We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of our trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Terrace Houses Sirince
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highlight of our trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

We stopped in Sirince for two nights on a tour of Turkey with our two young children. We stayed at the Terrace Houses with 2 other families (we had the Olive House). Omer and Charlotte are very gracious hosts - we could not have asked for better hospitality or better food. Dinner on the terrace was so wonderful the first night, we dined again the following evening (and we made sure to get the recipe for the mint pea dish). Sitting up above the town, the view is fabulous. The traditional style of the houses made us feel like locals. The beds were comfortable and bedrooms had air conditioning, we slept great. We truly wished we had stayed longer!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ARRSTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
61
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

The Terrace Houses provide a gorgeous setting in a charming little town, Sirince. Omer and Charlotte are perfect hosts. If you want to get away from crowds and, instead, soak in the ambiance of the Turkey of yesteryear, then book a stay at the Terrace Houses. The steep, winding cobblestone streets are charming and a welcome change from bustling Istanbul and other tourist-focused hotels. After a day at Ephesus, return to serenity and eat dinner on the terrace, enjoying the view of the village while perched on the hillside in the Terrace Houses.

There are three houses, we saw the Olive House which has great character. We stayed in the Fig House which fit our family perfectly, but did not see the third house. Please note that the houses are restored but retain the character of the originals, meaning low ceilings and rustic furnishings. They are, however, completely comfortable.

Be aware that it seems like everything in town closes by 8:30pm, great for enjoying a quiet stay.

Room Tip: Absolutely enjoy dinner on the terrace! The food was delicious and the setting serene and gorgeous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LousReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

We were three families who rented out all three of the Terrace Houses Sirince. Omer and Charlotte were absolutely amazing hosts who fed us well, let us enjoy the lovely, lovely views from their terrace and told us so much about the village and their journey in remodeling these charming cottages. Our only regret was only booking two nights here - we wish we would have stayed four instead. The food was so wonderful (we're still talking about Charlotte's dream dish of fresh peas and mint - yum....).

Our family stayed in the 3-bedroom (1 bath) Grapevine House which is about a 5 minute walk from the main part of the hotel. The other two houses are right at the main part of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMP_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holgate
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

We are greatly enjoying the hospitality of Omer,Charlotte and Aysel at the Terrace Houses! We started in the Fig house which was beautiful with all necessary amenities and due to a very minor problem were upgraded to Grapevine House for the next 6 nights. Both houses are beautifully decorated and set up in the traditional way. Very practical with everything you'll need to make your stay very comfortable.
Breakfast is served every morin on the terrace in front of Olive house. Delicious and plentiful food.
The hosts are very helpful and extremely welcoming!
Treat yourself also to dinner on the Terrace.

Also treatto dinner on the Terrace

Room Tip: My tip is to enjoy this wonderful experience and appreciate the genuine warmth that is extended to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolgateLizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

This is a lovely place, above the village of Sirince, a hill town in serious danger of being spoiled by the tour buses and a spreading "bazaar." All of this is understandable, I suppose, but still unfortunate. However, Terrace Houses itself is a charming and welcoming place. We stayed in "Grapevine House" and walked to the main house in the morning for breakfast, and once for dinner, on a terrace that commands sweeping views of the town and the mountains to the west. I could imagine the"Grapevine House" being my own little hideaway, which is a feeling I rarely have when traveling and one that always tells me I'm in the right place. Our hosts could not possibly have been more welcoming or helpful and I can still see the smiling face of the lovely woman who helps them. In short, make the trip and stay for a while. Beaches are close by, as is Ephesus. My wife and I loved the whole thing and would happily return.

Room Tip: Grapevine House, if you want your own stone house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cardinal74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
istanbul
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

This was my third visit to the Terraced Houses- the other trips were over 5 years ago. The beautiful village of Sirince has become more and more popular with bus tours over the years, especially at the weekend, but when you stay at Terraced Houses you are far away from the crowds and have a beautiful view off the terrace over the whole village. We stayed in Grapevine house as we were a group of five adults. The house has been painfully restored and lovely period furniture has been added. The beds and cotton bedding were very comfortable.
The breakfast at the terrace café, just a short walk away was superb. Aysel makes the most delicious Turkish style scrambled eggs with peppers and tomatoes.
The near -by town of Selcuk is a mini tourist hub serving the famous site of Ephesus and many others. A nice surprise is the beach just beyond Ephesus. About three kilometers long, all sunny and very swallow. Extremely suitable for families with children. The water was warm enough on the first weekend of May to go swimming.
As residents of Turkey our trip to Şirince was part of a weekend break but I have recommended many other friends and relatives stay there whenever they want to visit Ephesus.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank istanbulhills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, Maine
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

Coming from Istanbul to the Terrace Houses in Sirince is like stepping out of one world into one that, were it not for the fact that Turkish is still the language, is totally different. The Terrace Houses let you decompress and experience Turkey at a Mediterranean pace. After Omer guided us up the village streets, Charlotte greeted us with a cold drink on the terrace. Although they may be called streets, the cobbled passages leave barely room for one car to pass between houses. But this is part of the charm of Sirince and besides you get comfortable with driving in a day or so. My wife and I stayed in the Fig House and we quickly found an intimate small terrace - and the fig tree - where we had tea every afternoon, read, looked out at the village and listened to the sounds - the iman's call to prayer, birds, the breeze in the trees. The Fig House is delightful and makes a great base to drive the area although we always wanted to get back for tea. Omer and Charlotte are perfect hosts; they know the area and guided us to some excellent restaurants. Breakfast was traditional - fresh tomatoes and cucumber, yogurt, olives, cheese, eggs and great bread. Even though you can't not go to Ephesus, Omer can also suggest some smaller but impressive sites in the area without crowds. When you want to pass on archeological sites, there are great beaches and parks in the area. There are two market days in neighboring Selcuk where we bought fruit, cheese and olives for lunch on the beach. In the evening, we had the quiet streets of Sirince to ourselves for walks. This is not a place to be missed.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sirince hotels
0.1 mi away
Kirkinca Hotel
Kirkinca Hotel
#1 of 4 in Sirince
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kayserkaya Cottages
Kayserkaya Cottages
#6 of 9 in Sirince
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.1 mi away
Doga Pension
Doga Pension
#1 of 9 in Sirince
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Salkim Village
Salkim Village
#4 of 9 in Sirince
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
0.3 mi away
StoneHouse ByIpek FarmHouse
0.0 mi away
Sirince Klaseas Butik Otel&Restorant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terrace Houses Sirince? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terrace Houses Sirince

Property: Terrace Houses Sirince
Address: | Sirince Village, Sirince 35920, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Sirince
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Sirince
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Terrace Houses Sirince 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are letting three fully furnished houses and suites in Sirince village, 15 minutes to the ancient city of Ephesus. We are open all year round. Houses are comfortably decorated with original pieces from all over Turkey, and have all kitchen facilities. Hot water by solar system and electricity. Fire places are also blowing hot air in to the rooms. Clima is in all houses. Sirince is famous with its vine, olive oils and peaches. And it is a heritage village with 600 people living . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Terrace Houses Sirince reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terras Evler - Terrace Houses Sirince Hotel Sirince

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing