We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Beutiful Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Barcelona

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Remedios
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Barcelona
Ranked #6 of 14 Remedios B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Beutiful Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

The hotel is stunning to look at outside and inside. The room is large with a balcony view. The facilities in the room were quite basic, particularly as the shower was hanging precariously on the wall; the room did require some upgrading. The food was fairly average. The ground level floor in the open foyer at the back needs to be clearly marked as it rises a couple of inches around the square. I had tripped here with full force on my lip and leg but did not seek medical attention. The staff were very friendly, courteous and polite.

Room Tip: Excellent Hotel; watch out for the floor at the back of the foyer as it rises a couple of inches aro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miro P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amaury A, Front Office Manager at Hotel Barcelona, responded to this review, 27 September 2016
Dear Miro P:
We heartily appreciate your pointing out those features of our hotel you have really enjoyed even though your experience was not exactly perfect.
We are focusing on our customers’ comments since they constitute a great help for us to orient our efforts and achieve our guests full satisfaction. Our rooms will be upgraded pretty soon and our gastronomic services are being revised and improved, especially the food variety.
Looking forward to being, once again, your hosts in Remedios in the near future,

Ana L. Castañeda
Public Relations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    57
    37
    9
    6
See reviews for
14
77
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK/France
Level Contributor
67 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Sister hotel to the long established Hotel Mascotte in the same town, which opened in 2012. A nice open and airy lobby greeted us on a hot Sunday afternoon when we rolled into town, the manager on duty was welcoming and helpful but a bit stressed because he could not locate our pre-paid reservation and apologetically had to ask us to pay a cash deposit to secure the room until the offices opened on Monday and our payment tracked down.

The hotel has a wonderful Spanish-style patio (internal courtyard) and 3 floors (no lift). Rooms were comfortable and well equipped with safe box,hair-dryer, good air con and decent bathrooms. Location is great right on the main square.

Finding a good meal in this small and non-touristy town proved a challenge so we ate at the hotel, disappointing and very expensive for Cuba. But they had a reasonable bottle of imported Spanish wine which helped things down a bit!

Breakfast was something of a disaster - we came down after a coach party had just finished eating and there was very little left to choose from on the buffet and no rush to bring anything else out. We thought we might be offered something "a la carte" but were left just to pick at the left-overs.

But overall we loved our stay, the manager who had all the problems checking us in went out of his way to make us feel welcome, even bringing his 1959 Ford Consul to the hotel for us to admire when he found we were English. He was also very helpful in finding us somewhere to park our rental car overnight.

Remedios can be seen in half a day but is worth a visit for its authentic feel, the wonderful church (with the unusual pregnant Madonna statue) and the "mujer-arana" (spider-woman) statue in the Carnival museum.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CJ_Zanahoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amaury A, Front Office Manager at Hotel Barcelona, responded to this review, 27 September 2016
Dear CJ_Zanahoria:
Thank you so much for porting your kind review.
We heartily appreciate your pointing out those features of our hotel you have really enjoyed even though your experience was not exactly perfect.
Taking into consideration our guests’ opinions, especially regarding the gastronomic services, we are orienting our efforts towards improving our food variety and quality and also, a more dynamic service.
Looking forward to being, once again, your hosts in Remedios in the near future,

Ana L. Castañeda
Public Relations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

This hotel was a surprise when you look at the surroundings, Remedios is a small town in need of improvement but has a cuban charm.
The hotel is relatively new, it has been converted from an old building.The rooms are large and comfortable with decent bathrooms.There are 3 floors but no lift so if you are disabled you need to ask for a lower floor room.The porter will carry your bags to your room.The rooms all overlook the pretty inside courtyard.The entrance / bar /lobby would look better if the nice sofas on the first floor seating area were used instead of the current furniture being used , it would give a better impression when you enter the hotel.The staff were friendly and helpfull but the bar staff could be a bit slow at times.The drinks though were cheap and occasionally they can out of beers, but they did get some from their sister hotel.The evening meal was not bad for Cuba, but breakfast is basic.If they could improve the food then I would give the hotel 4 stars.
The church is worth a visit.You can get a real sense of rural cuba if you have a wonder round the streets, first thing in the morning.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony as the other rooms don't have windows, only shutter that can open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amaury A, Director de Recepción at Hotel Barcelona, responded to this review, 22 October 2016
Dear Nigel V:
We very much appreciate your honest review on our hotel. Our guests’ comments constitute some valuable help to orient our efforts in the constant process of improving services.
We would always be very pleased to welcome you back and offer you our hospitality.
Best Regards,

Ana L. Castañeda
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Charming hotel in the main square set around a courtyard. A newer edition of its sister hotel,
the nearby Mascotte. Although some of the ground floor rooms are windowless they are well equipped with large bathrooms but do have a damp and musty smell.
The food is not so good - better at the Mascotte. Breakfast very sparse with little choice.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank footlooseski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amaury A, Director de Recepción at Hotel Barcelona, responded to this review, 22 October 2016
Dear footlooseski:
Thank you so much for your honest review. We appreciate your stay has not been exactly as expected and yet you praised our good features. We pay very close attention to all our guests’ opinions since they certainly help us organize our service in a way our customers may feel more satisfied. Yours are really valuable.
It would always be a pleasure to be your hosts in Remedios.
Looking forward to your next visit,

Ana L. Castañeda
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
288 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

Stayed for 1 night as part of a Kuoni tour and the room was OK if you like dark brown everything including the water. The food was very random with reduced sugar peach jam as a starter for the evening meal! Breakfast was trial and error with many visits to the kitchen to get milk and food. Has potential but work needed.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrsheathershaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amaury A, Director de Recepción at Hotel Barcelona, responded to this review, 22 October 2016
Dear Mrsheathershaw:
We are sorry your stay has not been exactly as expected. We have indeed worked in all those aspects you have pointed out in your review, which has translated into more satisfied customers. Thank you so much for your contribution!
We heartily hope you give us, in the near future, another opportunity to serve you as our guest.
Best regards,

Ana L. Castañeda
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

Remedios is a small and poor town so expectations need to be adjusted accordingly. With that in mind, this hotel was ok - you're not exactly spoilt for choice anyway.
There was a large cockroach in our room and the food was very basic, but the staff were friendly and tried their best.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderlustfulJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amaury A, Front Office Manager at Hotel Barcelona, responded to this review, 14 November 2016
Dear wanderlustfulJL
Much to our regret your experience at our hotel was not as pleasant as expected. Be certain that we always pay close attention to our customers’ opinions and suggestions since we consider them some valuable help for our daily work.
We would really appreciate your giving us another opportunity to serve you and offer you a nicely memorable stay.
Best regards,

Ana L. Castañeda
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Its true that Remedios is not a big city or full of atraction but This hotel is what every person wants to find when going in vacation. People who work in this hotel from the reception to the people responsible for cleaning are extremely polite , friendly and charm , ready to help when needed. Food is very well prepared, there was a good variety of dishes, and the staff is very accommodating and competent. I travel with my five year old son and all workers in the hotel were very accommodating and kind to my son. The rooms are large and are them extremely clean with plenty of towels. A/C , I visited other hotels in Varadero , Cuba and they were not even close to this hotel and I had many complaints about them. The hotel is in the city center within walking distance and has a shop. I recommend it to anyone visiting the northern coast.

Room Tip: Internal rooms are more quieter, rooms with valconies are more noise but they have a beautiful view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ososa770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amaury A, Front Office Manager at Hotel Barcelona, responded to this review, 14 November 2016
Dear ososa770:
We have so much enjoyed reading your review!
Thank you so much for this spontaneous advertisement you have made of our facilities and services.
We heartily hope you give us, some time, another opportunity to serve you and offer you another memorable experience.
Best regards,

Ana L. Castañeda
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Remedios
55.6 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad
186.4 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 77 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,329 reviews
187.6 mi away
Melia Cohiba
Melia Cohiba
#3 of 77 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sol Hotel
Sol Hotel
#5 of 7 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.0 mi away
A Peace of Paradise
A Peace of Paradise
#1 of 1 in Praslin Quarter
5.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
33.6 mi away
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
#3 of 13 in Cayo Santa Maria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barcelona

Property: Hotel Barcelona
Address: Jose A. Pena # 67 e / La Pastora y Antonio Maceo, Remedios 52700, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Villa Clara Province > Remedios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Remedios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Barcelona 3*
Number of rooms: 24

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing