We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Charming, Romantic, Authentic.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Terras Evler - Terrace Houses Sirince

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Terras Evler - Terrace Houses Sirince
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
“Charming, Romantic, Authentic.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

Perched above the charming village of Sirince, the Terrace Houses are an excellent choice when visiting Ephesus.

Omer and Charlotte are welcoming and knowledgeable hosts – the best kind. They shared the history of their town with us over Charlotte’s delicious chocolate cake and elder flower cordial upon arrival, a very nice touch.

Rooms/Apartments are set in 19th century stone cottages that have been beautifully restored with fully equipped kitchens, large bathrooms, and wood burning fireplaces. Each cottage has a different layout but all are filled with gorgeous antiques from across Turkey.

Breakfast is traditional Turkish and includes homemade preserves and local pine honey. It is served on the open air terrace facing the village and hills beyond.

Plus - 100 % Turkish cotton linens, Free (functioning) Wi-fi, Breakfast included.
Minus – Challenging drive UP to the property.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellingcolours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
61
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

It’s only been five years since a paved road was built to the tiny village of Şirince, which is undoubtedly why it remains so perfectly preserved, despite its close proximity to Ephesus. The call for prayer is heard intermittently from the minaret as elderly women sell their pale bars of olive oil soap and old men stroll down cobbled streets with their arms behind their backs.

Charlotte and Omer were among the first to offer a boutique experience in the hills of Şirince, and it’s hard to imagine any other establishment being able to compete. Gracious, funny, and full of stories that they are willing to share, they are the most calming influence imaginable. Their recommendations for the train ride to Pamukkale and the driver who took us to the House of the Virgin Mary were perfection. A well-deserved shout-out goes to Ayse for her lovely breakfasts.

Ours was the Fig House and it is exactly that – your own home with a living space on the lower floor and two bedrooms atop overlooked by a large fig tree. The bed and bath linens are entirely of superior Turkish cotton and will no doubt inspire you to hurry home to replace yours.

The village is full of authentic character and a photographer’s dream. Men who are visiting must go to one of two barbers located side-by-side in the village center, a theatrical experience unto itself. In the market, you can purchase a jar of white chewing gum, dried peppers that taste like potato chips, or a bag of brilliantly red dried tomatoes that put Istanbul’s spice market to shame. Buy a bag of plump purple figs and when you take that first bite, discover an entire world inside – a world just as exquisite as that created by Charlotte and Omer in the hills of Sirince.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mediterranean_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Izmir, Izmir, Turkey
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

I stayed in the Fig House with my girlfriend during our stay with Omer and Charlotte at Terrace Houses. We were greeted with warm smiles, warm tea and warm chocolate cake too! I never felt so welcomed. Omer and Charlotte truly know hospitality and are genuinely good people that are running an exception Cafe and accommodation resort. The houses are nestled on the hillside above the crowded streets of Sirince. Bayram was a particularly busy time of the year because many tourist are on vacation. Even though Sirince was full of life we were not disturbed in the house. The house itself was perfect. There are two bedrooms; a master bedroom and bed in the 'blue room.' The view from both rooms is indescribable but I can assure you it is BEAUTIFUL. The house has a fire place that was very useful because the nights can get a bit chilly in October until Spring time. Wood and kindle is supplied for you so getting the fire started is very easy. The bathroom is very big and clean. I am living in Izmir for the year and my girlfriend came for a week long stay from the United States. Our stay at the Terrace Houses made that time so incredibly special. It was the most romantic time of my entire life and it was all made possible by the help of Omer, Charlotte and Tinker(the hotel dog!) I strongly recommend staying here. I will be going again by myself just for a weekend getaway for some peace and quiet. If my girlfriend ever visits Turkey again this year there is no doubt-we will stay at Terrace Houses. We stays 4 nights. I wish we stayed all 10 days she was here. I can not say enough good things about it.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Fig House and it was perfect. I can't imagine any of the houses being less than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrodsburg, Kentucky
Level Contributor
81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

Terras Evler is nestled above a small mountain town with all the sights, scents and sounds that most folks never get to experience. The houses are lovingly restored homes that the hosts have worked on. We stayed in the Fig House. It was like home away from home with all the necessities.
Omer and Charlotte were wonderful hosts with help in arranging transportation to and from Izmir Airport as well as all day guide to Ephesus and surrounding cultural sights. We made sure that we had dinner on their terrace the night we were there. A three course feast of local fruits, vegetables, cheeses and main dishes. Breakfast was also a delight. We enjoyed the fact that we were away from the hustle and bustle of the seaports and larger cities. We made a mistake and did not plan enough time for the area. Please make your way to Omer, Charlotte & Aysel's doorstep. You won't be disappointed!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Phil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

We spent nine wonderful nights in the Grapevine House and recommend long stays here- It's the perfect spot to set up base and wander, or just enjoy the village life. Omer and Charlotte looked after all our touring needs- helped with hiring a car locally, drew wonderful mud maps to everywhere, made suggestions- Breakfast on the terrace was always a highlight of the day, gleaning advice and stories from them over Aysel's wonderful spread and treats (my favourite was menemen-or is it melemen- eggs with tomato and chillies) freshly squeezed orange juice and coffees.
The house is very special and restored with such sensitivity, a refreshing departure from the usual cheap makeovers in rental properties. The bathroom is one of the most beautiful rooms I've ever been in and it's difficult to imagine that it was only recently home to the farm animals!
We felt very sad leaving the Grapevine House -Omer, Charlotte and Aysel, all the local dog and cat life (Shrek, Tinker, Ging, Maddie, Hercule to name but a few), the wonderful sounds of the village life- owls at night, donkeys braying, the tractors, goats, sheep etc- and we felt we'd made new friends- the mark of real hospitality.

Room Tip: Best for a family or couple
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julietago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Once again we have had the most wonderful holiday in the charming village of Sirince. The Samlis really are the perfect hosts and the village itself, with its markets, cafes and restaurants is such a busy, lively place.... yet the peace and tranquility of the houses, set back at the upper end of the village, away from the hurly-burly are simply perfect.

The views from the Terrace Cafe are unbeatable- be that at the breakfast table, the afternoon tea table or the supper table...all is possible....because the Samlis are there to make your stay is the way you want your stay to be. The food is delicious- fresh local produce served at every meal.

They have suggestions for day trips, meals, snacks, markets and surprises. They are unfailing in their recommendations and are helpful beyond compare.

It's not our first stay in Sirince....we have now had the pleasure of staying in all three of Charlotte and Omer's properties and each one is as good, or better, than the others- very hard to choose- they all have something very, very special!

All three houses are beautifully refurbished according to local style: with such taste and flair. The bed linens, the colour schemes and the interesting artefacts are all so perfectly well placed and reflect the historical nature of the village itself.

This particular time we stayed in Fig House with its splendid views across the village, over to the hills that form the valley that stretches down to the sea- approximately a 20 minute drive away- quite idyllic.

At the nearby beach you will find a stretch of sand that extends as far as the eye can see- and what's more it's not overcrowded. The restaurant, which is literally on the beach, serves food and drink throughout the day.

And that is just the first stop.

There are so many attractions within an easy drive: the town of Selcuk , with its markets and traditional shops; the National Park with its more turbulent waters- again with fabulous restaurants and walks that lead into other magnificently restored villages....all breathtakingly beautiful; Tire's Tuesday Market which extends further than any other market I have ever visited and full of the most amazing stalls and stands....to name a few.

For the archeologists amongst you of course there is Ephesus but there are so many other sites within an easy drive....Stones and Statues like you've never seen before- amphitheatres and gymnasiums simply along the road sides....quite extraordinary.

The place is remarkable and Charlotte and Omer are the perfect hosts- there when you need them, not there when you don't but always somewhere in the background just incase...I don't know how they do it!

I cannot recommend this holiday enough.

Great for couples, families and even groups- take over more than one house-.

The website is well worth a visit because it shows the flexible living spaces and the beauties of the village and its surroundings and is truly representative of what you will get should you choose to go there.

One thing for certain, we'll be back but we will have trouble choosing which house to stay in.

Charlotte and Omer, thank you for making our holiday another one to remember and we look forward to visiting again in 2014/2015.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sj808486nj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

Terras Evler was one of the highlights of our trip. Sirince is a tranquil mountain village away from the crowds at Ephesus. There are only four houses rented out as rooms, and Omer and Charlotte made us feel like guests in their home. The view from the terrace, out over the town and the valley below, is truly amazing and tranquil, and breakfast on the terrace was an inspiring way to start the day. The place is surrounded by fig, olive and pomegranate trees, there was wonderful fresh fruit with each breakfast, and fresh peaches with vanilla ice cream were a delight on the day we arrived. We enjoyed two restuarants in town, but the dinner that Omer and Charlotte served us on the terrace was the best meal experience, something not to be missed. Omer helped us by arranging a guide and a private driver for our three days, who got us quite comfortably to Ephesus, Miletus, Didymia, Priene, Aphrodisias and Pammukale. The whole stay exceeded our expectations in every way.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Texlawric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sirince hotels
0.2 mi away
Kirkinca Hotel
Kirkinca Hotel
#1 of 3 in Sirince
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sirince Evleri
Hotel Sirince Evleri
#2 of 3 in Sirince
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kayserkaya Cottages
Kayserkaya Cottages
#5 of 9 in Sirince
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Nisanyan Evleri Hotel
Nisanyan Evleri Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sirince
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.2 mi away
Doga Pension
Doga Pension
#2 of 9 in Sirince
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.3 mi away
Salkim Village
Salkim Village
#6 of 9 in Sirince
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terras Evler - Terrace Houses Sirince? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terras Evler - Terrace Houses Sirince

Property: Terras Evler - Terrace Houses Sirince
Address: Koyu Selcuk | Selcuk, Sirince 35920, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Sirince
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Sirince
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Terras Evler - Terrace Houses Sirince 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are letting three fully furnished houses and suites in Sirince village, 15 minutes to the ancient city of Ephesus. We are open all year round. Houses are comfortably decorated with original pieces from all over Turkey, and have all kitchen facilities. Hot water by solar system and electricity. Fire places are also blowing hot air in to the rooms. Clima is in all houses. Sirince is famous with its vine, olive oils and peaches. And it is a heritage village with 600 people living . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Terras Evler - Terrace Houses Sirince reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terras Evler - Terrace Houses Sirince Hotel Sirince

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing