We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow factor”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Marsh Mill

Marsh Mill
Certificate of Excellence
Fleetwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Wow factor”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

If you are in any way interested in the mechanics of a windmill this is the place to come. Not only is the entrance fee ridiculously low, but the guides are exceptionally knowledgeable about the mechanics of the windmill. However, despite having been renovated at great expense no more than 15 years ago, the windmill no longer works. There is a small exhibition hall on the ground floor but after that each floor reveals more and more of the features necessary to grind the corn/wheat. Very young children are not allowed on the top floor owing to the presence of hazards to young hands and feet.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Cappacino_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    22
    9
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Back on its feet and thriving - what a hidden gem of a place!”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Last year saw a dramatic change in Marsh Mill shopping village - new shops have opened up and there is plenty of activity - most of the shops are now firmly established and thriving new businesses are in each unit. Grace and Favour Fabrics and The Sewing sanctuary Sewing School, Best Friends Gift shop - a Delicatessen - which is so popular with locals and Emmaculate beauty Salon, Tavern at the Mill and Twelve restaurant - lots of lovely places to pop in . Marsh Mill has become a fabulous little community. The Windmill is beautiful and a great visit - not fast and furious but intriguing and historical. Marsh Mill also host a Farmers market on the last Saturday morning of each month.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank StanleyF W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knutsford
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“To me this tour is for adults only! If I was a child i would find the tour very boring!”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We had a very interesting hour with the tour guide! we were the only ones there! We even managed the very top floor! would definately recommend!! The restraurant I think is very good value for the money!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank PamelaKnutsford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fylde coast
Level Contributor
312 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Pretty little spot and square !”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Small square nicely decorated with colourful flower pots and baskets. Visited on a Tuesday, so was quite quiet, and the windmill is only open weekends so we weren't able to go inside. There is a Restaurant, Pub, cafe and a few shops - would recommend Tiffins tea shop, and noticed a good material / haberdashery shop which are hard to find these days. Plenty of parking too. I am sure the square will be well utilised at weekends and Bank Holidays with activities.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank westcoastboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Go to the top”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

A good view can be had from the top of the Mill. Well worth a look around this historic mill. Tiffins coffee shop in the square behind the mill will be the place to get a drink and food afterwards. Alternatively there is the Tavern at the Mill pub also located in the square.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank nighthawk60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marsh Mill also viewed

Thornton Cleveleys, Lancashire
Thornton Cleveleys, Lancashire
 

Been to Marsh Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing