We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely wonderful - the perfect escape.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of High Groves Estate

Frontal view of Manor House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Frontal view of Manor House
Manor house and pool View of the sea from picnic area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
Frontal view of Manor House
Manor house and pool
View of the sea from picnic area
Loggia
Pool
Poolside
Bedroom view
View of estate valley
Pool and valley
New colt
Loggia and veranda at dusk
Her master bathroom
Kitchen
A filly named Friday
Home theater and billiards room
Bird sanctuary
Courtyard
Black ram among the sheep
Ancient olive tree
Theater at Epidavros
Our local fishing village of ancient Epidavros
Poolside at dusk
Guinea fowl
Garden Bench
Poolside
Veranda Vista
Garden Walkway
Sunlight streams into the Den
Master Dressing Room
Drawing Room and its massive fireplace
Dining Room
Master Bedroom
Rosemary Bedroom  with exposed beam ceiling
North Bedroom
One of several Kid's Bedrooms
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
9 Bedrooms, 10 Bathrooms, Sleeps 22
Epidavros, Argolis Region, Peloponnese

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
John J
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Absolutely wonderful - the perfect escape.”
Reviewed 29 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

In every detail High Groves is the ideal holiday retreat for the bigger group. In our case we were celebrating our Golden Wedding anniversary with our children and grandchildren (a party of 19 of very mixed ages from 73 to 1 year olds) and we wanted something special to mark the event. None of us will ever forget the week of indulgent pleasure. Not only are the facilities all we hoped for (and more!) from a spacious, well-furnished villa on a grand scale but we hadn't anticipated just how special the services would be from Monica, the cook for whom nothing was too much trouble, even when we said we wouldn't need a lunch and then arrived home hungry! (She spirited a meal from nowhere!) But we were also delightfully surprised by the other staff - an assistant cook, two housekeepers who serviced our rooms daily and a very friendly man who did everything from looking after the large and immaculate pool, showing us all around the farm to washing our five cars every day!
Thank you everyone involved with this very special week which will go down in our family's history.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality, location, facilities, service
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2016
We are thrilled that you Golden anniversary at The High Groves was a special time and hope to see you for your 60th.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sbest4
Fredericksburg, Virginia
1 review
“Beautiful Estate. Beautiful people.”
Reviewed 16 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

My family of 12 had the pleasure of staying at this beautiful estate, with the most wonderful staff. We had some problems at the airport, so we had a late start heading to the estate. We had a difficult time finding the property, so we had to call Monika the cook to get help. The grounds keeper at the estate ending up coming to get us at 1am in the morning and escorted us to the property. The house keepers showed up and heated up our dinner, that Monika had prepared for our arrival earlier that day. The staff was so accomadating and friendly. So what started out as a frustrating trip quickly turned around with the help of such a wonderful team.
Monika prepared such delicious meals everyday. She took us to a festival in her village, which we met such wonderful, kind people.
The views from the estate were breathtaking. The estate itself was warm and spacious. The pool was a hit.
We had a wonderful time.
When we visit Greece again,we will be sure to stay at High Groves Estate.
S. Best

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter B
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“High Praise for High Groves”
Reviewed 26 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This property is accessed along a long and bumpy track which needs care but once there it is beautiful , wonderfully peaceful and with stunning views. It is perfect for large parties (we were 11 adults and 6 children).
The main bedrooms have lovely views and are bright an spacious. The bedrooms for the children were in the basement and so had no views but were adequate with good air conditioning and their own bathrooms. Also on this level there is a cinema room and snooker table, good for when our children had had enough sun.
The property also has a large sitting room, a dining room and a snug with a television. There is also a good kitchen but we employed the services of " the wonderful" Monica who did all our shopping and the cooking which really made the holiday.
Outside there is a large shady terrace where we took our meals and from there stairs descend to another terrace where the large swimming pool is situated. This has a paved area with sun umbrellas and a large grass area for the children to play. The whole property is surrounded by the farm and it is possible to arrange farm tours to see the animals.
The property is cleaned daily by a team of ladies and the pool is cleaned regularly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location. Monica, the wonderful cook.
Liked least: Wifi was intermitent
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uconnp72
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
“Enjoyable Week”
Reviewed 19 August 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed with a group of 12 and we had plenty of room and enjoyed eating on the patio with a beautiful view of the property. Paniote(sorry spelling) and all the staff were very nice and accomodating. Monica was great and thanks for having your husband take us to Metohi for the ferry ride to Hydra. Also from the house we did many 1 day trips to various towns and ancient sites. Lastly the Greek people are super nice and make every effort to interact !

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BritAbroa...
Bushey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Truly wonderful break - jaw-dropping villa - if you can find it!”
Reviewed 13 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Just come back with the clan (all 15 of us) from a special week at High Groves Estate.

What a wonderful place, in a beautiful setting. We had three generations of the family – from 6 years to nearly 70. We all had a wonderful, relaxing time and were spoilt rotten.

Arrival

Directions are provided from Athens airport (but USE SATNAV WITH THE COORDINATES!!!). It takes about 2 hours. Most of the journey involves travelling on two major toll roads (have your euros at the ready). As you approach, the directions provided will tell you to turn right at a sign for "Old Epidavros". This is wrong! It should tell you to turn right at the sign for "New Epidavros." Mum and dad were lost for over an hour!

Towards the end of the journey, you need to turn right at the Sun sign. Tip 1 – add the sign as a "Favourite" into your Satnav – saves a lot of aggravation later. Tip 2 – first time around, do this trip during day-light hours. Ironically, it's virtually impossible to find the sun sign in the dark.

The gravel path is about 2 miles long. It's pretty horrendous to drive on – it will take at least 10 – 15 minutes to navigate your way through the pot holes. Our party of 4 cars got one tyre puncture – we felt we'd got away with it.

The villa, Monica and her team – and food

On arriving, the brilliant Monica and her team showed us around. High Groves is a very large Tuscan villa. All bedrooms have goodish aircon and are comfortably furnished and clean. Mosquito screens stop most of the scratching. Each room also has an ensuite bathroom. The hot water runs out occasionally, although it was so hot outside, this was not a problem.

The cinema room and modest gym are really good facilities to have on site.

The pool is magnificent, well heated, largely wasp free, in beautiful surroundings.

There are two lounge areas, including one with satellite TV. The dining area fitted all 15 of us in comfort. There is also a beautiful eating area outdoors with tables and chairs for 15+.

Monica and her team cooked us delicious traditional Greek food (no shortage of Greek olive oil!), poured the local rosé, and showed us the local sites. When we could tempt ourselves away from Monica's cooking we regularly ate at Ippokampos (210 59 Epidavros). This seafront restaurant fed us the freshest red mullet, cod, anchovies, sardines, and also serves excellent meat dishes and pizza.

Moura (The Mulberry Tree) was also a standout restaurant, with a spectacular view. Details are in the welcome information.

We also took a drive to the Amphitheatre in Epidavros. Well worth the 30 minute drive.

Finally, the team took 10 of us on a jeep ride through acres of farmland, stopping to show us the wild horses, to pick figs from the tree, to point out the pomegranates and olives, and generally to drive us through the beautiful countryside.

Prices and the economy

We took cash with us and found the prices on the cheap side for food and drink (even with 23% VAT having recently been added). Certainly much cheaper than Tuscany.

Whilst not doubting the difficult situation the Greeks are in, it wasn't apparent to us as tourists. People were universally incredibly nice. Banks, cash machines and shops were open. People were getting on with their lives.

All in all a fabulous holiday. I'd have scored it 5 had the villa been slightly more accessible, perhaps within walking distance of one or two restaurants and bars.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luxdiver
nyc
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Marvelous Christmas and New Year's at High Grove”
Reviewed 13 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Let me just say, I had my doubts.

I've lived in Greece and have traveled the country extensively. So I know to be wary of "high end" properties, especially hotels. We've rented luxury villas in Greece as well (Kea, Santorini, Marathon) which were fairly fine to varying degrees.

We've also rented villas throughout the Caribbean (Mustique, St. Lucia, Mexico, Statia, Guanaja,etc.), so we have a pretty good idea of what a luxury villa is supposed to offer.

High Groves exceeded these expectations.

The photos do not do it justice. Really.

First, the delightful staff, who kept the house spotless, the ginormous fire roaring and the dining room filled with a lot of happy people. Par for the course you say? Well, we had an ever changing roster of 18 people. We made a spread sheet to keep track of it all. At one point we had 7 (SEVEN!) children ranging from morose teen to barely crawling. I wouldn't have lasted 20 minutes under those working conditions. Thank goodness they liked kids. And kid toys -- everywhere and I mean everywhere. So they definitely get the long suffering award of 2014/15. They are also connected, so if you want fresh fish or a need a doctor to come and check out a feverish child, all can be arranged.

Quick note, the cook (the most Excellent Monika) is an add on. Add on, I suggest, if for her pies alone. There is also a super nice babysitter that can be called in, as well as a much enjoyed massage therapist.

The estate really is an estate (this is unusual for Greece; most farms are quite small), with 3 tamed (is that the term?) horses and 14 "wild" horses roaming about, a bunch of pure bred dogs (I know I am supposed to know what sort of fancy breed they are, but, sorry, you are out of luck. You can visit them, but they won't come up to the house), a encyclopedia of fowl, etc. We were there over olive picking time -- interesting to watch -- which can only be done by hand in Greece (which is why Greece produces 70% of the world's extra virgin oil -- and then sells it to Italy for excessive mark up). Their vineyards produce a most decent rose -- cases of which were taken home by guests for later consumption.

The views are Spectacular, with nothing to mar the vista (no coal burning plant in the valley throwing up plumes of smoke, for example, as is the case in Arkadia and Amorgos; no hideous housing complexes,; no "accidentally" burned forests). Just 360 degrees of lovely mountainous nature. Divine. Peaceful.

The first days were quite warm, so we were able to eat and hang outside. The outside area is much more extensive than how it appears in the photos. In any case, I can see how it would be a lovely place to stay in the summer as well. Big pool, too.

So, the layout. The entrance leads to a long hall. On one side is the master suite (2 baths, dressing area, bedroom). On the other the hall leads to one huge and one medium living room, the kitchen (hardcore) and the dining room. At the entrance is the staircase which leads upstairs to four large, airy, beautifully furnished bedrooms with ensuite baths, some with balconies. Next to the staircase is a door which opens to reveal another staircase leading down, where there are two more nice bedrooms with baths, the movie room, the laundry room, the garage and two more smaller but fine bedrooms (one has no windows; we stuck kids there).

The furniture is solid, sort of of-the-manor born. What I appreciated was the utter lack of knick-knacks. Clean and uncluttered, but with everything you could want. Maybe this is because I warned the owner (a dream to deal with) of the impending invasion of children.

A few cons (depending on your point of view). This place is Brigadoon hard to find, GPS coordinates would be helpful -- I meant to do it but forgot. On the other hand, this place is hard to find! If you want to be in the thick of it, this ain't for you. It is centrally located for convenient visits to various important archaeological sites, about 1/2 hour to the sea and 45 minutes to Napflion, AKA the Tryst capital of Greece. Worth a visit for the beauty of the town and the excellent gelato (the town has Venetian influences). The road leading to the estate is dirt, so I don't think I'd attempt it at 2AM after a night at the bars. But then, I don't want to attempt bars at 2AM. The floors are tile, so sounds reverberate, especially the sounds of wailing children. I'd hang a thick curtain in the bedroom entrance of the master suite to cut noise -- or move upstairs where it is quiet. Our only mishap was running out of gas for the stove on New Year's Eve. A chef friend wanted to cook and this entailed using every available burner on a professional Gartner-like stove. It ran out at 10PM and the poor staff was called in (not my idea, I was overruled) to fix it.

In short, this is a spectacular villa, in an amazing setting with a dedicated and competent staff. We had a wonderful time and hope to return again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfortable house, the amazing views, the fact that it is a working farm
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jan 2015
We are thrilled to have served and pleased your group, and hope to see you again soon. I have GPS coordinates for the next visitors. Thanks for letting us host you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing