We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A credit to Cleveleys”
Review of Cleveleys Front

Cleveleys Front
Certificate of Excellence
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A credit to Cleveleys”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We love taking the kids and our dog down on to the beach at Cleveleys. The new promenade is always popular with visitors in summer.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    121
    21
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Sea frontage out of this world lot of money well spent while visiting clevelys went to the oldest cafe called cafe marina near the front clean bright good value good service and pots of tea and coffee toasted currant teacakes size of saucer's excellent on the menu shows the clock tower in its heyday, pity its left to ruin

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank halifax26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Smart in some ways, but a bit too futuristic for me.”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I always used to visit Cleveleys in the 80's, when the kids were young and I've many happy memories of the place. It's still a lovely place and retains most of its charm, but I'm not too sure the futuristic promenade fits in with the atmosphere of the town. The concrete - everywhere - is still very new and as a result it's so bright as to make your eyes ache, on a sunny day. It also seems ridiculously out of scale with the surroundings. In fairness, maybe I'm just a little too fond of my memories of it in the past and no doubt the weather will tone down the brightness over the coming years - beauty is in the eye of the beholder, as always. Other than that, Cleveleys always gives the impression that it's trying so hard to compete with bigger brother Blackpool. In that, it succeeds brilliantly and wins hands down, for me. This pleasant little seaside town offers cleanliness, lovely sea views and a plethora of shops and good value cafes and restaurants and so well deserves its good reputation, so the promenade wouldn't ever put me off visiting.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank riggers386_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Bright and, definitely, breezy.”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This revitalised seafront is an absolute gem. Walking on either side of the sea wall has its own benefits. Sea-side views are amazing, especially on a sunny, clear day. Wind farms, Heysham, the lovely Morecambe Bay, wonderful. OH! and of course Blackpool Tower on the other side.
Over on the other side of the road there are other nice, interesting sights such as the, newly designed, Jubilee Gardens, Victorian and modern properties and the lovely Venue restaurant. What More would you want? That could possibly be the cafe on the seafront where you can get good food and a lovely view. After the walk a nice stroll along Victoria Street should end with a meal at the Cottage cafe. Too many food eateries? Go more often so you can try them all.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank kcvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Wow factor”
Reviewed 7 February 2014

The front at Cleveleys has to be seen and enjoyed. A very favourite place of ours. The added attraction of the Giant's paddle makes it all the more interesting. A great place for strolling, people watching, families with children. Stunning sunsets too if you are lucky.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cleveleys Front also viewed

Thornton Cleveleys, Lancashire
Thornton Cleveleys, Lancashire
 
Lancaster, Lancashire
Thornton Cleveleys, Lancashire
 

Been to Cleveleys Front? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing