We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unexpectedly exceptional”

Ranked #10 of 20 Restaurants in Sirince
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly exceptional”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Follow the narrow streets to the top of the hill in Sirince for a lovely view and an even better lunch! The outdoor restaurant served fresh dishes- including stuffed zucchini blossoms, grape leaves, eggplant, olives, breads, "sea" grass. In fact, we had so much in this first course, we were surprised when they asked whether we wanted chicken or beef skewers or meatballs. Along with those dishes came a lovely Turkish salad and grilled onion. Every one of the dishes was excellent. We were seated outside at long picnic-type tables.
The walk up the winding streets to this surprise was well worth it!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank lilygirl1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    21
    8
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Enjoyed our meal on the patio, with lots of young people who did not speak English. Fun environment very fast friendly service great fresh food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mjad00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Food With An Even Better View”
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Our group of 5 (five) stopped at this restaurant as part of a tour with Ephesus Shuttle. You never know what kind of food or restaurant you're going to get under these circumstances. So I'm happy to report that we all completely enjoyed our meals here! This small restaurant is located up a steepish hill, and might be tough for people with mobility problems to get up there. But, the views of Sirince are worth every step! Every dish they brought was good, but I especially liked the stuffed squash blossoms! The pita bread was all made by hand and our food was cooked in a traditional wood burning oven...very tasty. We sat and enjoyed our meals with a nice cold beer, while taking in the views of this beautiful little mountain town. Our service was good and fast, and the prices were very reasonable. If you find yourself in Sirince give it a try, you'll be glad you did.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arlene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice little hillside perch, average food...”
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Our hotel heavily recommended this place. Every time we asked for directions to a restaurant, they would say they were not familiar with it and give me a card to this place. It was almost comical. But, based on the decent TripAdvisor reviews, we gave it a try for lunch.

The location is beautiful... Up a hill overlooking the village. But the food was, well, just average. We were obsessed with gözleme (Turkish pancakes) our whole trip and had nearly a dozen of them. The gözleme here were not at the top of the pack, although it is their specialty. The fresh pomegranate juice was delicious, though. It looks like they specialize in juices, so that might be worth trying.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TonyInSeatown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Surprise up the hill”
Reviewed 26 October 2012

A little bit of rain, slippery slope but well worth it. The pancakes and stuffed squash blossoms were sumptuous. The price very reasonable and the staff extremely attentive and considerate. I was having a little stomach thing and the server very ably steered me away from the spicy and the oily toward very tasty options which showcased the region. Take this hike! It is worth it.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cstrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ocakbasi Restaurant also viewed

 
Sirince, Izmir Province
 
Sirince, Izmir Province
Sirince, Izmir Province
 

Been to Ocakbasi Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing