We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ocean hide-away”
Review of Hotel L'isola

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel L'isola
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Santa Marinella
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We stayed one night on Oct 10, 2013 before flying home from Fiumicino and wished we could stay longer. It was a great ending after 3 wonderful weeks in Italy. Our room (103) had a balcony and view of the ocean. It was spacious and pristine with a nice 4 piece bathroom, room safe, fridge, TV and Wi-Fi. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice. Francesco and his wife are delightfully helpful. Their recommendation for a Seafood restaurant next door (L’Acqua Marina) was just what we wanted and offered a great selection of sea food. It was nice to hear the calming waves while sitting on the balcony overlooking the palm trees and see the sun set. Hotel is small, simple and sweet....Great place to stay and relax. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2013

We wanted to stay out of Rome for our last night in Italy, and this place is about 30 minutes from FCO. However, it couldn't be more different from the FCO area hotels. The rooms are big, ready for the beach, and our windows faces a beautiful rocky area next to the water. We walked down that evening, and my son enjoyed throwing rocks into the surf.

We ate a fancy dinner at the Restaurant next door, the waiter spoke excellent English and helped us through our best meal in Italy, and enjoyed talking to our 5-year-old throughout. We even saw him in the morning when we got our cappuccino at the bar down the street!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mattreider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We should like to thank Francesco and his team for their help and kind attention to our needs before, during and after our daughter's wedding in Santa Marinella at Castello Odescalchi on August 31st, 2013. Nothing was too much trouble for them and their cooperation and willing assistance contributed so much to enabling us to enjoy this very special occasion with our family gathered in Italy having travelled from Sydney Australia, Manchester England and from Italy too.

The hotel rooms are simple, bright and clean with ample room for unpacking clothes etc. The two rooms which my wife and I occupied had the benefit of sizable balconies allowing us to sit out under the shade of the castello pines. Air-conditioning was ample and adequate.

Breakfast is provided and includes fresh orange juice, cereals, croissant, toast, jams etc and really excellent coffee.

An unexpected hasty return from Viareggio meant an additional six nights at Hotel L'Isola where Francesco helped us to hire a small car from nearby Civitavecchia, enabling us to visit further afield up and down the coast and to another Castello Odescalchi at Lago Bracciano.

Lastly, but by no means least, this delightful but small hotel is splendidly and conveniently situated on Piazza Trieste where there is an abundance of excellent restaurants and cafes to eat out, drink or just sit and soak up the Italian atmosphere - good food and wine! The marina is just two minutes wander away down the hill where a yacht club bar is welcoming.

E&EB Sep. 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

My husband and I visited Santa Marinella for our honeymoon. We booked Hotel L'Isola through the Internet so we didn't really know what to expect. Upon arrival we were greeted by Francesco. He was very friendly and was really informative and helpful. He gave us a map of the area and took us to our room. We were in the junior suite which was a really nice surprise as it was in a separate residence to the main hotel. We had a front and rear balcony with views of the sea and the main square. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was a really high standard. There was also tea making facilities and a fridge. Breakfast was small but adequate with really lovely service. Overall we had a really pleasant stay and would definitely return to this hotel, it has a really nice relaxed feel and nothing is too much trouble. Francesco even sorted us out a taxi to the airport at short notice. Hotel L'Isola is definitely worth a visit.

Room Tip: The junior suite has rear and front balconies and views but you do get noise from the market and eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ali W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

First of all the staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. Thank you, Natalia. We stayed here the night before our cruise was to leave Civitavecchia. The rooms are ample and the breakfast was great.

We took a taxi from the airport which was not the most inexpensive way to get there but it was quick and easy with our luggage. Natalia arranged a driver to take us to the port the following day as well.

The hotel is small and we found it to be very charming sitting between a piazza and the ocean. I could happily stay there for an extended period to explore and unwind. The view from the water side of the hotel was fantastic and exactly what we were hoping for. The piazza side was very charming but the vendors for the market start unloading their trucks very early in the morning.

Natalia recommended several restaurants for us depending on what we were looking for. We opted for La Piazzetta right next door. We had delicious fresh fish and grilled vegetables while the locals listened to the Lazio vs. Roma football match on a mobile phone. It felt very Italian in all of the good ways.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JPNewWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Hotel L'Isola is located in thae small town of Samta Marinella, about 5 miles from Civitavecchia and an ideal place to stay if you are planning to join a cruise. The town itself is small but has a number of restaurants and we used a really good Italian in the square adjacent to the hotel since the hotel's own restaurant was closed at the time. Getting to the hotel from Fiumicino airport is relatively simple by train although it involves taking one train into Rome (Trastevere) then taking the Regional train back to Santa Marinella. This does of course make it easy to visit Rome for the daysince the train takes about 50min and costs 0nly 8 euro each way.We decided to take a taxi because we had large cases with us and the hotel kindly arranged a driver to pick us up at the airport. The hotel itself is small but immaculately clean and the staff were absolutely superb in making sure we had everything we needed. Breakfast was typical Italian with a good choice and again the service was excellent. I would certainly recommend this as a place to stay under similar circumstances.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back face the sea and those on the front face the small square in front of the hotel. V...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank a-milligan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We spent a night at the hotel L'isola after visiting Ostia Antica.and decided to go up the coast. My wife had stayed there previously several years ago and liked the place. The front of the hotel, where there was free parking, faces a small piazza,. Our room, in the annex portion rather than the main, had a patio in back overlooking a pretty garden, air conditioning, ceiling fan, private bathroom with shower, and a matrimonial bed. The room was moderate in size and was clean and quiet. The continental breakfast (included in the price) had cereal, rolls,pastries, fruit, yogurt, juice,milk, and coffee. The beach was about a 15 minute walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samuel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Marinella
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa delle Palme
Hotel Villa delle Palme
#1 of 13 in Santa Marinella
91 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villino Gregoraci Relais
Villino Gregoraci Relais
#6 of 13 in Santa Marinella
51 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Il Gabbiano
Hotel Il Gabbiano
#3 of 13 in Santa Marinella
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Portofina
Hotel Portofina
#7 of 13 in Santa Marinella
150 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel San Giorgio
Hotel San Giorgio
#1 of 10 in Civitavecchia
766 reviews
5 mi away
Tenuta dell'Argento Resort
Tenuta dell'Argento Resort
#4 of 10 in Civitavecchia
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'isola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'isola

Address: Piazza Trieste 6, 00058, Santa Marinella, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Santa Marinella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Santa Marinella
Price Range: £59 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel L'isola 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely hotel in the centre of town with sea view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel L'isola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel l Isola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing