We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funeral reception appalling customer service”
Review of Regal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Regal Hotel
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Funeral reception appalling customer service”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

No lager or soda water or J2O in Windsor Room bar staff had to keep running downstairs, when catering for a function booked in advance, you would think the bar would be fully stocked! Had to ask for food which had been ordered but not ready. Attitude of staff and management left a lot to be desired, demanding payment without being given an invoice and being told to go home and get the money today at such a reception is a poor level of customer relations. This was a funeral wake not a wedding or christening and a little compassion would not have gone amiss. Rooms were adequate but not of a good standard, windows could not be opened and cleanliness needs to be looked at especially when the Manageress is overly keen on quoting health and safety company policies. When asking for left over food to be wrapped up for taking home anyone would think that we had asked for something out of the ordinary and being told we could watch CCTV to see how many people had eaten was an absolute joke! Overall not somewhere that would be recommended to either locals when considering any type of reception or tourists considering staying overnight.

Room Tip: Don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 15LMc70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    38
    16
    15
    20
See reviews for
34
53
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Berwick-upon-Tweed, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

booked my mother into this hotel for seven nights
she is aged 86 and has mobility problems, needs walk in shower and as she walks with a frame needs a bedroom with good space
when we arrived at the hotel I went to see the room, it was a double room with hardly any space round it (would need to walk sideways) the shower had a huge step up into it and was so tiny you couldn't turn round, there were no grab rails or anything to hold onto to steady yourself, not al all appropraite with someone with walking problems
we had paid a deposit which we did get back eventually
the hotel looked worn and not too clean

Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank julie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Thornton Cleveleys hotels

Chatham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

My friend and I travelled up from Kent , so were weary when we arrived , and were happy to be shown to our rooms. We"d had to change our booking due to unforeseen circumstances , which was no bother to the receptionist , she was most helpful. We found the Regal on a day trip to Cleveleys, when we stayed in Blackpool last year . We were greeted by the receptionist , who was most welcoming . Our rooms were spotless as was all the linen .The evening menu was extensive and varied , and although Im not a great meat eater , there was something for me every meal time. T he food was was delicious and always hot , and we were served by cheerful and professional young staff. The breakfast buffet menu was so good , with something for everyone. we really enjoyed our stay and will certainly go back . The hotel is in a good position , being close to great shops and an efficient transport system , you can get to so many places from there, and the tram and bus personel are helpful and polite

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper , ask for a room away from the front , remember this is a coastal town...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marion M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

My friend and I planned a visit to cleveleys and where reccomended the Regal Hotel. First impression. Was it would be just standard accommodation. How wrong, it was lovely and spaciouse and spotless throughout. We didn't eat at the hotel but speaking to some of the guests it was clear the menu was extensive and ample. Most of the guests we spoke to where regulars some having been returning year after year.

I would deffinately reccomend this hotel and boarding. Prices are very reasonable and there is lots of choice both in food and accomodation. We will definitely be returning in the near future. Our trip was fun and we did lots of shopping with literally everything on the doorstep. Well done to the owners and all staff who where both friendly and informative.
Out of ten the Regal Hotel gets a top score of ten.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jamby41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

This was mine and my mum's second visit to this hotel and we felt welcome and comfortable. My daughter lives in Cleveleys so it was very convenient for visiting her and she was also made very welcome when her family joined us for dinner. We will definitely be booking again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lorrainewigston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sid70vic, Owner at Regal Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Many thanks for your generous compliments. I am really pleased that we met with your expectations.
We very much appreciate feedback on all aspects of your stay, and look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

I booked this hotel for 4 people to stay 3 nights dinner bed and breakfast, I did not see the reviews before I booked it. After reading the reviews I began to regret booking it. All I can say is I think the best thing to do is just try your hotel of choice and make your own mind up. The Regal was clean the staff could not do enough for you and the food both breakfast and dinner got 10 out of 10 from us. We go away 6 times a year and we had the best and hottest breakfasts we have ever had. We could not find fault with the hotel at all and we usually stay in 4 star hotels and they are not as good as The Regal. This is the first review I have ever done but after having such a pleasant stay I think they should get a thumbs up for doing such a good job. I hope someone from the hotel reads this keep up the good work.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marie_ingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sid70vic, Owner at Regal Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
We are so pleased to hear that you and your friends had a pleasant stay at the Hotel.

We constantly monitor reviews from our guests as we are keen to meet our guests expectations.

Thanks for the thumbs up, its much appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed at the regal with my wife for the weekend. We were up from London for a wedding and were recommended it. We were not dissapointed , a wonderful location bang in the middle of this quaint little seaside town, our room although quite small was very clean and airy, the food was incredible and was so good we brought friends in for Sunday lunch! Downstairs was a nice little bar with a fantastic little beer garden. The staff were very friendly and I must say a big thank you to jim who had us in stitches all day! All in all a great place to stay for a short break and we will certainly be going back.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Palacesteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sid70vic, Owner at Regal Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
We are pleased to hear that we made your stay a joy and also that you introduced your friends to the Hotel.

Jim will be delighted to hear that his tales made you laugh and we really look forward to welcoming you to the Hotel in the near future.

.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornton Cleveleys
0.2 mi away
Briardene Hotel
Briardene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thornton Cleveleys
212 reviews
3.8 mi away
North Euston Hotel
North Euston Hotel
#1 of 3 in Fleetwood
530 reviews
3.6 mi away
Shard Riverside Hotel
Shard Riverside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Poulton Le Fylde
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Blackpool (Bispham) Hotel
3.6 mi away
Savoy Hotel - Fleetwood
Savoy Hotel - Fleetwood
#2 of 3 in Fleetwood
146 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#35 of 69 in Blackpool
3,972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regal Hotel

Property: Regal Hotel
Address: 70 Victoria Road West, Thornton Cleveleys FY5 1AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Thornton Cleveleys
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Thornton Cleveleys
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel with café bar & restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Regal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regal Hotel Thornton Cleveleys, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing