We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More meat please”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Tramway

The Tramway
Price range: US$4 - US$9
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Breakfast, Carvery, Pizzas and Burgers
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“More meat please”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Really good food, hot and good choice. However the meat portion sizes are really poor. You can see the disappointment on everyone's faces when the meat is served to their plate. Having spent time in the US it seems in the UK we get short changed on size of portions.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank MrUnderhill2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    67
    55
    45
    54
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
402 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“No complaints”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We decided to catch the bus to Blackpool from Preston and walk along the promenade to Cleveleys and have lunch at the Tramway. There were only six people in front of us so we didn’t have to wait long. We haven’t been since last year and noticed some extra items that I don’t remember being there before – mushy peas, chips and curry sauce and you could also have mash and roasted potatoes and various types of vegetable. We thought the vegetables were hotter than we have had sometimes. I had a piece of each meat – ham, turkey and pork and it was nice and tender.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vivEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“ONE STAFF MEMBER LET THIS PLACE DOWN”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Queued up for the carvery and the two people in front of us, asked for more meat as there was not a lot on their plate.The chef, serving the meat, said 160g only and decided to take a bit off meat off the mans plate.Previously you got three good pieces of meat on your plate,Then my son asked him for a serving spoon for the vegetables and the chef replied , Go ask at the bar. Surely this was not up to my son to do this.Very ignorant chef who spoiled the meal .The carvery itself was very good but attitude needs to change

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kennedy264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Tasteless”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Carvery tasteless and doesn't even look nice. It is the nearest one to us but we won't use it anymore. Cheap but not worth it.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“No meat!!!”
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

We went as a family on a Friday evening at 7.30, over heard the staff telling another family who were ordering and about to pay for a Carvery that they were running out of beef and turkey, we left and so did the other family!!! Not good

Helpful?
2 Thank MandiGang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Tramway also viewed

Thornton Cleveleys, Lancashire
 
Thornton Cleveleys, Lancashire
Thornton Cleveleys, Lancashire
 

Been to The Tramway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing