We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost Charming - Not a good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Sirince Evleri
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sirince
Reviewed 15 July 2012

I do understand previous reviewers comments about the charm of this place, the terrace breakfast, the entry, the period rooms etc. My problem - I do not believe they have executed this very well. We found the place somewhat shabby, with vegetation overgrown and not well tended. The room small and dark with scratchy sheets with patches and seams. Functional basic room I guess in some ways - but nothing in the room but two beds and a desk. No night stands or anything else to assist with reading or activities near or in bed. Also dark.

I suspect that those reviewers who loved this place enjoyed it because Ahmet was there. We did not see him during our 1 night visit so we had the bare experience of the facilities. Our host, Nori was very nice, spoke and understood very little English, and served us a nice breakfast on the terrace. They might want to clean up the terrace, remove old furniture just piled around, trim the vegetation so it is not in your face while sitting at the one table on the terrace, and water the plants so they are not dying. With a little more attention to detail this could be a fairly nice place. But with the price over $150/night - will never be a good value in our book. Tonight we are staying in a room twice the size and amenities for considerably less money. I suggest cutting the price in half and then it would be attractive.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are expensive, dark and quaint. Downstairs rooms looked small and dark but considera...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fiddle_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2012

My husband and I had a very nice stay at Hotel Sirince Evleri. The owner Ahmet was very kind to us. We had time to chat with him and get an interesting perspective on the town and the region. He is very knowledgable about local history and tourism. The room was comfortable and the breakfasts were delicious. The terrace is a nice place to sit and play cards or write in a journal while looking out over the town. I would definitely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Megan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Sirince is a stunning village, close to Selcuk and Ephesus, but with its own special character. It is very Turkish, but was originally Greek and the hotel is in a a pair of old Greek houses, with some wonderful views and rooms of great character. The hospitality is also special. Finding it is a bit of challenge.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NeilE875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2011

The rooms are cozy and the location is right in the heart of the old town. Our neighbors were ancient houses, three geese, several chickens and a burro. All of which gave us a good laugh and a good story to tell. Close to local restaurants and an excellent wine shop. Beautiful views from the rooms upstairs. There is a terrace across the small courtyard where we had an incredibly bountiful breakfast and enjoyed several pleasant evenings looking out over the town as it settled down for the night. Old world charm, but don't expect on-site staff or fancy amenities. This is more like staying with your Turkish cousin. This is one place we will always remember.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Pleasant friendly atmosphere, delicious breakfasts, unforgettable experience for those who prefer ecotourism
We wish to come there again

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Vladimir t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

The hotel is charming and in many ways, so is Sirence. The owner of the hotel is quite articulate in various languages (English for us). The views are wonderful. The hotel is in a 150 year old house with a steep staircase, ducks and chickens in the courtyard, charming statues and objects put together.

But—and it’s a big but—the hotel is oriented towards charm and not towards comfort. It’s perhaps workable for people staying for one night without bringing much with them for a weekend. We travel light—one carry-on bag each for a month in Europe and Turkey—but found the room very cramped. There was no place to put a suitcase, there were two hangers on a rack that could only accommodate two hangers, there was no hook to hang a coat, and no towel racks in the tiny bathroom. We were working out of our suitcases on the floor. There were two uncomfortable chairs in the room (but I have long maintained there is not a sit-able chair in any hotel room south of the Alps!).

The bathroom was tiny with a shower. It took a full 5 minutes for the hot water to reach the shower. The water pressure was very weak when it arrived. It was sufficient for a tepid sponge bath, but not an actual shower.

We were travelling off-season in late November. The room was cold; the breakfast was served outdoors: fortunately it was a sunny morning. Another point is that half of the eight km drive between Sirence and Selcuk is on a windy, narrow mountain road that would give many pause to drive at night, so that seeing the area could be limited for some. The lovely town is very focused on the tour bus trade, selling wine and olive oil products. They are high quality items, but you are in the midst of an intense tourist market all day long.

The hotel was not anything close to what we expected. We actually left after one of our three-reserved nights, swallowing a one-day penalty for early departure. We moved to a hotel in Selcuk (Kalehan) at half the price and much more comfortable without being at all luxurious.
So, it is important to value old fashioned charm over comfort. The price is quite high for an off-season inn. It is important to value what it has to offer and to be happy to forego the alternative.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank MPLCORD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

Situated in a little Turkish village in the hills above Ephesus, we would certainly recommend the welcome we received here. After a busy day of travelling & sightseeing, it was a very relaxing place to chill out, walk around the village & enjoy the ambience.
Our room in a tastefully refurbished old local stone house, was clean, comfortable & well appointed. A welcome drink, local cheese & olives were served on a terrace overlooking the village & surrounding hillside; breakfast was served in the same spot, with the sound of hens & geese clucking nearby & a donkey braying in the distance - really lovely.
.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank waznjules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sirince
0.1 mi away
Kirkinca Hotel
Kirkinca Hotel
#1 of 4 in Sirince
260 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ephesus Hillside
Ephesus Hillside
#15 of 34 in Selcuk
10 reviews
3.6 mi away
Livia Hotel Ephesus
Livia Hotel Ephesus
#7 of 34 in Selcuk
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Ephesus Palace
Ephesus Palace
#14 of 34 in Selcuk
36 reviews
0.1 mi away
Doktor'un Evi Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Kayserkaya Cottages
Kayserkaya Cottages
#8 of 10 in Sirince
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sirince Evleri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sirince Evleri

Address: Sirince Koyu Selcuk Izmir, Sirince 35927, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Sirince
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sirince
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sirince Evleri 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sirince Evleri is situated in an ex-greek village on the mountain near Ephesus ruins in Aegean Turkey. It consists of two ex-greek houses restorated in a manner stick to the architectural heritage of the village. The Altinyaprak House is a private cottage accomodating up to four guests and the Karadut House is converted into 4 rooms, all with private facilities including the air-conditioning. Each room has been traditionally furnished in line with the 19th century style and features an array of antiques providing a home-like atmosphere. Hotel Sirince Evleri invites you to live and enjoy a respite reminiscent of by-gone times... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sirince Evleri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sirince Evleri Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing