We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall Visit”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Charnwood Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Charnwood Arms
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Coalville
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Overall Visit”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

I had this hotel booked for me by work so had no choice in this one, but if i had had a choice i would have walked out on the first night.
1. Room was not i feel prepared for a new guest felt dirty and unwelcoming.
2. the toilet seat was broken and heavily stained( I'll say no more). Seat was repaired an attempt was made to clean it be my request to replace it fell on deaf ears.
3. mattress smelt stale and felt old and saggy.
4. Breakfast on the first morning was simple choice full English or nothing as there was no breakfast bar laid out as there was the rest of my 5 night stay. Manageress was UNHELPFUL to say the least. Asked for toast any it was like i had asked her to make the bread, toast it, butter it and then lay it on the table.
5. Evening meals were not to bad, but as with the morning the staff don't seem to care about the customer with little or no manners from the staff.
6. The main road along side the hotel is used as a racetrack by the local fast and furious copycats leading to most nights having to listen to the roar of exhausts while trying to work in my room.
Overall this was a poor hotel and i have cancelled a further visit for another hotel.....

Room Tip: Look elsewhere i am afraid.........
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nik1966_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    44
    30
    20
    16
See reviews for
20
45
7
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hythe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

Charnwood Arms meets all criteria for an affordable and comfortable place to stay on the edge of the beautiful Charnwood Forest.
Very comfortable rooms and friendly efficient staff make this a must for all who travel to this part of the country.
Good food in the busy restaurant at great prices makes a stay a memorable experience

Room Tip: Choose a room through the archway for a quite place to rest your head.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012 via mobile

Staff need to acknowledge customers and actually care about their work. Food was ok and cheap, no check back. Coffee should Have been great as its costa but it was to strong and really bitter No friendly hello or good bye. Bar man was more interested in polishing his bar display than taking my money.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank CUNextTuesdai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Coalville hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

This was a venue I was forced to stay at as it was part of a family wedding event but I was actually pleasantly surprised with the whole experience.

This is a motel/hotel with a large venue space which was home for the wedding reception that I was attending with my extended family. There is a bar and restaurant which offer good value prices and choice. All the serving staff were friendly, helpful and courteous to me and the other guests.

The sleeping accommodation was neat, clean and comfortable with a good TV for downtime and a very decent shower. Breakfast is paid for as an extra cost but their is extensive choice and overall it is good value. My only small criticism (as I like my fresh coffee) is there is only instant coffee included in the price of breakfast. Fresh Costa coffee is over £2 extra to the price of breakfast but a simple filter coffee would actually be better than instant and I'm sure not much more to include.

Overall though, I would stay here again if I had to visit the area!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a single storey room at the rear of the hotel as this will be the best for a quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard_Gough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

Starter was freezing cold, and to make it worse our started was served 40 minutes after everyone else at our party's as they had 'bodged up' the menu (in waitresses words)

Main meal was cold and my cousins meal had a 10" long head hair in it!

Service is terrible, rude and impatient. Everything was too much effort for staff.

Won't go again. Ever.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claireandscott1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snaith - East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

I visited the Charwood Arms on a resent buisness trip to this area, having never been here before I was looking for somewhere that would be relaxing, reasonably priced with axceptable food and good service.

I found this and more at the Charwood Arms. The staff could not do enough for both me and my wife, we stayed for three night and the evening meals were very good, well presented, hot and plenty of it. Our room was very clean and tidy, the bed was very nice and very comfortable.

The only comment that I would make and this is is no way ment as a slur on the Charnwood Arms, the room was wonderful a hot upon our arrival as was the stairwell area, infact it was to hot, hence we mentioned it at the reseption area when we went to eat and it was straight away taken care of, top marks for service.

I was pleasantly suprised at the breakfast, not being a big breakfast buff, it was nice to finf that they did a light bite, which I have never encountered before, for a small sum we got a drink and a bacon butty, excellent. Another very nice point that I again have never encountered was that we were asked at breakfast if we would mind if the cleaning lady vacummed the next room as it might disturb us. This is the level of thought by the staff, excellent.

A lot of other bigger major hotels would do well to take a leaf from these peoples book!

I wll certainly use this extablishment if in the area again.

Room Tip: We had the executive room, what a great set of rooms at less than most hotels charge for a standard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

This hotel is situated near roads which have many lorries attracted by the Waitrose depot and other similar premises in the vicinity. We therefore asked for a quiet room and were given a room in single storey accommodation in the centre of the hotel shielded from the road noise by the rest of the building. It was quiet when the air handling apparatus from the restaurant, which vents in that direction, was turned off between 11 and 12 pm.
The room was clean, the shower worked well and they even had decaffinated coffee sachets as well as the usual tea and coffee stuff - but no biscuits.
The staff were good and competent.
The price varies between £35 and £55 per night with breakfast (about £6 to about £7.50) extra.
The breakfast was the poorest part of the deal as for that price I would expect a wider choice and real coffee not a sachet of granules and a jug of hot water.
The evening meals are fine for the price - about £8 to £10 for a main course although I would have wished for more fresh vegetables.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tranmere10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coalville
2.2 mi away
Hermitage Park Hotel
Hermitage Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Coalville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
5.9 mi away
Premier Inn Ashby De La Zouch Hotel
Premier Inn Ashby De La Zouch Ho...
#1 of 2 in Ashby-de-la-Zouch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
4.0 mi away
Fieldhead Hotel
Fieldhead Hotel
#19 of 41 in Leicester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
The Link Hotel
The Link Hotel
#2 of 12 in Loughborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
5.8 mi away
Bosworth Hall Hotel & Spa
Bosworth Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Market Bosworth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 4,063 reviews
8.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Appleby Park Hotel
BEST WESTERN Appleby Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Appleby Magna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charnwood Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charnwood Arms

Property: Charnwood Arms
Address: Beveridge Lane, Coalville LE67 1TB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Coalville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Coalville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Charnwood Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Charnwood Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing