We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On an increasingly quiet Norton St...”
Review of Cafe Jolly

Cafe Jolly
Ranked #5 of 143 Restaurants in Leichhardt
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“On an increasingly quiet Norton St...”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Is a restaurant that doesn't seem to have been affected by the closed shop fronts and abundance of massage parlours. Across from the Royal Botanical Hotel, Cafe Jolly is always busy because the food and service is always good. If you want traditional, hearty and reasonably priced Italian food the only thing to do on Norton street is follow the crowds here.

Helpful?
1 Thank MonkeyTown28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    39
    4
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bunbury, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Execellent!!”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Huge portions, delicious food, excellent pricing and wonderful service. We ordered the chicken, rice and salsa with salsa for around $16. We received a HUGE plate including a whole chicken breast which was juicy and cooked to perfection. For one entree, two mains and two alcoholic drinks (wine and vodka) we paid around $55!! Highly recommend!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good food, affordable prices, excellent service.”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I think I've said it all in the title! We stumbled on Cafe Jolly for coffee while staying in Leichhardt with a friend a couple weeks ago. When we were looking for somewhere to eat a couple of nights later she coincidentally suggested it.

We were flying out of Sydney the next day, so I had to have lamb cutlets! They were yummy and the portions were very substantial. We enjoyed the food and rarely have I had such good service.

It was a Thursday night and very busy. That says it all, so I would suggest booking.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Meroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great food with personality”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We have been to the Jolly many times and are always impressed by the quality of the food. The lamb cutlets are divine. Consistently friendly service, one of the male waiters especially is brimming with sass which is very entertaining. I have been less impressed by the desserts there.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank r0amify0uwantt0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Just like home”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We went to Cafe Jolly on the recommendation of friends who have been coming here for ages. Good meal with quick and attentive service - we will be back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Grid5861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Jolly also viewed

 
Leichhardt, Sydney
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Cafe Jolly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing