We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Bruce Lee Statue - Ready for action

It was a surprise find this Bruce Lee statue. A gift to Kogorah for ...something... unfortunately... read more

Reviewed 11 November 2017
Luke_for_Dinner
,
Wollongong, Australia
A bit random

We rented a flat in kogarah for a few nights and I checked on TA for things to do around here and... read more

Reviewed 29 April 2017
Gary M
,
Saint Hyacinthe, Canada
via mobile
Read all 26 reviews
  
Reviews (26)
Filter reviews
26 results
Traveller rating
4
7
8
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
4
7
8
4
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 26 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2016

I walked past this statue and have absolutely no idea what it is about or represents? I know who Bruce Lee was but I don't know what his connection to Kogarah is?

Date of experience: November 2016
4  Thank fizz147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2016

It's a statue of Bruce Lee ready to fight, luckily it's close to the hospital if it comes over all night at the museum and decides to fight you, it's free to see and the only interesting thing in a otherwise boring suburb, Go Hurstville!

Date of experience: September 2015
4  Thank CameronH1331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2016

I believe the Bruce Lee statue was a gift from one of the many sister cities of Kogarah. There have been some complaints Bruce is not 'relevant', and want the statue moved somewhere less visible than in Kogarah Town Square. I disagree as there are many Asian families living and working in Kogarah, and the little children seem to love Bruce's statue, and play around the area.
Kogarah is a hub for hospitals, medical specialists, schools, and Community Colleges. There are many cafes, small shops along the main streets, and supermarkets above and near the railway station and bus stops.
Unless you are a real fan, I doubt if visiting the Bruce Lee statue will attract a lot of people to Kogarah, if you did not have another reason for being there.

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank Christene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2016 via mobile

OK. It seems Kogarah, where this statue is displayed, has partnership with some city in China where Bruce Lee was born (?).
What did the Chinese get in return? A statue of Kogarah's claim to fame, Clive James?

Date of experience: March 2016
1  Thank Gerhard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2016

I am a Bruce Lee fan( and of Chinese descent) and I cannot understand why this statue is here at all.Bruce never visited this country,let alone Kogarah. Sorry, but it is a waste of space.

Date of experience: February 2016
1  Thank Dwight1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews