We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service”
Review of Angel Inn

Angel Inn
Ranked #9 of 35 Restaurants in Coalville
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We visited here on a recommendation and were not disappointed. We were made to feel very welcome. The food was all home cooked and cooked to perfection. Home made chips, what a treat. The deserts were lovely too. We were too late for the carvery but will definitely pay a visit again to try it. Thank you to the staff for a very enjoyable lunch.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    17
    4
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great Find”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Called for Lunch - what a find - Friendly staff and very welcoming. Excellent Carvery - very tender Beef, four types of veg and very good gravy all hot and served on hot plates. Worth a visit. We will return.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LizzyBen830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coalville, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Warm welcome”
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

I have no doubt that the owners of the Pied Bull in Shepshed will not be very happy with the review I gave them. I hope that this one will give some balance as we came here as a result of our experience there.

We were treated with courtesy and consideration from the moment we stepped in the door, despite the fact that the guy behind the bar was busy dealing with a number of diners.

The beer (Young's) was excellent. We ordered food, rump steak for me, vegetable and goats cheese tart for my fiancée. It was evident that both dishes were freshly prepared. My steak was delicious, cooked perfectly (rare, as requested). Overall, the food was better than average and we look forward to coming here again.

Helpful?
Thank RichCoalville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shepshed, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“hidden gem”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Off a main road,The Angel Inn,is a hidden gem.[It should be sign posted from the main road].
Have not been for ages,& has restored my faith in going out for a meal.[have been so disappointed recently-going elsewhere].

Excellent,well presented home cooked food.Very,very pleasant staff.Will be returning again soon.

Thank you all for a very pleasant evening.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tony b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good Pedigree, not so good food”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Pub well located in a picturesque and quiet rural area The Pedigree was well kept and enjoyable but unfortunately the food was disappointing. Our starters were fine and we were looking forward to our main meal. My wife's noodles, however, had congealed somewhat and were stuck to the bottom of her bowl whilst my potatoes were under cooked. We mentioned this to the waitress when asked but got no response. Decided to try a dessert, hoping this was an aberration but after being given a menu and then no-one bothering to take our order we decided to pay and leave as staring at the cobwebs was becoming monotonous.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BlackMirror
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Angel Inn also viewed

Coalville, Leicestershire
Griffydam, Leicestershire
 
Coalville, Leicestershire
Swannington, Leicestershire
 
Coalville, Leicestershire
Thornton, Leicestershire
 

Been to Angel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing