We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Exceeded our expectations!”
other travellers have booked this property
Beach in front of condo
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beach in front of condo
Aloha Welcome to Makani A Kai View from lanai
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
Beach in front of condo
Aloha Welcome to Makani A Kai
View from lanai
View from lanai
Lawn area in front of condo
Lanai
Lanai
Living room
Living room
Dining area
View from loft
Loft bedroom
Upstairs loft bedroom - cal king bed
downstairs bedroom - queen bed
Bathroom
Front of condo facing beach
BBQ area
Pool
Common area
Common area
Common area
View from lanai
Free offstreet Parking area
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Maalaea, Maui, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
netterx
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exceeded our expectations!”
Reviewed 10 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

This was our third time to Maui, but our first time in a condo. Location is great; not crowded at all and great views! We were steps away from the beach and would have breakfast every morning on the balcony. The owner was very helpful and accommodating. We were welcomed with fresh fruit, cookies, bottled water, etc. We felt at home immediately. The owner also provided everything you could possibly need: bug spray, sunscreen, snorkeling gear, beach chairs, boogie boards, sand toys, etc. We would definitely come back to this condo!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2016
Thanks for the great review Shawn and Nanette. We're glad you enjoyed our condo. Come back and see us soon.
Aloha,
Bill & Cris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NinaMama1...
USA
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location, all the conveniences of home”
Reviewed 12 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This condo is set in a great location with a fairly quiet beach. It sits at the end of a quiet road so not much traffic. It is next to a state park, though, and we had groups of local overnight campers next to the building. It might be better outside of summer when I assume they adhere to the "no overnight" camping signs! On most days, our kids were able to body surf ad enjoyed seeing turtles at the small reef in the water.
The condo was equipped with 4 sets of snorkel gear, body surfing boards and sand chairs--all of which we used and really appreciated having on-site. The view from the lanai was amazing and doesn't get any breeze, even on windy days. The layout of the rooms, the kitchen utensils and the starter food the owners left for us made this feel like a real home-away-from-home! Would definitely stay her e again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: all the personal touches, great location
Liked least: little tough to cool down one of the rooms at night, but appreciated the ceiling and floor fans
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather T
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Location!”
Reviewed 21 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Great location for family visit. Our kids, 13, really enjoyed the aquarium and the easy access to the beach. Condo was well equip with boogie boards and beach supplies. The view from the condo was amazing and the grounds of the condo are beautiful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: access to the beach
Liked least: guest bedroom got warm - but fans were available
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jun 2016
Thanks for the review Heather. We are glad you and your family enjoyed the condo. Come back and see us again.
Aloha,
Bill & Cris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joel B
Sonoma Coast, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We'll Be Back!”
Reviewed 4 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We suffered a long glich filled trip to arrive in Maui. What a relief to enter Unit B5 in the middle of the night to find it totally inviting! It was spotless, tastefully furnished, and stocked with fresh fruit and snacks. In the morning and every morning thereafter we looked out on Maalea Bay with cloud draped Haleakala looming above. After local coffee (provided) on the balcony we strolled onto the beach directly in front of our unit and shared a swim with the resident sea turtles. There are no mega resorts in Maalea, so the beach was never crowded. The slope is gentle, and waves are attenuated by the bay so that there is no heavy surf to fight. Maalea is pretty centrally situated on Maui so that it is easy to travel from there to any part of the island.
Back to the condo: The storeroom is stocked with a big bunch of varied beach gear - from good quality snorkels to beach chairs to coolers, etc. Bill, the owner, lives in Maui. I was extremely impressed with his interest in assuring that we had a positive stay. He even called on our first day to make sure everything was to our liking and to offer any help or advice we might want.
This was a top notch experience. We'll be baaaack!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Swimming beach outside our door.
Liked least: Ash and soot from burning sugar cane fields blowing in two mornings. (Will be outlawed next year)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jun 2016
Thanks for the great review Joel.. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in our condo. Come back and see us soon.
Aloha,
Bill & Cris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane Y
Minden, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing views and sounds”
Reviewed 16 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We had such a beautiful and relaxing vacation this year in Maui due to the lovely stay at your condo. Everything was perfect-the weather, amenities, location, view and the sounds and sights of the ocean.
Although I am not an early morning person normally, I would get up each day before sunrise to enjoy my coffee on the deck feeling the gentle breezes and enjoying the changing views of the morning sunrise. It is truly a beautiful location on the island. We definitely appreciated all of the condos supplies and extras. You thought of everything! The welcoming local fruits, coffee and cookies made us feel very welcomed and special.
Turtles off the beach were amazing. We loved counting how many we could find!
My husband walked all the way from here to Kehei on beach. It was exhilarating with stunning views. He said the beach changes a little bit each day with the tides
Your recommendation for Beach Bums Bar and Grill was wonderful. It became our "go to" place for lunch, breakfast and happy hour! Good food, Great service!
Mammas Fish House was exquisite. Pricy, but amazing service, atmosphere and food!
Views from early morning to sunset were astonishing! We plan to return again. Thank you for the fabulous vacations.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views and peaceful location
Liked least: Mattress seems hot
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 May 2016
Aloha Diane and Jerry.
Thanks for the great review. We're glad you had a super Maui vacation despite your hurt knee and enjoyed our condo. Come back and see us soon.
Mahalo,
Bill & Cris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dmambler
los angeles
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great condo, even better location.”
Reviewed 31 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015
5
people found this review helpful

Hidden gem, this condo exceeded our expectations.
Stayed for 5 nights late December.
You feel like you our on top of the beach with outstanding views.
Everything you need was available, fresh fruit on arrival, water bottles, full set of ocean activities(snorkeling gear, boards, chairs, much more), plus steps to the water.
Great little swimming beach out front plus we went snorkeling every afternoon and saw many turtles.
Owners Bill and Cris were great with excellent communication throughout our booking process.
Highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: windy
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lise L
Markham, Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Central, clean and well appointed condo”
Reviewed 27 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Thank you for a great stay. Makani A Kai B5 was well furnished and it was a pleasure having breakfast welcome provisions waiting for us. The loft bedroom oversees the oceanfront and the sea breeze lulls you to sleep. Beach supplies were also appreciated: chairs, boogie boards, etc... great beach front location, good for walks. Central enough to plan for road trips anywhere on the island!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: restaurants close early
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing