We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This should be the number one hotel in the area!”
Review of Gullu Konaklari

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gullu Konaklari
Ranked #2 of 15 Sirince B&B and Inns
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“This should be the number one hotel in the area!”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

We had a beautiful little suite near the rose gardens. The bed was comfortable, we loved sharing wine on our terrace, and the bathroom was quite comfortable (I wish the water could have been hotter). The staff was completely concerned with our comfort and happiness.
The traditional Turkish breakfast is gigantic and the dinner we has there while looking over their gardens and the valley were stunning. You are literally steps away from a tiny village with a bazaar and many dining options.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Betsy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    31
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
38
78
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

nice hotel on end of village main street, quick and easy to get to shops and resturaunts. room good, breakfast wonderful on upper terrace with lovely view over the valley. staff helpful and very nice. stayed in the stone house? - lower level rooms, lovely outside courtyard

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boba12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2014

A group of us recently spent 2 nights at Gullu-K as a base for exploring Ephesus ruins. The village of Sirince is a good stop after hotels in larger towns. It is easy to walk and has good restaurants and bars. The guesthouse is attractive and clean with the usual and unavoidable drawbacks of steps and stairs - but helpful staff on check-in. The drawbacks to our downstairs villa was a persistent musty smell - no doubt due to trapped bathwater under tiles or in a bulkhead. Our upstairs room was fresh and sunny. The service was patchy at mealtimes, hard to get waiters attention for a second coffee at breakfast. They obviously found the garden breakfast area difficult to service from the kitchen. The night we had dinner at Gullu-K, no one in our group liked the food. Without wanting to overstate the criticism - the roast lamb was cold and fatty - and there was a suspicion it was yesterday's roast reheated for the night. It was also expensive. Maybe we would have dined better on a different night. That can happen.

Room Tip: Have a sniff first
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lazy-bedouin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantucket, Massachusetts, USA
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We've been at Gullu Konaklari for a few days and have been delighted. Its description as a B&B belies a hotel that offers quite full service and has a friendly, accommodative and effective staff. The rooms are pleasant, comfortable and in most cases look out onto the garden of the hotel and they all have very nice amenities including an attractive bathroom and more than adequate storage. Additionally the hotel boasts a very nice restaurant that offers breakfast and dinner both of which are excellent.

Your choices near Ephesus seem to be either big and busy or not so good. This is a great place to stay instead. We would come back and would wish more facilities were like this.

The village of Sirince is quite charming. Essentially an "at the end of the road" location, it offers covered passageways that wind up the hillside. The drawback is that it has been discovered and it seems to be often packed with tourists and tourist buses during the day and it is filled with small shops offering sweet wine and local production. Blessedly in the late afternoon it quiets down and its charm returns,

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London,England
Level 6 Contributor
272 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Gullu Konaklari is located at the end of a cul-de-sac in Sirene, a hill-town that is thronged with busloads of tourists from early morning until late afternoon when things quiet down. The primary attraction seems to be dozens if not hundreds of shops hawking fruit flavoured wines and cheap souvenirs.The other attraction is that it is a good overnight stop when visiting Ephesus and the other archaeological sites in the area. The inn has twelve rooms and is set in the middle of flower-filled gardens. Very quiet (except for dogs barking all through the night). The staff is friendly and welcoming, some with a better command of English than others. The rooms are of a decent size, clean and well-equipped and the bathrooms are large. Our room had a small balcony overlooking the valley and there are quiet outdoor seating areas spread around the grounds.We had dinner one evening and the food was quite decent with good variety, if not gourmet quality. Overall this is by no means a luxury accommodation (which is reflected in the price), but I understand that it is the best hotel or inn in the town and the quiet location is a big plus, especially if you are in town during the daytime.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plkmtk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This is a beautiful small boutique hotel with about only 4 rooms in the old mansion. The restaurant is very good and the garden is outstanding. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. Their staff is top notch and all speak excellent english.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank udziema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

The good:
Absolutely romantic getaway in a perfect setting. The lovely village of Sirince is a must see in Turkey. And to experience it best, stay in gullu konaklari is a must. Panoramic vistas all around, this small property itself is worth spending a good amount of time inside. The basics are all in the place. It's an absolutely we'll maintained, clean property. Very friendly and helpful staff, and the breakfast they offer is also pretty neat. The rooms are moderately sized, premium but not overtly luxurious. The location is perfect, to experience Sirince. The whole property is very tastefully decorated and the olive trees and the rose garden within the property adds to the charm of a countryside house.
The bad:
Almost nothing. Thought was a bit pricey for everything it offers. My opinion is that it could have been 20% less price wise! but that's a personal perspective.

Room Tip: Higher the rooms, better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sayantan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sirince
0.2 mi away
Kirkinca Hotel
Kirkinca Hotel
#1 of 4 in Sirince
250 reviews
3.5 mi away
Urkmez Hotel
Urkmez Hotel
#7 of 33 in Selcuk
522 reviews
3.3 mi away
Nur Pension
Nur Pension
#15 of 33 in Selcuk
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sirince Evleri
Hotel Sirince Evleri
#2 of 4 in Sirince
107 reviews
10.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kusadasi
0.2 mi away
StoneHouse ByIpek FarmHouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gullu Konaklari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gullu Konaklari

Property: Gullu Konaklari
Address: Sirince Koyu No:44, Sirince 35920, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Sirince
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Sirince
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gullu Konaklari 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant, exquisite, charming boutique hotel 10 kms. away from the amazing Greco-Roman city of Ephesus! Located in the historic village of Sirince with 12 rooms and 1 Vineyard House. Gullu Konaklari offers you luxurious rooms, amazing views of the olive hills, tranquility, personalized service and eclectic tastes from the Aegean as well as the world.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Gullu Konaklari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gullu Konaklari Hotel Selcuk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing