We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Strandflickornas Havshotell
Nearby Hotels
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$175
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$197
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$192
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$162
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$158
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$94
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (152)
Filter reviews
152 results
Traveller rating
59
64
23
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
59
64
23
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmiso soupbathcabinswedenhostelwifi
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 152 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2013

I had booked one night for a short business-conference. It came out as a very good meeting. We were warned at the time of booking that there were renovation work going on, but that they tried hard not to disturb the guests. Well they succeeded, we could see work going on, quite substantial renovation and expansion, but we weren't really bothered. They waited with the hammering until we woke up in the morning. One carpenter working on a terrace outside my room actually asked through my open window how long I expected to sleep in the morning so he could plan his work.

The hotel itself is quoite something diifferent. It is run by, and staffed by women, all beautiful and smiling and extremely service-minded. The hotel is furnished and decorated old style, walking through rooms and corridors I kept thinking it looked like I was visiting my grandmother or and old aunt. Quite appropriate since it was run by women and named Strandflickorna (meaning "the Girls on the Beach").

We had a nice lunch in the hotel, but because of the renovation we were served dinner in an associated restaourant in the old town of Lysekil, 10 minutes walk from the hotel. It was a very nice seafood-dinner.

We had rooms in the main building furnished and decorated in the grandmother-style, but with facilities one would expect in a modern hotel-room. They also have a couple of cabins down by the sea, with private jacuzzi and one can jump from the terrace into the ocean for a swim, but hese were occupied at the time, so we didn't have a chance to see them.

From what I could see from the renovation-work, they will have more rooms of good standard and also the diningroom will be expanded.

The only thing I missed, was view to the sea. The building was separated from the sea by a small "mountain" obscuring the view, even though it was only about 50 meters away.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oddak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Unfortunately we spent only one night ,not in the right season in this beautiful village and the hotel had renovations,so lots of dust and at 7am we have been woke up by hammers and electric tools.When we booked we have been told that there might be some renovations,not massive as it was ,but in the future you will find certainly bigger rooms than ours,which had a 1.20 meter width bed with soft mattress and was so tiny that was hard to fit 2 luggages. The breakfast is fresh and good,the common areas beautifully decorated and the girls working there very nice!
The best is to sit outside among the rocks and garden terraces,look at the sea and sip a glass of wine or just a cup of tea or coffee which will be always available for you downstairs.

Room Tip: Ask for the renovated bedrooms on the side of the building ,one has wonderful wallpaper with birds cages ,the other has a pink/ red flower tapestry ,very English I would say.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lella P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

I was here on business and I'm sad to report this hotel is not really suited for business men.
The hotel is old and filled with charming features, but since it built in wood that makes the whole house come alive when it's windy outside as it has been the last two days, I had to change room because the wind and rain made it impossible to get any sleep the first night (seaside) the second night was better, but still woke up several times because of the wind howling in the window.
There is a tiny desktop to sit and work at with a wooden chair without cushion so after a while its not very comfortable. The TV is ancient 14 inch with 5 channels, so don't expect to watch TV here.
The bath room is very small with a shower, funny thing is they have a warning sign that the warm water is very hot, but only in Swedish, so I guess all non English speaking should just get burned.

The room it self is very small but charming in a "shabby chic" kind of style, but no room for suitcase and in bathroom no room for toilet articles.

The staff is very friendly and the surroundings are spectacular.

So I would definitely recommend this hotel if you are looking for a romantic get away with your sweetheart, but you might want to look else where if you are here on business.

Room Tip: Chose room away from the sea if you come here in a time of year with a lot of wind.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TegnerM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

We stayed in the most expensive "room", which is the "Bath Pavillion". It is located right on the water, and consist of a double room with bath etc, and a sauna. You have to climb over a rocky hill to get there, with staircases on either side. There was a small gale blowing when we arrived, which made it a bit of a challenge.

Right outside the pavillion is the most wonderful SPA/Jacuzzi I have ever seen. We used it twice; once in the evening under the full moon (yes, really), and once in the morning when the sun was rising. An incredible experience. Or two.

Strandflickorna (The Beach Girls) have a small dinner menu. We had an Italian Pie with red wine. Food was good; the wine list could do with a freshing up.

Breakfast was excellent. Service with a smile throughout!

Room Tip: If you want to climb up/down the the Bath Pavillion; take only the things you will need. You don't want to lug our suitcase(s) all the way.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HaarekNorwegian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We arrived at the hostel part of this hotel after a very long day and what a find!! We were given a room with three sets of bunkbeds. It was incredibly clean and the decor was lovely. Own loo and shower rooms, best shower of the whole trip. The staff were so genuinely helpful, it was incredibly refreshing. And we paid 850SEK plus 6 each for breakfast. We ate at the floating fish restaurant on the front and saw a seal bobbing in the harbour. OK would have been nice to have had a double instead of two of the bunk beds - but you can't have everything!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vj21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews