We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent”

Broadlawns Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Broadlawns Guest House
Ranked #2 of 3 Coalville B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Second time of using broadlawns and again we couldn't ask for any more....lovely owners, excellent breakfast, nothings too much trouble..
Ideal location for us for Donington park, and to be able to eat out as well.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whites52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

We stayed one night, our room, was clean, tidy and nicely decorated the rooms are situated at the back of the main house in a very nice little courtyard, the owner was very friendly and welcoming we had a lovely breakfast. On the whole very pleasant stay and would again

Room Tip: we stayed in room 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joannat702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

we stayed here for 1 night and that was enough.We had a good chat with the owner and the breakfast was very nice. The rooms though are very basic and need some TLC, the sheets were clean but there was dust everywhere, the fittings in the bathroom need a good clean and the skirtings were coming off, there was rust marks about and 3 bulb didn't work on arrival.

Quite cheap but we would not stay there agin.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paultriple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I thought (and still do) that Mr W, a previous reviewer, was taking his criticism too far, but having stayed at Broadlawns for a night I can sympathise a little with what he had to say. This is a pleasant place to stay and my room and bathroom were spacious and very clean, but the shower had a signs of black mould and the shower head and ceiling above were riddled with mould, which I find very strange given the cleanliness elsewhere. Also the room was very sterile in appearnace with white and off-white everywhere - a little colour and homliness/warmth would have been a big improvement. The breakfast was okay but also a little sterile with not the best quality bacon and sausage and I wish that they offerred grilled fresh tomotao rather than the ghastly tinned variery. Also, it would have been nice to have been offerred brown toast. The couple who manage/own it were very friendly and helpful, particularly when I could not get wifi in my room, which can be very irritating, and overall it was good enough for me to return - it will be interesting to see if there have been any improvements

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We wish we had found this place before, having been the Emporium many times and had unreliable taxi services, this is close enough to walk. Big room perfectly functional and warm, had a nice shower in the morning. Wish we had tried the food! Looking forward to going again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fitti85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Only stayed one night, but this was good value. The room was clean & functional, although a bit "tired". Being an Autumn night, it did get quite cold, so the option of being able to use the heating would have been appreciated. The breakfast was freshly cooked & was good. As we arrived late & left early we had no chance to exolore the area.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank RodK45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

i stayed at the Broadlawns B&B three times this year, once in feb for 3 days once in june for 2 days and twice last week & one thing i noticed Every night was the heating wasnt on? although its warm during the day its been cold during the night and there is only one factor that its not been on and thats greed! ive spoke about it to the staff and it still didnt get put on? ive spoken to the owner and again it wasnt put on? i spoke to some other contractors who had been staying and they stated the same the rooms are really cold during the night and they had been using the place for months a couple of days a week and have never seen it on unless it was snowing? there really is no other excuse for it? i will point out the Good and bad points here:

GOOD POINTS-
Location is central and minutes away from town centre or 10 mins walking
right next to one of the best Chinese takeaways ive ever used "Yummy House" Dont miss it!
Free parking and plenty of it!
the most powerful shower ive ever had! and ive been staying in B&B's/hotels for decades!
friendly staff! the girls on a Wednesday are fantastic & always smiling really lovely people!
Dining/Breakfast area tidy and well presented


BAD POINTS-
It all kinda dries up from there tbh!
The breakfast whilst is really nice i think 1 small Sausage and a tiny portion of beans is really stingy! i mean whats it cost for a pack of sausages? but the food is very tasty and its freshly made as you order it as well as the bacon been the best ive ever tasted omg!
Room cleanliness was pretty dire! i walked in from my work and took my shoes off and thought id stood on a drawing pin when in fact it was a previous customers toe nail YUCK!
the rooms are not cleaned no where near as good as they should be! my room had not only had a very shady cleaning but the shower base was full of scum and ive noticed its been an issue with other guests has the hygiene there
the rooms have been left to the elements and are well in need of someone who knows DIY to spend some time in them
TOWELS! omg how tiny?? even the bath towels aint much bigger then a hand towel! i also noticed that UNLESS i placed them on the floor they would not be replaced! just hung on the radiators what are never on so the first night i stayed there i was pretty annoyed they was still wet from the shower in the morning!
Dogs barking! the owner has some lovely dogs but the garden is impractically next to the rooms and the dogs kept barking & was ignored by the owner so they just barked and barked! not very professional really
The main house is looking REALLY tired! paint has been pealing for years bare wood is showing and the bins are right next to the entrance instead of concealing them with a wooden fence around them they are visible to guests about to eat which isnt really a nice thing as there is other rubbish thrown around them again attention to detail!
Room doors! i was in room 9 and whoever was in room 10 had issues when opening and closing the main door as it had been dislodged and not been corrected therefore taking some shoving to close and in tern needed a good slam not very good when its almost midnight and your up for work at 5am
BROADBAND! dear me! where do i start! in the 3/4 times i had stayed here i never got more then 2 bars on the wifi! and it kept dropping signal! again the router is in the main house which is 40/50 foot away instead of paying a couple of hundred pounds out and installing an external signal booster the owner chooses to keep his money for more important things rather then spending a little on sorting the place out? THESE ARE BASICS!

Its got potential but due to greed it gets just 2/5 stars! its a really busy place all week and weekend so its not as if its not turning a profit and for the basics to be ignored is quite ignorant! the owner was telling me how he goes on fishing trip holidays several times a year and i couldnt help thinking WHY he doesnt spend more on the place as its a really nice place just a real shame...IF you goto the B&B dont miss the chinese take away the little lady who serves you is such a lovely woman! i ate their food more then 10 times and not once had any issue what so ever! its really tasty fast service good value and you get plenty! and its only 45 seconds from the B&B

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mr w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coalville hotels
0.4 mi away
Hermitage Park Hotel
Hermitage Park Hotel
#2 of 2 in Coalville
122 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ravenstone Guest House
Ravenstone Guest House
#3 of 3 in Coalville
17 reviews
2.0 mi away
Charnwood Arms
Charnwood Arms
#1 of 2 in Coalville
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Victoria Bikers Pub
The Victoria Bikers Pub
#1 of 3 in Coalville
10 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Broadlawns Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadlawns Guest House

Address: 98 London Road, Coalville LE67 3JD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Coalville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Coalville
Price Range: £41 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Broadlawns Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing