We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“It's called Paradise for a reason!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maalaea Banyans

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maalaea
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Maalaea Banyans
Dearborn,MI
Level Contributor
53 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“It's called Paradise for a reason!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2010

We stayed in unit 208 for the 3rd time. http://www.mauisbestcondo.com is the owner's web site. There you can see just how attractive this place is. Sitting on the lanai you can watch the boats go in and out of Maalaea harbor or watch the whales play during whale season. A person could easily throw a rock into the bay from the lanai, you're THAT close to the water. The unit is equipped with an air conditioner, but we have never used it. The trade winds provide plenty of air movement in the condo keeping it quite comfortable. A fully equipped kitchen is a real money saver, just stop at Wal-Mart or Costco and cook some of your meals "at home" instead of eating out for every meal like you would in a hotel.
The location is great. It's easy to get to and very central on the island. A few minutes drive in either direction takes you to Kihei, Lahaina, Kahului, or Wailuku. There are several very good restaurants in Maalaea and activites like the aquarium, cruises for diving, whale-watching, or dining in the harbor...walking distance from the condo.
The condo building has a very nice pool and a spa as well as barbeque grills.
A person could do a lot worse than choosing this unit for there vacation or honeymoon.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zeus_msp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    13
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
16
30
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Greenacres
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2010

Unit #219 in the Banyans, owned by the very very gracious Nikta Houston, has been our Hawaiian hideway for about the last 5 or 6 years (ever since we discovered it and we are in about our 20th year of visiting Maui). The unit is newly remodeled to "perfection" and lots of pictures are available at "Unitka Vacations.com"). The ocean and sunrise views from the linai are gorgeous beyond belief and walking on 6 mile long Sugar Beach (starts about a block from the Banyans) is a daily "must" for us. I posted two of my favorite pictures of Sugar Beach sunrises on this website. The condo has a lovely and secluded pool, a nicely maintained gas barbeque area, extensive well maintained lawn coverage, and lots of privacy. Managers Patti and Rorie Day keep the Banyans perfectly maintained and they are an exceptionally nice couple who are always happy to assist with any need which you might have (their home is right there on premises). Malaaea area and the Banyans is centrally located for convenient travel to any part of the island within about 30 minutes and the harbor here can meet any whalewatching or snorkel trip wishes that you might have. There are several "very good" restaurants and also some fast food/sandwich shops within easy walking distance (a little over one block) plus handy shuttle bus service to any part of the island. Nikta Houston owns the unit and is 100% customer focused. You will be "in awe" when you first walk into your unit and, for us, staying with Nikta is always the high point of the year. Trade winds are a part of Maui so enjoy it (your unit is always nice and cool for sleeping---other parts of the Island can be considerably warmer especially if facing west). We love it! Roger and Barbara Heskett from Spokane Washington.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gowan67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bremerton, WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2010

We loved every minute of it. Gil told us everything about the area and was right on with everything. I would stay again. Very peaceful and away from everything. Whales were awesome! Beach Bums a restaurant right down the street had the best fish tacos I have ever tasted. All the food was great and the service was fantastic!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snocat5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nevada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2009

This is an excellent condo choice near Maalaea Harbor and Sugar Beach. Walking distance to Buzz's Wharf and the Aquarium. This area of Maui is favored with the Trade Winds which are pleasant and cooling--we never turned on the AC. Nice hot tub and pool and outdoor gas barbecues. Bus line pick up is near units to get to Lahaina, Kihei, airport. Very clean and convenient. We stayed in unit 106 and 313. Unit 106 was ground floor and steps from the pool and ocean. Unit 313 was beautifully furnished. Watch the sunrise over Haleakala; but sunsets are not visible at this location.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaMNevada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2009

It's November 12, 2009 and I'm sitting on the lanai (balcony) of unit 318 writing this review on my last full day. The sounds of the crashing waves are somewhat distracting :) Especially since they are probably less than 100 feet from me.
1 bedroom. 1 bath. Fully equipped kitchen. High-speed, wired or wireless internet (included). Pool and hot tub on site. A "window" unit AC in the living room (only used once). Up until today the breeze flowing through the unit was amazing. (Though the sewer smell was a little rough at times.) The living room is REALLY bright in the mourning and it gets a little warm. But once the sun gets up and the breezes are blowing it cools down nicely. A shade or curtains would be helpful. The bedroom stayed very comfortable all of the time.
Booked directly with the owner. Super easy and accommodating. The unit has "everything" you need. From the lanai we saw a few seals or sea lions or something on two different occasions.
It will definitely be my first choice if I make it back to Maui.

Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jimoshea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2009

Small condo, ocean front. Loved to sit on the balcony and listen to the waves. The sun would rise over the mountains and you could sit on your balcony in the sun, all morning. Air Conditioner in the living room. Rented directly from owner, he mailed me the keys. Quiet, never used the pool or hot tub. Best walking beach in Maui only a a few blocks away. Harbour with it's shops and restaurant walking distance. If you don't have a car, the bus system is great, picks you up at the Harbour. Great central location, away from all the resorts. Ate almost every day at the Beach Bum and Grill. Happy hour 3-6, great food, music.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank bookertreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2009

Stayed there around 2001 and it was great. 20 minutes from the airport and an hour from the main tourist areas. Beautiful ocean front property along a somewhat rocky shoreline. While it doesn't make for good swimming, the sound of the crashing waves was unbelievable and I often wish I would have recorded the sound so I could play it now when I go to sleep at night. There is a sandy beach a short walk away from the condo. There is a nicely kept pool and hot tub on the property. It is windy there which was somewhat annoying at first but it helped keep things cooler. The nights are gorgeous. The winds die down at night but there is still enough of a breeze that if you open your patio door and bedroom window the breeze will come through and keep the room cool at night and allows you to hear the crashing waves all night. While the room was not 5 star spotless, it was kept up nicely and my wife who can be a neat freak had no problems with it. It is a nice out of the way place, away from the hustle and touristy spots. We initially decided to stay there for the price and the convenience of being able to save money by possibly cooking and eating our own food but we wound up loving the semi-centralized location, the isolation, and everything else about it.

  • Liked — Central Location, cost, isolated area, crashing waves
  • Disliked — Windy during the day, wish there was a better beach to relax on near by.
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank VacationMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maalaea
7.6 mi away
Courtyard Maui Kahului Airport
9.3 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
8.7 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,029 reviews
8.3 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,641 reviews
38.8 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maalaea Banyans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maalaea Banyans

Property: Maalaea Banyans
Address: 190 Hauoli St, Maalaea, Maui, HI 96793-9536
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Maalaea
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Maalaea
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Maalaea Banyans Hotel Maalaea
Maalaea Banyans Maui, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing