We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mainstay Oasis Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mainstay Oasis Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Port Moody B&B and Inns
Whitehorse, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Our stay at Mainstay Oasisi was wonderful. We have never stayed at a B&B before but certainly will again. Much, much better than a hotel with all the extras. Barry and Mary Ellen made excellents hosts and we felt very comfortable and welcomed.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank realizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopazBritishColumbia, Owner at Mainstay Oasis Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Thank you for your very recent stay at our BnB. We hope that Bed & Breakfasts will become your preferred choice of accommodation. We're glad that you found the comforts of our water front home welcoming; providing unique extras for your travelling needs. Perhaps we'll have future opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    9
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
14
19
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

Had an opportunity to stay at the Mainstay Oasis B&B and only wished I there had been more time to just enjoy the lovely place and the view. It's owned by a couple, Mary Ellen & Barry, although M.E. is really the "face" of the place. She's super friendly, and on the first night (after a long day of travel, work, and time change), she not only dropped us off at a local restaurant for late supper, but rescued us when we got lost in town afterward. Breakfasts are custom made to order, including just about anything (omeletes, home-made scones, waffles). The master guest room is fabulous, and you can lounge on a couch while looking out at the water through a big picture window. The other guest rooms are very charming, cozy and comfortable. If you stay, you really need a car. The one drawback is that shops and restaurants are at least 1.5 kilometres away. But if you want peace, quiet & a beautiful setting, highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopazBritishColumbia, Owner at Mainstay Oasis Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 8 June 2013
Thank you for your complimentary review. Yes, I wish you could have spent time relaxing to enjoy the tranquillity Port Moody has to offer. However, your strict schedule and responsibilities took precedent. Should you visit again for R&R we would be able to instruct you on public transit and provide maps and assistance with transportation. We enjoyed your stay very much and the choir you mentored.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Westminster, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

Mary Ellen and her daughter were excellent hosts! The homemade scones & treats were excellent and the assortment of teas to choose from was beyond our expectations. The tea room itself was also beautifully decorated and felt like a little piece of England! I would for sure recommend this experience to others:)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopazBritishColumbia, Owner at Mainstay Oasis Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 28 April 2013
Thank you for taking time to write your recent review on our High Tea Service at Mainstay Oasis Bed & Breakfast. We're glad you enjoyed it. It was our pleasure to serve you & your guests.
Let us know how we can serve you better in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynden, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2013

Barry and Mary Ellen are outstanding hosts who share their beautiful home with graciousness. The made to order breakfast and treats were delicious. The view from the rooms is enough to make the stay worthwhile by itself. Every detail was carefully thought of to make us feel both pampered and at home during our stay. We enjoyed exploring the area. We plan to return in the summer to take advantage of the many hiking trails and kayaking in the area. We have stayed in many B & B’s and give this one our highest recommendation. Thank you for a lovely week-end away.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank somedayworldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopazBritishColumbia, Owner at Mainstay Oasis Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 28 January 2013
We appreciate you taking time to review your experience at Mainstay Oasis. You're helping future travelers to choose accommodation that may be the perfect fit for their next holiday. Our oceanfront property allows you to return this summer with your kayak and enjoy crabbing off our dock and swimming in our heated outdoor pool. It was totally our pleasure and delight to meet you and pamper you in our Port Moody home. You are the reason we enjoy the bed & breakfast business.
We look forward to your future return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

A group of ladies & men form our church booked this B&B for an afternoon tea. The venue is on the Burrad Inlet close to shopping, Newport Village, hospital & Rocky Point Park & the view is spectacular. The scones & other dainty savories & sweets were excellent. Everyone was impressed with the food,the home & the view & would definitely recommend it to friends & family.

Camille

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopazBritishColumbia, Owner at Mainstay Oasis Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Your kind review was most appreciated. It was our pleasure to serve you & your guests on this crisp, sunny day in January 2013. We specialize in scones, and dainty sandwiches or mini quiches and tortilla roll ups. Petit Fours and mini brownies with coffee, tea & cider.

In 2013 we plan to expand this service to Bridal Teas or any other occasion to celebrate. We're open to suggestions and always welcome feedback. Thank you for choosing Mainstay Oasis in "natural" Port Moody.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2012

In an area with no hotels, this B & B is ideal as it is right on the water off Ioco Road, close to Newport Village, Crossroads Hospice and Eagle Ridge Hospital. Perfect peaceful location and home if you have family in the Hospice or Hospital.
I stayed in order to attend a party in the area, and Mary Ellen graciously offered to drive me to the party.
I saw the gorgeous large suite for couples getaway, and I stayed in a room with 2 twin beds. Nice to know it is a family/ child friendly B & B as well.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopazBritishColumbia, Owner at Mainstay Oasis Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 20 December 2012
Thank you for your recent review of your visit to Mainstay Oasis the night of the Carol Ships.
Yes, we're less than 5 mins. from Eagle Ridge Hospital in Coquitlam BC and offer reductions for multiple night bookings. We are happy to offer courtesy drop off services to local places. Again your feedback is most appreciated & thank you for taking the time during the busy Holiday Season to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

This B&B is one of the best we have ever stayed at (and we have stayed at B&Bs in Britain, France and other countries!). The house is beautifully and tastefully decorated, our rooms were lovely with a great view of Burrard Inlet, food was superb ... what more could you want? Mary Ellen and Barry are gracious hosts, and Jake (the pug) is a wonderful ambassador.

Thank you!

John & Sheila Kittle

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John_Sheila_Ottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary Ellen H, Owner at Mainstay Oasis Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 18 September 2012
Thank you for taking time to review your visit to the Mainstay Oasis Bed and Breakfast. We always aim to improve in what we offer travellers whether it's a room upgrade or a special variety of tea. It's great to see family members like yours enjoy each other. We hope to have you return so you can enjoy our totally revamped oceanfront yard. We look forward to serving you in the future.
Cheers,
ME,B,J.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Moody
5.0 mi away
Poco Inn & Suites Hotel
Poco Inn & Suites Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Coquitlam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
3.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Coquitlam Inn Convention Centre
4.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Chelsea Inn
BEST WESTERN Chelsea Inn
#3 of 4 in Coquitlam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Executive Plaza Hotel Coquitlam
3.8 mi away
Ramada Coquitlam
Ramada Coquitlam
#4 of 4 in Coquitlam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
7.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites North Vancouver
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites North...
#2 of 10 in North Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mainstay Oasis Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mainstay Oasis Bed and Breakfast

Property: Mainstay Oasis Bed and Breakfast
Address: 916 Alderside Rd | BC, Port Moody, British Columbia V3H 3A6, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Port Moody
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Port Moody
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All our guests are pampered with friendly service. Our aim is to make your visit as comfortable as possible: with in room TVs, DVD players, shared fridge, complimentary snacks, in room coffee makers private en suites. A gourmet breakfast is served daily and included in room rental. Enjoy the ocean views, wildlife viewing, outdoor pool and terraced gardens with access to 3 patios, Pergola, dock to crab from & much more. Come "Relax, Refresh, Recreate", from sunrise to sunset. Kayaking, canoeing, sailing are 5 min., Golfing, hiking, tennis, parks, shopping, fine dining nearby. Skiing is 25-30 min. Shuttle services are available and much more to serve you! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing