We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Vacation”
Review of Maalaea Banyans

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maalaea
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Maalaea Banyans
Newmarket, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Wonderful Vacation”
Reviewed 15 February 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 44 days and were very happy. We found it on VRBO. Ken the owner was very easy to work with and got back to our enquiries quickly. He keeps a book in the unit with lots of useful information.Our unit was clean and well stocked and we never saw any bugs in our unit.The pictures of the unit are accurate. No surprises and everything was in good working order. We were on the second floor.The pool area has been refinished with lovely stone work so that the green turf around the pool is gone. The pool is chilly but refreshing and the hot tub wonderful. The on site new manager Darin was friendly as was his wife Sharlee and are a wealth of information. We loved the central location.We met many friendly people who have been returning here for 20-30years. It can be quite windy at times. There was not any sugar cane burning while we were here.We never needed the a/c as we opened the windows and let the breeze flow through. It was nice to have a washer and dryer in the unit. The view from the lanai is ocean front and what a view. We enjoyed sitting on the lanai watching the many whales with there babies and male escorts. Just couldn't get enough of them. These condo's are located near the harbour and Aquarium and are on a dead end street so it is very quiet. You can walk to the harbour, Aquarium, and several restaurants. You can take whale watch, sunset or molokai snorkelling tours etc from Ma'alaea Harbour. At the other end of the street is the beginning of a very long beach where you can swim or take nice long walks. We would highly recommend staying here if you like quiet areas. The bus does stop at the Harbour and is 2.00. I do recommend you rent a car as there is so much to see in Maui. We really enjoyed many different beaches,upcountry,road to Hana,Haleakala...There aren't any grocery stores in this area but a quick 15-20 minutes to Kihei or Lahaina with scenic views on the way.There are a couple of small stores for picking up things you might have forgotten. We would return. The Waterfront restaurant was very good as was Porto Pizza in the shops beside the aquarium. There is also mini golf that you can walk to as well. All the units are oceanfront.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank limeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    13
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
16
31
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

Did I mention views? You are directly facing the ocean. No angles, no obstructions, just the beauty of the blue pacific. As you drift off to sleep with the tide, you hear the waves gently breaking just beyond your lanai. Unfortunately, there are a few units who have those bass kicking stereos that keep you up late into the night. The guidelines indicate quiet hours from 10pm to 8am. Not all abide by those guidelines.

This was once a premier property that has been sliding but this trend may be reversing. They have new managers. Grounds are looking better. While curb appeal leaves much to be desired, the ocean side is heaven with an updated pool and spacious lawn adjoining a small private sandy beach. (BBQ area still needs help.) Plan your Mondays away from the property. Grass mowing on Mondays with a small noisy mower interrupts the peaceful ambiance well beyond a reasonable time.

Morning is the best time to enjoy the pool. The pool is small with only one surface skimmer and no bottom filter. By afternoon the water looks less inviting. While the pool is refreshingly cool, the hot tub is a perfect way to end your day.

Room Tip: Early to bed? Avoid the rooms ending in numbers 1 to 9. They are closer to the pool, hot tub, BBQ ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank FunBirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

We stayed for almost 2 wks beginning of Dec with our 6 mo old baby. Although there were some issues we made the most of it & still enjoyed our vacation.
Pros: quiet, friendly people, great views from lanai (whales, turtles), beautiful sunrises, lots of parking, gorgeous landscaping.
Cons: cockroach infestation (as in crawling on you at night, being found in clothes, coffee pot, etc), no view whatsoever of the sun setting, you need to drive everywhere, insufficient bed linen, no dishcloths.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Redd_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Pulling into the parking lot, the building looked a little shabby. But once we got to our unit, it was great. Just as described by the owner on VRBO.

The view from the lanai is incredible. It was the photo that we emailed around rubbing it in peoples' noses! And we kept the sliding door to the lanai open at night, so we could hear the ocean from bed! The one bedroom unit is perfect for one couple --- good size, clean, modern. We didn't use the kitchen or the grill on the lovely grounds outside, but they were immaculate.

The location in Maui was great as well. We spent one day snorkeling to Molokini, and the harbor is a ten minute walk from the condo. It's also close to Lahaina and Kanaapali, and was easy for us to get to the Road to Hana and drive to Haleakala.

Oh, did I mention we saw a whale from the lanai one afternoon!?

All in all, great stay, great location, great unit. We'd definitely stay here again.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank ddpaulbubbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We stayed in unit 410 owned by Joe and Karen Dorsey in November 2011. We absolutely loved the central location. Staying in Maalaea keeps you close to everywhere. This unit is a 3 bedroom unit, but for just two people it is great to have the extra room and bathroom. The views are as good as it gets in Maalaea. Being near the harbor and longest beach on Maui was a plus. Everything is provided and comfortable. Spent quite a bit of time on the lanai. Enjoyed the sound of the waves. Be aware that Maalaea is breezy to windy, but it did not bother us at all. If one thing could have made it better it would be that the bedroom window at this particular unit is right next to the elevator, so if the window is open, you will hear the elevator bell go off and often people standing and talking. Privacy is not an issue, but the sounds can be for a light sleeper like me. Would I stay here again? There are so many to choose from it is fun to try different places, but I will definitely consider it. Finally, the owners, Joe and Karen Dorsey, are wonderful to work with. Joe is very prompt to respond and helpful with any request. He even sent me a book from Amazon on hiking trails which I found very useful. Definitely consider Maalaea Banyans and unit 410 for your Maui adventure.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank AZlovesHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

We have stayed at both 308 & 404 condo's for many many years. Maalaea Banyans is so peaceful and absolutely gorgeous! A truly perfect "Place in Paradise"!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank trips4usRgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2011

After reading some of the negative reviews on here...I felt compelled to leave a good one. We stayed here for a week in late June. We had a 2 bedroom loft unit on the 4th floor. The lower bedroom was spacious. The loft area was a little smaller, but served it's purpose. The kitchen was efficient and well equipped. TV/DVD/radio, cooler, beach towels, etc. There is a nice pool below that was never crowded, hot tub and bbq area that we were able to enjoy. They are pretty strict about the quiet time and pool hours. This didn't bother us, as we were usually in bed by 10 anyway. There isn't much of a beach to speak of on the property. There was one about a 5-10 minute walk down the road, so no worries. Well worth the money. We loved the windy location. Open up the windows and doors, it was a perfect temperature.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank preppy20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maalaea
6.3 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,098 reviews
7.4 mi away
Courtyard Maui Kahului Airport
9.3 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
7.0 mi away
Maui Seaside Hotel
Maui Seaside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kahului
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort
Sugar Beach Resort
#11 of 62 in Kihei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maalaea Banyans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maalaea Banyans

Property: Maalaea Banyans
Address: 190 Hauoli St, Maalaea, Maui, HI 96793-9536
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Maalaea
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Maalaea
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Maalaea Banyans Hotel Maalaea
Maalaea Banyans Maui, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing