We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (62)
Filter reviews
62 results
Traveller rating
38
16
5
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
38
16
5
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nice apartments quiet place the owner flowers greece
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 62 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Sunny garden is a nice property consisting of 2 2-storey buildings. The ground floor apartments have a terrace in the gardens, the first floor apartments on the east side, where I stayed, have a large balcony with sea view. The location is nice, between orange trees and very close to a small beach with a tavern that serves I think only during daytime. Ancient Epidavros is close, it's a 20 minutes walk to the harbour, but you can borrow one of the bikes for faster transport. It's is a very nice village, not to many tourist and very relaxed.
The apartment I stayed in, with two seperate beds, was fairly basic, but clean and cosy. The kitchen was poorly equipped, making brewing a cup of tea a challenge, and some minor things, like a lamp, were broken.
Sunny garden serves breakfast. It was not very busy during my stay, so I was served breakfast by the owner himself, with loads of fresh pressed orange juice, bread, eggs, yoghurt and coffee. Very good quality! The owner can also provide you with tourist information and tips where to eat. The manager runs the place well, but her English is a little poor.
Overall, I think Sunny Garden is a nice place to stay when visiting this region. The poor Tripadvisor rating does not do it justice. I do not recognize some of the reviews posted below and I would certainly recommend this place if you like a quiet stay and are not to much in search of luxury.

Room tip: First floor on the east side has a nice view, but if you want to do some cooking, ask, because not all kitchens are equally equipped.
Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

This establishment is a complex of nice, spacious apartments set in orange trees and gardens.

Unfortunately, the place is incompetently run: When we checked in, it took a while to round up somebody to check us in. The person that did check us in didn't do anything about checking the reservation, asking us for passports. Instead she talked to some one on the phone then led us to a room. Just as we were settling in and I was about to step into the shower, we were told we had been given the wrong room and had to vacate immediately. This despite the party who were supposed to be in our room saying they would take another room.

Once settled into our room, and were showered and dressed to drive the 18 km to the Ancient Greek Theater in the Epidaurus Archeological site, for dinner nearby and then an Aristophanes play performance, we had to change plans due to the delays getting into our correct room. There were signs to their "Cafe Bar" so we went there hoping to get a quick light meal before the theater and have a late dinner afterwards. We were informed that they didn't serve food.

I have nothing good to say about the management of this place. Physically it is noce and they have put a lot of money into creating nice apartments. Too bad they have no idea how to run their joint nor how to provide minimal levels of advertised services.

Also, be aware that the hotel is in fact 18 km away from the Epidaurus Archeological site. However there appear to be nop hotels very close to the site.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

The stuff was very friendly and the location was perfect, near the beach in a place full of oranges trees. The studio that weve stayed was very spacious with a fully equipped kitchen

Date of stay: July 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Kwstas_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2010

Sunny Garden consists of two small blocks of apartments over two levels and is located about 15 minutes level walk from the centre of Epidavros about 50 yards from the beach and the nearest taverna (not open in the evening when we were there). It is set in spacious gardens set amongst orange groves. Sunny Garden is located almost at the end of a dead-end single track road and so is very very quiet most of the time (and especially at night).

Angie, the Romanian manager / cleaner / gardener etc. couldn't have been more helpful. The apartments are owned by George who also has two small hotels in Epidavros and so he leaves Angie to pretty much run things at Sunny Garden.

We had a twin bedded studio which was very spacious by Greek standards, incorporating a sofa, coffee table, dining table and TV. Outside was a large veranda with a table and a very large sun umbrella. Upstairs apartments have sea views.

When we were there (in May), Angie cleaned and serviced the studio every day (much to our surprise).

Overall, we liked it so much, that having originally booked for 4 nights, we stayed for 10.

As I said the gardens are spacious and include a bar area where you can take breakfast if you wish.

There are also push-bikes for guests to use (free), but these were a bit knackered.

Unlike many of the other apartments to the south of Epidavros, Sunny Garden IS within easy walking distance of the centre of Epidavros and so tavernas are in easy reach for dinner. Others, such as Yialasi are a good 40 minutes walk.

Haven't included any photos as there are plenty on the owner's website (just search for Sunny Garden Epidavros).

Date of stay: May 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank eBatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews