We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top of the hill and top food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocakbasi Restaurant

Ranked #9 of 20 Restaurants in Sirince
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London,England
Level Contributor
267 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“Top of the hill and top food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Ocakbasi is somewhat off the (very well-beaten) tourist route in the village of Sirence. Situated at the top of a climb on one of the back streets above the main street, the dining area is essentially a large open covered porch. The atmosphere is very relaxed and the staff is exceptionally friendly and accommodating. The Turkish cuisine focuses on typical local dishes including Turkish pancakes, meatballs, and grilled lamb chops, all well prepared and tasty. The wine list is rather limited (actually there is no "list" per se), but we drank both a very decent white and red wine. Our group of six friends all were of the opinion that we had enjoyed a most delightful evening and Ocakbasi was excellent value for money.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank plkmtk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    21
    8
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
greensboro nc
Level Contributor
116 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Authentic Turkish Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

After spending the day in Ephesus, our tour guide took me and my husband to this hilltop restaurant. The walk is a steep one, but once you sit, the view is amazing! Our guide recommended Mezes, which are appetizers. We had a tableful of wonderfully prepared dishes....Stuffed squash blossoms, stuffed grape leaves, olives, little crepes, sun dried tomatoes, spinach with yogurt and bread. The next course were skewers of lamb, chicken and a plate of meatballs. The service was equally as good as the food. Beautiful scenic restaurant not to be missed if in this quaint little Turkish town.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Osandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The Original Village Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Long before the village became the hip place to hang out, the Ocakbasi was the first in the village. It's near the top of the village, and tricky to find without directions. It's friendly, the food is pretty good, and very reasonably priced, and we sat outside on the terrace. What's not to like? I had a cabbage and lamb soup style starter, and it was superb. The savoury pancakes were really tasty - although the expert had departed for a village wedding before we could order the dessert ones.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank F1Baron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly exceptional”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Follow the narrow streets to the top of the hill in Sirince for a lovely view and an even better lunch! The outdoor restaurant served fresh dishes- including stuffed zucchini blossoms, grape leaves, eggplant, olives, breads, "sea" grass. In fact, we had so much in this first course, we were surprised when they asked whether we wanted chicken or beef skewers or meatballs. Along with those dishes came a lovely Turkish salad and grilled onion. Every one of the dishes was excellent. We were seated outside at long picnic-type tables.
The walk up the winding streets to this surprise was well worth it!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank lilygirl1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

Enjoyed our meal on the patio, with lots of young people who did not speak English. Fun environment very fast friendly service great fresh food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mjad00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ocakbasi Restaurant also viewed

 
Sirince, Izmir Province
Sirince, Izmir Province
 

Been to Ocakbasi Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing