We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lives up to the reputation”
Review of Bovio

Bovio
Ranked #1 of 31 Restaurants in La Morra
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$47 - US$78
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Bovio family, one of the oldest families of restaurateurs in Piedmont, already managers of the well-known Ristorante Belvedere of La Morra for more than 40years, has now moved to a new place, in a panoramic position among the vineyards of Barolo. Alessandra, together with her father Gian Bovio, continue the family tradition in the dining room.
Reviewed 19 June 2017

This is a very popular restaurant in the lower end of La Morra village. The food is top class as one would expect. We had a dish of cannelloni stuffed with duck confit and topped with white truffles which was amazing. All the little extras like home baked breads and grissini, amuse bouches and petit fours. A serious restaurant with all the trimmings and it would be easy to spend a lot here unless like us you were driving and could only have wine by the glass. A very romantic place to dine and probably the only place we ate where we encountered other tourists more than local diners.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank UnaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,423)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 52 of 1,425 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2017 via mobile

Fantastic food service and wine list and we even tasted some older Barolo. Veal Tunnato was the best we had all week. Have the tasting menu for 47 euro and you will not be disappointed! Fantastico ! We were treated to a red moon and fireworks too!!!

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank Jennie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2017 via mobile

We were seated on the terrace with a lovely view over the surrounding vineyards. The service was very professional, but I felt a bit perfunctory as soon as I asked about wine by the glass (I was driving) as there was no attempt to talk through the options.

After a look through the extensive wine list, we chose a half bottle of Bovio's own 2011 Barolo which was good without being great. But that might be more to do with Barolo and my tastes than anything lacking in this wine.

We were served some very good bread and grissini and a stuffed and fried zucchini flower as an amuse bouche.

I had the veal tongue to start with - this was a simple but delicious dish. Top marks.

We then had the capretto (roast kid) which although generous, I found some of the pieces too dry to enjoy. It was accompanied by a rather uninteresting blob of polenta and some boiled vegetables. Lyn thought that her capretto was "a bit dry but fine. Could have done with a jus of some kind."

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank Navigator810322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2017 via mobile

The location was perfect and the service, food and wine was marvellous. We had a meny with seven courses and all of them were a joy.

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank Karius1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2017

Great food and an even greater view over the Lange hills. Extensive wine list with many local wineries represented. Service was good and the food was even better. Plan on spending 3 hours for dinner!! Although, a little on the expensive side, we will return!!

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank Vermonter2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bovio also viewed

La Morra, Province of Cuneo
Barolo, Province of Cuneo
 
La Morra, Province of Cuneo
 
La Morra, Province of Cuneo
La Morra, Province of Cuneo
 

Been to Bovio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing