We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Going on a CRUISE out of Civitavecchia? Stay Here!”
Review of Hotel L'isola

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel L'isola
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Santa Marinella
Certificate of Excellence
Aspen, Colorado
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Going on a CRUISE out of Civitavecchia? Stay Here!”
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Santa Marinella is a little beach resort only about 10 minutes from the Port at Civitavecchia. Last cruise, I overnighted in Civitavecchia thinking it would be easy and convenient - I hated it!

This time I took a train into Santa Marinella, walked the 4 or so blocks to Hotel L'Isola, and thoroughly enjoyed everything about it. Gianni and Bianca were very welcoming and organized transportation for us to the Port. They also had recommendations for dinner and shopping.

We actually stayed in the Residences part of the hotel which had a private and secure entrance and a lovely balcony overlooking the sea.

Breakfast was beautifully served and delicious.

I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jenaswright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    55
    14
    3
    3
See reviews for
34
84
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 1 day en-route to a south-of-Rome destination... but we should of stayed longer!
The hotel was a small and cute 'hip' building with lots of nice colors, with a friendly staff. The room was big (in European standards) with a side-view on the ocean, was modern, comfortable and clean. The breakfast buffet was in the norm: nothing exceptional, but fresh and good.
It is a least a 10min walk to the beach via the city streets (no direct access to the beach) and you will need to rent chairs to get a spot... the beach is all private... but, if you stay here during the week days, the beach is almost empty! (at least in September, when we were there).
The down-side of staying there during the week during out-of-season, is finding an open restaurant in the area! (there are a couple of OK restaurants right around the hotel however).

Room Tip: Ask for a room with ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JeanVoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We stayed one night on Oct 10, 2013 before flying home from Fiumicino and wished we could stay longer. It was a great ending after 3 wonderful weeks in Italy. Our room (103) had a balcony and view of the ocean. It was spacious and pristine with a nice 4 piece bathroom, room safe, fridge, TV and Wi-Fi. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice. Francesco and his wife are delightfully helpful. Their recommendation for a Seafood restaurant next door (L’Acqua Marina) was just what we wanted and offered a great selection of sea food. It was nice to hear the calming waves while sitting on the balcony overlooking the palm trees and see the sun set. Hotel is small, simple and sweet....Great place to stay and relax. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We wanted to stay out of Rome for our last night in Italy, and this place is about 30 minutes from FCO. However, it couldn't be more different from the FCO area hotels. The rooms are big, ready for the beach, and our windows faces a beautiful rocky area next to the water. We walked down that evening, and my son enjoyed throwing rocks into the surf.

We ate a fancy dinner at the Restaurant next door, the waiter spoke excellent English and helped us through our best meal in Italy, and enjoyed talking to our 5-year-old throughout. We even saw him in the morning when we got our cappuccino at the bar down the street!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattreider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelsall, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We should like to thank Francesco and his team for their help and kind attention to our needs before, during and after our daughter's wedding in Santa Marinella at Castello Odescalchi on August 31st, 2013. Nothing was too much trouble for them and their cooperation and willing assistance contributed so much to enabling us to enjoy this very special occasion with our family gathered in Italy having travelled from Sydney Australia, Manchester England and from Italy too.

The hotel rooms are simple, bright and clean with ample room for unpacking clothes etc. The two rooms which my wife and I occupied had the benefit of sizable balconies allowing us to sit out under the shade of the castello pines. Air-conditioning was ample and adequate.

Breakfast is provided and includes fresh orange juice, cereals, croissant, toast, jams etc and really excellent coffee.

An unexpected hasty return from Viareggio meant an additional six nights at Hotel L'Isola where Francesco helped us to hire a small car from nearby Civitavecchia, enabling us to visit further afield up and down the coast and to another Castello Odescalchi at Lago Bracciano.

Lastly, but by no means least, this delightful but small hotel is splendidly and conveniently situated on Piazza Trieste where there is an abundance of excellent restaurants and cafes to eat out, drink or just sit and soak up the Italian atmosphere - good food and wine! The marina is just two minutes wander away down the hill where a yacht club bar is welcoming.

E&EB Sep. 2013

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

My husband and I visited Santa Marinella for our honeymoon. We booked Hotel L'Isola through the Internet so we didn't really know what to expect. Upon arrival we were greeted by Francesco. He was very friendly and was really informative and helpful. He gave us a map of the area and took us to our room. We were in the junior suite which was a really nice surprise as it was in a separate residence to the main hotel. We had a front and rear balcony with views of the sea and the main square. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was a really high standard. There was also tea making facilities and a fridge. Breakfast was small but adequate with really lovely service. Overall we had a really pleasant stay and would definitely return to this hotel, it has a really nice relaxed feel and nothing is too much trouble. Francesco even sorted us out a taxi to the airport at short notice. Hotel L'Isola is definitely worth a visit.

Room Tip: The junior suite has rear and front balconies and views but you do get noise from the market and eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Westminster, B.C.
Level Contributor
85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

First of all the staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. Thank you, Natalia. We stayed here the night before our cruise was to leave Civitavecchia. The rooms are ample and the breakfast was great.

We took a taxi from the airport which was not the most inexpensive way to get there but it was quick and easy with our luggage. Natalia arranged a driver to take us to the port the following day as well.

The hotel is small and we found it to be very charming sitting between a piazza and the ocean. I could happily stay there for an extended period to explore and unwind. The view from the water side of the hotel was fantastic and exactly what we were hoping for. The piazza side was very charming but the vendors for the market start unloading their trucks very early in the morning.

Natalia recommended several restaurants for us depending on what we were looking for. We opted for La Piazzetta right next door. We had delicious fresh fish and grilled vegetables while the locals listened to the Lazio vs. Roma football match on a mobile phone. It felt very Italian in all of the good ways.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JPNewWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Marinella hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa delle Palme
Hotel Villa delle Palme
#1 of 13 in Santa Marinella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Il Gabbiano
Hotel Il Gabbiano
#3 of 13 in Santa Marinella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villino Gregoraci Relais
Villino Gregoraci Relais
#8 of 13 in Santa Marinella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Cavalluccio Marino
Hotel Cavalluccio Marino
#10 of 13 in Santa Marinella
3.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Portofina
Hotel Portofina
#6 of 13 in Santa Marinella
3.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Le Najadi
Hotel Le Najadi
#12 of 13 in Santa Marinella
3.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'isola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'isola

Property: Hotel L'isola
Address: Piazza Trieste 6, 00058, Santa Marinella, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Santa Marinella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Santa Marinella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel L'isola 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely hotel in the centre of town with sea view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel L'isola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel l Isola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing