We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Used to be the best around.....”

Michael's Indian Restaurant
Cuisines: Indian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Used to be the best around.....”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Not any more! We have always eaten from here as the food has always been amazing. But I would say the past three or four times it's been terrible. No more chances. Eating in - service terrible bordering on rude. Food slow. No atmosphere. Takeaway - shockingly slow, with persistent lies as to why the food is so late. Food all looks the same. Curries no longer have individual taste. We usually have it delivered, but the one time my husband went to pick it up we were told 10 minutes, my husband arrived after 20. Food still not ready. A man walks in after my husband. Orders food there and then - 'the usual' (clearly known by the people who work there) he is given a beer 'on the house' and his food arrives before he can finish his drink. My husband is still waiting, and waits another ten minutes. This was the last straw and we will never order from here again. There are far better places to get far better food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Ry-Vic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    48
    22
    36
    72
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Had better Indian takeaways”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We had a kebab and chicken pakoras. Need packing better to stop all the sauce leaking everywhere when you get home. Would prefer the sauce for the starters to be in a separate container

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank nicola c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just Awful!!!!!”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

By far the worst Indian I have ever had!!! Bold but true!!!
We ordered 3 different curry's 5 main course meals in total and all were terrible, the Bhuna and Madras tasted exactly the same as each other and honestly could tell them apart, they were sweet and not spicy and just awful!
I have no idea what curry paste they used but the sauce was black, this would not have bothered me if the food was good but it really really wasn't!
The only good thing we got in our order was the Naan bread.
NEVER AGAIN, AVOID AT ALL COSTS!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Jim-Joel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Takeaway”
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Telephoned at 08:00 for a very simple order. Told that it would take 30-40 minutes, happy with that. One hour later, telephoned to find out where order was, told 10 minutes. After a further 20 minutes, telephoned again, told that delivery car broke down. A new order was being prepared and delived. Driver arrived and delivered food which was cold and inedible (the first order). Telephoned again to complain and whilst on the telephone another driver arrived with the second order. Given refund which was accepted but my night was completely ruined (I cannot eat at 09:45). Being repeatly lied too is very hard to swallow and although the food is good, I will no longer be using them. Just be honest!

Helpful?
5 Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleetwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“They have had enough chances !! This place is terrible”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Had a few takeaways from here.. , and it's always been hit and miss ... And although you can never complain about the quantity , the quality is awful.. The bread was dripping in grease... The chicken was dry and chewy , the dona meat was dry solid and looked like snake skin .. We took one look at it and put it straight in the bin . They should still take pride wether its a takeaway or sit down meal and they certainly don't care what they deliver to customers !!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Michael's Indian Restaurant also viewed

 
Thornton Cleveleys, Lancashire
Thornton Cleveleys, Lancashire
 

Been to Michael's Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing