan speaks English, which is not so common in this part of the world. If you want information it will be given to you with a smile. If you want them to arrange or organize things for you, I’m sure you will get a very good deal!
Thank you very much Irena and I hope with all my heart you will play music again.
God bless you and your family.
Dirk and Nancy from Belgium

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

B&B Iris is in a beautiful location with stunning mountains to the front and rear and a river flowing in between.

I stayed at B&B Iris for two nights at the beginning of July whilst visiting Alaverdi and some of the surrounding villages.

I will admit to being a little nervous being in a country where very few people speak English, especially in the more rural areas. I worried about how I would get about and how I would cope with simple day to day tasks.

I needn’t have worried at all. Irina and Stepan are first class hosts and they speak perfect English – Irina puts new words she learns from guests on the fridge door.

Irina and Stepan are warm, welcoming, fun hosts who ensure they offer a relaxed atmosphere for their guests.

The facilities are very comfortable and the food was absolutely amazing.

While I was there Irina and Stepan played host to four Poles, two Finns, two Czechs, two Germans, two Austrians, a Ukrainian, a Dutchman and a South African. It was like the United Nations. Oh yes, we also had a visit from Stepan’s friend Armen who was a guide for the four young Poles. He was an absolute hoot.

Armenia is such a beautiful country with welcoming hospitable people. Alaverdi is to the north of the country and is blessed with amazing scenery and many monasteries to see.

You must visit Armenia and definitely have Alaverdi on your intinerary.

But where should you stay? Well that’s a no brainer…if you want a warm welcome in a comfortable and relaxed setting with a varied and plentiful menu, value for money and hosts who are interested in their guests and committed to ensuring they all have a first rate stay you must stay at B&B Iris with Irina and Stepan.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterABrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Confusingly run by a lady named Irina, hotel Iris is a fantastic place to stay in the beautiful Debed Canyon. At 11000 Dram/night for room+dinner+breakfast, it may seem somewhat expensive for Armenia, but once you taste the food, it will be money well spent. Irina serves up tasty, healthy food and you can eat as much as you want (you won't be in need of lunch). Also, her place is delightfully located in the stunning Debed Canyon, a part of Armenia I cannot recommend strongly enough.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Garth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Irina's place. We had a nice clean room (15000/double room), but in the end we were a bit disappointed. We had a okay dinner with 10 interesting people, but for everyone was just enough food and only one glass of wine (4000/person). This is way overpriced and nothing compared to our prior experience in Georgia. If new options come available in Alaverdi, consider them, cause the location is really bad (2 km walk from centre over a heavy traffic road).

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dick v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at Irina's guesthouse for one night, when I went to Alaverdi to explore the monasteries around the city. It is located not very far from the city center, but if you have rented a car or use a taxi it will certainly be easier to get there.

I was given a very confortable room on the second floor, that has a very nice common room and two balconies with incredible views of the Debed river and the mountains! There's a small bathroom with a good shower and hot water for guests only just beside the common room.

Food was another experience: dinner is a feast of delicious Armenian meals, together with home-made wine and oghee (fruit vodka). Irina is such a nice, helpful and attentive host! She gave some precious tips about the region and helped me with transportation back to Yerevan.

Definitely a place to remember!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MariCuencas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alaverdi hotels
1.2 mi away
Parisis B&B in Alaverdi
Parisis B&B in Alaverdi
#2 of 9 in Alaverdi
5 reviews
3.3 mi away
Odzun Hotel
Odzun Hotel
#3 of 7 in Odzun
17 reviews
2.8 mi away
B&B Odzun
B&B Odzun
#1 of 7 in Odzun
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Agasu Tun
Agasu Tun
#4 of 7 in Odzun
2 reviews
0 mi away
Lalvar
Lalvar
#4 of 9 in Alaverdi
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Iris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Iris

Address: Baghramyan street 65, Alaverdi, Armenia
Region: Armenia > Lori Province > Alaverdi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Alaverdi
Price Range: £19 - £21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near the World Heritage sites of Sanahin and Haghpat Monastery, there is much more to do in the Alaverdi region. Hike in the fabulous mountains, visit local museums, learn about Armenian medieval history and visit Alaverdi town and see proper Armenia. We have an English centre in the town who are always happy to assist with amazing hikes and tours. Ask your host for their details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your B&B Iris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing