We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I didnt want to look at dirty taps while taking a bath”
Review of Charnwood Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Charnwood Arms
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Coalville
Reviewed 6 November 2010

Have stayed here lots of times and thought on the whole the hotel was value for money and always very clean
But to my sadness when I recently stayed there I found the bath to be very dirty i.e. around the taps and the shower head
Also the water out of the kettle had not been removed these are just small things but I feel could have been avoided

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sadie099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

159 - 164 of 164 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2010

We stayed here on a stopover between South Wales and Yorkshire. This is one of the Goodnight Inns chain, which we've used before, but never this inn. We really think the Goodnights are often a great deal, this place was okay, but not great. However, at £30 for one night, double room only, it was fine.

The rooms are like little chalets, perfectly fine for a night or two. Our room was clean and tidy. Bathroom was fine, again clean and servicable.

The only real problem with our room was the heat. The radiator seemed to be stuck on 'fry' even when turned down. It was cold outside so I wouldn't hold it against the owners as better to be warm than cold!!!!

One real down point was the food in the adjacent pub. To be frank it was fairly rubbish, I had pasta and my partner had steak, both were badly cooked. The chips were horrid, barely cooked. Unfortunately there didn't appear to be anywhere else within walking distance so you might have to make do - but really don't expect too much.

We didn't have breakfast after the dinner experience, however, it was on offer for between £4-£7. We went to a McDonalds just down the road!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loncat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2009

We were looking for a cheap hotel for an overnight stay on our way to Southampton. Price was an issue as we were basically only looking for somewhere to have a bite to eat, a few drinks and then sleep rather than a 'night away', as was the location as we didn't want to be too far from the motorway.

When we first arrived we were a bit dubious with the 1970's holiday camp chalet style of accomodation, with the exception of a few rooms that were in apartment style blocks to the rear of the pub. This was not helped by the receptionist who seemed to have her mind elsewhere... understandable as apparently the manager had just walked out! Our booking, which was done through a third party had not been processed correctly (we were booked in for the following night) despite the fact that we had telephoned and corrected this the previous evening and, with it being British GP weekend this could have ended in tragedy (or at least with us not having a room!). This was quickly rectified and we attempted to pay on our card... which was rejected. We paid with another card and telephoned our bank as we'd had a problem with it whilst on holiday and were told that the payment had been approved by the bank but then not approved by the hotel. Things were not looking good...!

BUT... when we got to our room/chalet we were pleasantly suprise! We opened the door and went in to find a room that was at least as good as any Travel Lodge/Premier Inn/Holiday Inn that either of us had stayed in and better that many other supposedly higher rated, presigious hotels. The bed was fantastic with a mattress that was firm but not too firm and plenty of pillows. There was also a pointless bed throw across the bottom that hotels seem to think makes them look... higher quality? Anyway, once that was kicked off even Goldilocks would have been happy!

The room was spotlessly clean... seriously, we couldn't find a spec of dust, despite trying our hardest! I cannot emphesise just how clean this room was! The bathroom was the same - I've seen some clean hotels but this was right up there!

Entertainment was provided by a flat screen TV with Freeview meaning that again, there was more on offer than a lot of hotels that promise so much more but seem to fail when it comes to delivering!

All in all, after a bit of a dodgy start when checking in, which I suppose can be explained by the sudden departure of the manager, we were both happy and suprised at how good this place was. It punches way above its weight considering quite how cheap it was and would definately be on the cards again if we looking to stay in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bewaresheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

1  Thank Stein L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, travelled on business
Thank ELIeSANDRO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wedding13347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coalville
2.3 mi away
Hermitage Park Hotel
Hermitage Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Coalville
122 reviews
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Leicester Markfield
3.8 mi away
Fieldhead Hotel
Fieldhead Hotel
#20 of 41 in Leicester
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Bosworth Hall Hotel & Spa
Bosworth Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Market Bosworth
4,292 reviews
5.6 mi away
Burleigh Court
Burleigh Court
#3 of 12 in Loughborough
731 reviews
9.2 mi away
Best Western Appleby Park Hotel
Best Western Appleby Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Appleby Magna
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charnwood Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charnwood Arms

Address: Beveridge Lane, Coalville LE67 1TB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Coalville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Coalville
Price Range: £41 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Charnwood Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Charnwood Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing