We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It had everything”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Island Sands Resort
Reviewed 7 May 2011

Our stay at Island Sands #605 in April was fabulous. It is furnished with everything you could possibly need. It even had beach chairs and sand mats that we took to Makena Beach. The view is stunning and unobstructed. It is very quiet and relaxing. The decor is lovely and the grounds are beautiful. Both bedrooms and baths were well-furnished and the beds were super comfortable. The owner had a gift basket for us on arrival and checked in to make sure we had everything we needed. We cannot wait to come back and stay here! You will not be disappointed in this condo. It is just perfect.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rosegrd523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
There are newer reviews for Island Sands Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2011

I can sum it up in one word.......roaches. Ick! Needs some fixing up. One of the small bathroom windows was broke and wouldn't open so it would get extremely stuffy in there. Dryer only worked on one setting. Condo was centrally located. 5 minute walk to the beach. You could watch the sunrise, but not sun set from the lanai. Pictures look nicer than it actually is.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Filthymitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2011

We've made several trips to Maui and this location is our favorite for whale watching and golf. It is so convenient to the several golf courses we love to play and for exploring any part of the island. Our sixth floor condo was clean and beautifully decorated, had comfortable beds, and the kitchen had everything we needed. Beautiful hardwood floors and nicely decorated. Felt like home. We'll return to this one again--soon, I hope!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aggiez_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2011

Most of the reviews of Island Sands appear to be accurate, although the outside was nicely updated a couple of years ago. The landscaping & pool are pretty & well care for. We stayed in condo 608 & found it on VRBO. From other reviews, I understand that not all Island Sands condos are equal but 608 has been totally updated for your enjoyment. It was perfect for our needs. Whereas the condo is central to the island and thus a good location to be halfway to Haleakala & Hana, it is not in a high action area...& that is not bad, just be prepared to drive. The owner, Leslie, was always quick to email back answers to questions, even the day of the Tsunami warning. The condo has every piece of equipment you'll need to create a delightful vacation & has an assigned parking space so you don't have to search for parking. The granite countered kitchen has all necessary equipment, including a blender for blended drinks. The apartment sized washer/dryer is a plus & detergent is provided. We appreciated the 2 ice chests, 2 boogie boards, 4 wonderful Tommy Bahama beach chairs, 2 beach umbrellas, 1 pair of fins & snorkel (no mask), sand toys, etc. Our son & daughter-in-law joined us & we found the 2 bedroom/2bath condo perfect as it gave us each plenty of privacy. The master bath has an attractive walk in, tiled shower & the 2nd bath has a nice, new bathtub/shower. A hairdryer is provided. Another big plus to us is it's location on the building. It is situated southeast so you can sit on the totally private, covered lanai most of the morning out of the sun & catch the breeze. If you want the sun, you could position yourself to have it as well. The only thing between you and the ocean, which is about 25' away, is 2 palm trees.
So, let's recap why 608 is lovely: 1. It is furnished with all the comforts of home including beach toys. 2. It is literally about 25' from the ocean with the view flanked by 2 palm trees. 3. The lanai is totally private & covered. 4. The constant breeze allows you to open the sliding doors to the living room as well as master bedroom to cool the condo.( Lock the outdoor screen & prop the door open slightly to create a comfortable flow of air while awake.) 5. 2 private baths. We are pleased with 608 Island Sands & would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Ajudes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2011

Thank You Nikta!!!! I had the Best birthday ever! What better way to turn 55 than on the beaches of Maui. We stayed at Niktas condo at the Island Sand in Ma'alaea Harbor in Nov. and OMG!!!!! could not have asked for a better place!
The condo is sooooo beautiful. She has spared no expence to make this the perfect tropical getaway.
When we got there she had a beautiful gift basket to greet us. Never have I had that; and I have stayed in Maui alot. The two bedroom condo was layed out beautifully. The bedrooms are at different ends of the condo so you each have privicy. It was sooo clean, she takes wonderful care of her condo, and it makes you feel very special.
Now let's don't forget the location. Right on the water, I ran everyday on the beach. WOW!
Waking up to the sound of the water breaking on the shore was just heaven. I did not want to go home. As a metter of fact our frineds stayed on for an extra coulple of days at the condo.
I can't wait to go back to Paradise and stay at Nikta's condo at the Island Sand, in Ma'alaea Harbor. Thank You Nikta for sharing your beautiful home with us.
Yvonne and George

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hawaiigirlUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2011

This resort combines permanent residents with short term vacation rentals. The vacation units are individually owned, and unit quality ranges from marginal to outstanding. The building is an older six story concrete building, with excellent views from the upper floors and the east side (higher unit numbers). The building is crescent shaped, and curves away from the beach toward the west. Therefore, the more western units (lower unit number) offer decreasing ocean view and increasing parking lot view. The studio units are at the back, with no ocean view at all.

The good: amazing views from the good units – unparalleled elsewhere on Maui. If you get an east facing unit you will be looking at the bay, with Mount Haleakala behind it. During sunset you will not be staring at the sun (as you would be in most west facing units), but rather see the reflection on the bay and the color play off Haleakala.

The bad: the building is old, and this is reflected in the furnishings of some of the units. Maalaea is the windiest place on Maui, and the units get real noisy when the trade winds are blowing northeast to southwest at 35-40 knots. The winds are much less of an issue during the winter.
Maalaea is surrounded by sugar cane fields, which are set ablaze periodically during early mornings. Why they do it is a question that only agricultural experts can answer. The result, however, is that you will wake up very early sometimes unable to breathe because of the heavy, sweet smoke.
The pool is tiny and hardly worth a visit.

The surf: launch your board in front of the building, paddle straight out and then make a right turn toward the big rock. Within a couple of minutes you will have reached the legendary “Freight Trains” break – the fastest right in the world. Works only during a good south swell, and gets very crowed.
Should you paddle left, however, you would reach a couple of small, lesser known and less crowded breaks. The wind here is usually offshore, and – when condition are right – these are the most perfect looking waves you will ever see. Although not nearly as fast, famous or hollow as their friends to the east, these waves will provide the longboarder with endless fun. Best during low to mid tide. At high tide the backwash from the condo wall just in front pretty much destroys these waves.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FresnoSurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2011

We stayed at the Island Sands Unit #605 in Maalaea. This is an ideal location. Anywhere you want to go is pretty much within a 20-30 minute drive. The unit is incredibly upgraded and completely stocked. Let me emphasize on the incredible upgrade, I don't think there is a nicer unit in the building.

There is a fantastic ocean view from this unit, which happens to be on the top floor of the building, and the water is only 20-30 yards away. The beach is walking distance away and is quite nice. The marina is also right down the street, and this is where snorkeling, scuba, and whale watching excursions depart from. There is also a pool and 3 gas barbeques. These BBQ's were used every night, and I was surprised to see how clean they were when we decided to use one. The staff really works hard keeping the entire premise in tip top shape.

The owner was also very nice and new a lot about the island. We are golfers and she helped us find golf discounts for some of the courses we played. She even provided a beautiful gift basket when we arrived. It was like having our own concierge, extremely accommodating and helpful. I would highly recommend this unit and location. You can see this unit on the owners website at www.uniktavacations.com

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mongorlk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maalaea
6.3 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,145 reviews
7.1 mi away
Maui Seaside Hotel
Maui Seaside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kahului
1,067 reviews
15.1 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort
Sugar Beach Resort
#6 of 62 in Kihei
614 reviews
8.2 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
6.8 mi away
Aston at the Maui Banyan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Sands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Sands Resort

Address: 150 Hauoli St, Maalaea, Maui, HI 96793
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Maalaea
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Maalaea
Price Range: £134 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Sands Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Island Sands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Sands Hotel Maalaea
Maui Island Sands Resort
Island Sands Maui
Island Sands Resort Maui/Maalaea, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing