We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding Reception”
Review of Hotel Mascotte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Mascotte
Ranked #12 of 17 Remedios B&B and Inns
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wedding Reception”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Thank you to the staff of Hotel Mascotte for a beautiful Wedding Reception. Our Wedding took place August 8 2013, and it accommodated a five-course meal for 60 guests. When planning a wedding in Cuba, food, location and comfort are the three things to make it successful....and Hotel Mascotte was the perfect choice for the reception. Located in the Square of Remedios, footsteps from La Iglesia de San Juan Bautista, this hotel is beautiful, clean, and perfect for anyone looking for an affordable stay, or for an under 60 guests reception. Although we did not stay overnight, I did visit the few rooms and they were wonderful. Thank you to the staff for making our day special and for accommodating the 23 Canadians.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amaury A, Director de Recepción at Hotel Mascotte, responded to this review, 21 November 2016
Dear Angie D:
We heartily appreciate your detailed review and recommendation. It was really a pleasure to assist you in the organization of your wedding reception at our hotel. We would like to continue offering services for special events like this, for which we have prepared our facilities and also our staff.
We would always be more than happy to host you at our hotel and offer you a nice relaxing stay within our relaxed environment.
Looking forward to seeing you soon,

Ana L. Castañeda
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    27
    16
    7
    5
See reviews for
6
53
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We didn't actually stay at this hotel, we just stopped here for a light bite. It is a beautiful hotel with a huge courtyard. This place is a gem compared to other places in Remedios.
The food was very good and the waitress was full of stories and told us a lot about the history of Cuba. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Buckers180283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amaury A, Front Office Manager at Hotel Mascotte, responded to this review, 26 December 2016
Dear Buckers180283:
It is a great pleasure to receive your kind review even when your experience in our facilities was pretty short. We would love to have you staying at our hotel so you may enjoy the charm of our historical building placed right in the center of the town facing the main square.
Thank you so much for your contribution. We hope to see you soon.
Ana L. Castañeda
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Me and my fiancé went to Remedios to visit our lovely Cuban friends.We were lucky to get room 1,and wow what a Veiw !!!The hotel was just beautiful and the staff totally amazing nothing was to much trouble.Fantastic breakfast and stunning surroundings. What more can you ask for? Can not recommend this hotel more.See you next year.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank donzamh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

This lovely hotel in the small village of Remedios has only a few rooms but is very well maintained with a lot of atmosphere. If you have the chance, go for room number 1, which is by far the largest with a direct view on the square. The receptionnist, Herman, speaks excellent English in addition to another number of languages and everyone is very helpful to provide some interesting information about the place. The same owner recently openened another 3 star hotel (Barcelona), a stone throw from the Mascotte hotel which is of comparable quality. The food is good and served in an intimate restaurant overlooking the square.

Room Tip: Room number 1!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LWER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amaury A, Front Office Manager at Hotel Mascotte, responded to this review, 26 December 2016
Dear LWER:
We are really happy to acknowledge, through our customers’ words, how pleasant it could be to stay at our facilities and receive our services. Our staff is indeed ready to provide information about the town’s history and culture since they are all very proud of the great values treasured in their old village.
We hope other travelers may appreciate this first-hand information you are sharing with them and venture to visit this central area of our country.
Looking forward to welcoming you again in our hotel,

Ana L. Castañeda
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
489 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Hotel Mascotte has a limited number (10) of rooms and is a good, clean small hotel on the main square in Remedios. Our room was fine but another couple on our tour complained about having very small windows in their room so you may want to watch out for that when booking. There is a long single staircase to the rooms on the first floor and no lift so be prepared for that. Because this is such a small hotel, our party of 10 all had dinner together and we had to let them know our meal choices on arrival - not a problem really. Make sure you visit the cathedral while you are there - it's well worth it to see the famous gilded screen and various other artefacts.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
95 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Fabulously huge room overlooking the square. Best shower in Cuba (hot, powerful and roomy). We arrived later than expected and worried that our rooom may have gone, but discovered we were the only ones staying there. We asked about where to eat and drink, but staff were very loyal to their own restaurant.. seafood and mojito were fine. Bar next door (yes, we did venture out for the nightlife)... Havana 7 1CUC each and good amount too!. Half a day in Remedios is more than enough but it is a good place for people watching and a quick visit to the church on the square via the back entrance.

Room Tip: Room 1 for space and brilliant shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hellij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sopot, Poland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

A pleasant surprise, a very nice and pleasant hotel. Very nice and friendly staff, rooms large and comfortable, very clean and good food in the hotel restaurant. Square side rooms have a lot of charm, however, it's better to choose a room from the opposing side or without balcony because when it rains, you may find that the whole room drains into the water flowing from the balcony down to the front door soaked everything along the way, if rains long time the whole room will be in the water.
Anyway this hotel is a very good choice in that place.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sumisia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Remedios
50.5 mi away
Hotel Los Helechos
Hotel Los Helechos
#7 of 11 in Trinidad
3.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
37.1 mi away
Ocean Casa del Mar
Ocean Casa del Mar
#11 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
55.7 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.4 mi away
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
#1 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,963 reviews
33.6 mi away
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
#3 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,332 reviews
34.1 mi away
Starfish Cayo Santa Maria
Starfish Cayo Santa Maria
#8 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mascotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mascotte

Property: Hotel Mascotte
Address: Maximo Gomez 114, Remedios 52700, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Villa Clara Province > Remedios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Remedios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mascotte 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Mascotte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing