We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Food”
Review of Imge

Imge
Ranked #2 of 35 Restaurants in Coalville
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic, Kids, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Lovely Food”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We have been here several times before - mainly before the place had been renovated and we have always enjoyed the food.

The new renovations are ok - I don't think the pictures go well in the room - because of the colour and simply because the pictures just don't fit the setting.

The service... well - they sounded so bored when I called and asked to book a table - i had to ask her if she wanted my name for the reservation! When I arrived there was 1 waitress and who I presume is the owner and/or manager - the poor girl was being barked at the whole time - she obviously knew what she was doing but this guy kept jumping in and taking over! Her downside however was RUNNING up and down the restaurant - not very professional in my opinion and very dangerous.

Seriously though the service was very strange- how many people does it take to pour 1 bottle of wine?! or to even take our food order?! The girl was doing fine but he kept waving her off and calling her back a minute later! Very annoying. Then when we asked for the bill it took a very long time to arrive... there were only 4 other small tables and this guy just walked past and looked at us now and then .


The food however is great - the reason we come back all the time. We don't tend to go for main courses we pick a selection of 6 starters (for 2 people) and share. This was we get a bit of everything - It's nothing fancy but it is very delicious! Obviously small portions so make sure you get a LEAST 3 starters each if this is what you want to do.

All in all a nice place to eat - let down by the service.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbutterfly87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    55
    14
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Authentic But Modern”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Modern setting, but authentic food, visited with a small party for a nephews 21st Birthday celebration. A number in the party were regular visitors & suggested a number of items from the extensive menu. Another large group were also in on the evening we attended. The service level for both ourselves and others appeared to be quick & all meals arrived shortly after ordering, having been cooked in full view of the patrons. Have only been a couple of times but always seems welcoming & the food is fresh & well cooked. Not my usual haunt but all was good & reasonably priced for the good quality food we received.
All I can say is Thank you for a very nice evening

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
160 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
“Pretty good...”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We ate here for a birthday meal this past weekend. We waited around 15 minutes before anyone came to greet or seat us. Lots of hanging wires everywhere which although they're renovating should be tied up or away. Eventually we were seated and served - the staff were friendly and service was swiftish. The place is a tad noisy, not the intimate setting and more like a canteen but the food definitely does it justice!... I think it will only improve and the next visit will be better. Great food!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UKworldtrotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food and service!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Went for a birthday meal on a Saturday, the restaurant was quiet as we went early but soon got busy. Food was lovely, meat cooked perfectly, I had the mixed kebab with yoghurt and the lamb and chicken were succulent and well marinated. Good value for money, three course plus coffee for £19.50. They brought a cake with candles out and sung happy birthday which was a lovely touch. All staff were friendly! Definitely be going back!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Law03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
498 reviews
279 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
“Tasty food that is authentic”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

For somewhere like Coalville, this place is a rare find. Nice food, not many options for veggies but then I don't suppose Brits would appreciate the type of vegetarian Turkish food I am accustomed to. Try the aubergine salad (cold starter) and courgette fritters.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elmo1989_03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Imge also viewed

Coalville, Leicestershire
 
Coalville, Leicestershire
Coalville, Leicestershire
 

Been to Imge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing