We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderland!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Borgo a Mozzano
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Catureglio Casa Vacanza
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Our son and his fiancé chose to have their wedding at this wonderful villa. The wedding was a Hindu ceremony as our daughter-in-law is from Indian descent. With the assistance of Kate and Richard from the villa, the complex ceremonies went without a hitch over the three days. This was no mean feat as about 100 guests were included from England, USA and Europe and with different cultural backgrounds.
The villa, cottages and chapel within the grounds are all beautiful with very high standards of sensitively restored and beautifully presented accommodation. The gorgeous surroundings and views make for a very romantic setting for a wedding and the buildings remain cool inside without the aid of air conditioning due to the stone construction and deep window reveals. Extra cooling can be had through use of the two immaculate swimming pools.
For those interested, Richard is knowledgeable on the history of the building, which is quite fascinating.
The surrounding towns of Lucca, Pisa, Florence and the coast are all within reasonable driving distances and are well worth visiting.
Our thanks go to Kate, who organised the wedding and Richard who organised supplies and services needed in support. No requests seemed to much for either to deal with including the provision and erection of a timber frame for the Mandap (basically a stage for the enactment of the Hindu ceremony) for decoration by the family.
Altogether a fabulous experience which will never be forgotten by all those in attendance.
Thank you Villa Catureglio!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
There are newer reviews for Catureglio Casa Vacanza
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

I was at a wonderful family wedding at Catureglio and it was fabulous from start to finish. we arrived on a Wednesday and left on a Sunday. We had a really relaxing and enjoyable time. The atmosphere, food company and music were all outstanding. We stayed in one of the cottages and the accommodation was very comfortable. It was set out over 3 floors and had 3 spacious bedrooms one which was ensuite. The buildings are really old and the windows have shutters which open to reveal the lovely countryside. We had a veranda and a garden with a swing and lovely flowers. There were two swimming pools and the whole place is stunning. We walked to the town which took about 15 minutes down the old donkey track. The town is great with a large swimming pool in the centre and a very interesting museum about the Gothic line from WW2. The devils bridge is also worth a visit. The deli next to the supermarket is excellent for cooked chickens etc.

I could not recommend this place highly enough we didn't want to leave!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArdMhacha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

This was the most superb wedding venue; up in the hills with stunning views. The venue is classic Italian with wonderful accommodation. The wedding ceremony took place on the front lawn surrounded by lemon trees and the Italian Feast eaten on the rear lawn under fairy lights with a backdrop of the up- lighted stone walls of the venue one side and lush mountains on the other.
Kate who organises the house and wedding is extraordinary- a lovely person who is able to combine professional efficiency with a calm, happy and positive personality. We all loved her.
The food was superb- both at the wedding and the breakfasts on the three mornings we were there.
The wedding began on the Friday with a pizza (made in the ancient outdoor ovens) and Prosecco party, the wedding day and then the Sunday night we all went to a restaurant in Borgo a Mezzano.
Each accommodation area had its own kitchen and sitting rooms so everyone could relax. There are also two swimming pools.
The weekend wedding was totally wonderful in every respect. I couldn't recommend it more highly

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We were married here in May of 2013 and could not have had a better experience. The venue is superb from the villa itself with the grand kitchen and lobby, to the extravagant rooms in the villa to all the rooms & facilities in the apartments and the 2 pools. Absolutely spectacular grounds and views over the valley kept in superb condition by Richard, George and their team.

Kate was exceptionally well organised and very supportive with all the wedding preparations including assistance with the locale commune, caterer, the flowers, the local wine suppliers and including helping rescue a lost suit in Rome.

We had an incredible day/week while all our friends and family were there where some amazing memories were made. We look forward to going back in a few years time for an anniversary or a birthday. Absolutley 5 stars and then some!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spurzynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We got married here at the end of August and it's only fair to say that it blew our already very high expectations out of the water. The setting is breathtaking, the accommodations are top notch and the staff are incredibly helpful and went above and beyond too many times to count over the course of for days. Anyone wanting a wedding to be remembered for many years needs to consider this place very seriously. The managers, Kate and Richard, specifically made out wedding so stress free and magical. What a brilliant bunch of people all round! We'll be back for holidays and anniversaries many more times. Thanks everyone at Caterglio!!! We miss you already.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jogregson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

The most breathtaking villa in a beautiful setting, we couldn't have asked for a more amazing wedding week. The villa is located about 30 minutes from Lucca and benefits from the feeling Catureglio is the only place in the whole valley. The night of the wedding, we had music blaring until 4am without any complaints from the surrounding locals.

The main villa and the smaller farmhouses are decorated beautifully by maintaining the rustic feel but with all the comforts of modern appliances and wifi. From the moment our guests arrived, they were all overwhelmed by the venue as the photos rarely do it justice.

Key to the fun and relaxation was having Kate and Richard onsite to help manage the week-long celebrations seamlessly. We had 35 friends and family staying onsite and a further 60 guest staying locally. Kate arranged breakfast goods for all onsite guests upon arrival, a venue for welcome drinks in Lucca, all the legal marriage processes, the actual wedding day as well as a pizza maker and gelato on the recovery day. Kate took the stress out of planning our wedding and she was an absolute pleasure to work with.

We would recommend Catureglio to anyone looking for a relaxed destination wedding which allows flexibly to make it your own.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

What a wedding!

We were privileged to be a part of friends' wedding at this wonderful villa

It is a long way from home in Australia, but it was a wedding none of us will ever forget

What a wedding! What a setting!

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank jamesmW3102FS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borgo a Mozzano
0.0 mi away
Villa Catignano
Villa Catignano
#5 of 40 in Castelnuovo Berardenga
165 reviews
0.0 mi away
Borgo Giusto
Borgo Giusto
#1 of 5 in Borgo a Mozzano
532 reviews
0.0 mi away
Terre di Nano
Terre di Nano
#5 of 62 in Pienza
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Casa Cornacchi Country House
0.0 mi away
Castello di Meleto
Castello di Meleto
#3 of 37 in Gaiole in Chianti
391 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Le Piazzole
Villa Le Piazzole
#163 of 654 in Florence
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catureglio Casa Vacanza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catureglio Casa Vacanza

Address: Borgo a Mozzano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Borgo a Mozzano
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Borgo a Mozzano
Also Known As:
Catureglio Casa Vacanza Borgo a Mozzano, Italy - Province Of Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing