We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Cubanacan Mascotte
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
La Granjita(Santa Clara)
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel America(Santa Clara)
US$119
Elvoline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Los Caneyes(Santa Clara)
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Starfish Cayo Santa Maria(Cayo Santa Maria)(Great Value!)
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
galahotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Melia Las Dunas(Cayo Santa Maria)
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria(Cayo Santa Maria)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (87)
Filter reviews
87 results
Traveller rating
27
30
18
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
27
30
18
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall hoteltown squarenight's sleepbalconycharactercubadecemberplaza
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 87 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2013

This lovely hotel in the small village of Remedios has only a few rooms but is very well maintained with a lot of atmosphere. If you have the chance, go for room number 1, which is by far the largest with a direct view on the square. The receptionnist, Herman, speaks excellent English in addition to another number of languages and everyone is very helpful to provide some interesting information about the place. The same owner recently openened another 3 star hotel (Barcelona), a stone throw from the Mascotte hotel which is of comparable quality. The food is good and served in an intimate restaurant overlooking the square.

Room Tip: Room number 1!
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LWER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amaury A, Front Office Manager at Hotel Cubanacan Mascotte, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2016

Dear LWER:
We are really happy to acknowledge, through our customers’ words, how pleasant it could be to stay at our facilities and receive our services. Our staff is indeed ready to provide information about the town’s history and culture since they are all very proud of the great values treasured in their old village.
We hope other travelers may appreciate this first-hand information you are sharing with them and venture to visit this central area of our country.
Looking forward to welcoming you again in our hotel,

Ana L. Castañeda
Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Hotel Mascotte has a limited number (10) of rooms and is a good, clean small hotel on the main square in Remedios. Our room was fine but another couple on our tour complained about having very small windows in their room so you may want to watch out for that when booking. There is a long single staircase to the rooms on the first floor and no lift so be prepared for that. Because this is such a small hotel, our party of 10 all had dinner together and we had to let them know our meal choices on arrival - not a problem really. Make sure you visit the cathedral while you are there - it's well worth it to see the famous gilded screen and various other artefacts.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Fabulously huge room overlooking the square. Best shower in Cuba (hot, powerful and roomy). We arrived later than expected and worried that our rooom may have gone, but discovered we were the only ones staying there. We asked about where to eat and drink, but staff were very loyal to their own restaurant.. seafood and mojito were fine. Bar next door (yes, we did venture out for the nightlife)... Havana 7 1CUC each and good amount too!. Half a day in Remedios is more than enough but it is a good place for people watching and a quick visit to the church on the square via the back entrance.

Room Tip: Room 1 for space and brilliant shower
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hellij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

A pleasant surprise, a very nice and pleasant hotel. Very nice and friendly staff, rooms large and comfortable, very clean and good food in the hotel restaurant. Square side rooms have a lot of charm, however, it's better to choose a room from the opposing side or without balcony because when it rains, you may find that the whole room drains into the water flowing from the balcony down to the front door soaked everything along the way, if rains long time the whole room will be in the water.
Anyway this hotel is a very good choice in that place.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sumisia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

This hotel is located on the town square and is the most low key of our 4 city tour. We enjoyed this very much.We found paladar's in this city served excellent meals. The quantities were huge, far too much food for us. We drove to Cayo Santa Maria to look at the 5 star hotels, we preferred our small hotel much better. It gave you a "Cuban" experience

Room Tip: Room #1 is large overlooking the square
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews