We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Had better Indian takeaways” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Michael's Indian Restaurant

Michael's Indian Restaurant
Cuisines: Indian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Had better Indian takeaways”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We had a kebab and chicken pakoras. Need packing better to stop all the sauce leaking everywhere when you get home. Would prefer the sauce for the starters to be in a separate container

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank nicola c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    46
    22
    35
    69
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just Awful!!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

By far the worst Indian I have ever had!!! Bold but true!!!
We ordered 3 different curry's 5 main course meals in total and all were terrible, the Bhuna and Madras tasted exactly the same as each other and honestly could tell them apart, they were sweet and not spicy and just awful!
I have no idea what curry paste they used but the sauce was black, this would not have bothered me if the food was good but it really really wasn't!
The only good thing we got in our order was the Naan bread.
NEVER AGAIN, AVOID AT ALL COSTS!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Jim-Joel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Takeaway”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Telephoned at 08:00 for a very simple order. Told that it would take 30-40 minutes, happy with that. One hour later, telephoned to find out where order was, told 10 minutes. After a further 20 minutes, telephoned again, told that delivery car broke down. A new order was being prepared and delived. Driver arrived and delivered food which was cold and inedible (the first order). Telephoned again to complain and whilst on the telephone another driver arrived with the second order. Given refund which was accepted but my night was completely ruined (I cannot eat at 09:45). Being repeatly lied too is very hard to swallow and although the food is good, I will no longer be using them. Just be honest!

Helpful?
5 Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleetwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“They have had enough chances !! This place is terrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Had a few takeaways from here.. , and it's always been hit and miss ... And although you can never complain about the quantity , the quality is awful.. The bread was dripping in grease... The chicken was dry and chewy , the dona meat was dry solid and looked like snake skin .. We took one look at it and put it straight in the bin . They should still take pride wether its a takeaway or sit down meal and they certainly don't care what they deliver to customers !!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“overpriced and completely underwhelmed by the whole food experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

went on a monday night so wasnt expecting much of an atmosphere - as monday's are notoriously quiet in the restaurant trade [unless you have a phenomenal food offering at a great price! - then everyone will flock to you] but as well as no atmosphere there was very little 'welcome.'
the menu is basic - bordering on limited [unless then you want to look at the pizza menu? in an indian!?].
poppadoms - ok but had an 'old oil' burnt aftertaste. dips overpriced.
chicken tikka puri - chicken small crouton sized, tikka? debatable but hard to tell as covered in a 'paste' textured sauce. puri/bread was undercooked.
chicken korma - was the weirdest yellow i have ever seen. very grainy - semolina flour gritty. chicken again small chunks.
chicken bhuna - well i was hard pressed to find any fresh tomatoes or even onions in this dish - let alone any herbs/spices. in fact it was just a paste base left almost at its original texture/thickness, not even thinned down or dressed up to try to pretend to be freshly made.
mushroom pilau rice - pilau rice with about 4 slivers of mushroom.
bombay potato - small chunks of potato with what seemed to be the same paste base used in the bhuna and puri starter.
the naan bread was good - about the only authentic and traditional indian part of the meal.
the food was served in individual stainless steel dishes, not overly hot to start with and going cold quickly as no hot rack to keep them warm.
the food was brought [with no serving spoons] piecemeal - then we got our plates [not pre warmed].
for the top prices they are charging, i would have expected a more authentic experience and traditional efficient service - sadly i didnt get either. i certainly wont be going back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank ruth m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Michael's Indian Restaurant also viewed

 
Thornton Cleveleys, Lancashire
Thornton Cleveleys, Lancashire
 
Thornton Cleveleys, Lancashire
Blackpool, Lancashire
 

Been to Michael's Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing