We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location”
Review of Ice Hotel Romania

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fagaras
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ice Hotel Romania
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fagaras
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Cannot fault Untravelled Paths for their organisation and customer service. Do not usually book a package holiday and am an independent traveller but thought Romania may need some guidance. A stay at the ice hotel was affordable and if it's something you've always wanted to do I would thoroughly recommend doing it here although in the cabin do not expect any normal levels of customer service or a range of menu options. Stunning views on the mountain, Sighisoara is a beautiful medieval city and Romania a fascinating, off the beaten track place to visit.

Room Tip: At the cabin... as far away from the toilets as possible
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amandat2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (308)
There are newer reviews for Ice Hotel Romania
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 308 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2013

A stay at an ice hotel has always been on our wish list but has always been a bit expensive for us. We heard about the transylvania ice hotel and after a few emails with Di decided to book with Secret Transylvania. We flew into Tirgu Mures airport which is the closest to the ice hotel, as we didnt want the 6 hour transfer from Bucharest. We went via Sigisoara (where the real dracula was born) to their lovely accomodation near Sibiu. We had fantastic home cooked food and a night in the Lancaster Bomber bar. Next day we went to the ice hotel, and it was everything i had wished for. Dazzling sunshine, sledging, skidoo and jez kindly showed us through a road tunnel to check the views on the other side. We hadnt booked a meal in the ice hotel and enquired when we got there and it was only 30 pounds so it is well worth it for the experience. The food is very good and the bar prices are very cheap too. The ice hotel rooms are very nice, each slightly different to the next and we both slept well in the very good sleeping bags they provide. Admin wise, secret transylvania have everything very well organised, we left our bags in the room jez booked for us to use, and we could use the shower etc. In the morning we had breakfast in the main hotel and back to the village via cable car. Jez and Di organised the rest of the day for us in the luxury spa in sibiu (£20). We both had a hot rock massage and warmed up in the sauna, steam room and lovely pool. If you dont want a spa there is plenty to do in and around Sibiu that jez and di can lay on for you. That night we ate in the best restaurant in Sibiu. All meals apart from the ice hotel were included so we hardly spent any money. Next day was a trip to Bran castle and then the night flight direct to Luton. I would like to say thanks to Di, Jez, and Nelutzu for making this trip such a fantastic experience. We have certainly had our eyes opened to this part of the europe and are definitely hoping to return in the summer.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peaches222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Having Travelled around the world we wanted something different so decided to go to Romania. We went in February 2013 for a 7 night stay booked through Untravelled Paths I have three little words WOW WOW WOW!! The whole experience was amazing. From the moment we arrived in Romania Untravelled Paths had everything in hand, the transport was superb and the hotels were a good standard, truly value for money. Our trip consisted of a 2 night stay in Bucharest, 1 night stay in Brasov, 1 night stay in the Ice hotel and 3 nights stay in the ski resort Poianna Brasov. The Ice Hotel in a one off experience not to be missed, the cable car ride upto the mountain provided some stunning views whilst the ice hotel itself was an amazing experience. The ski resort was excellent, definitely a recommendation for a few days skiing. We found the Romanian people to be friendly and helpful and at all times felt safe whilst getting around. The food was of a very high standard, we ate mostly in the restaurants recommended by Untravelled Paths and wasn’t disappointed, very good value for money. A bit of advice would be if you are going to Romania book make sure you book with Untravelled Paths it can be quite tricky to navigate around without pre-booking!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deborah m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

This was certainly an unusual and memorable trip to make. We booked a four day venture with Untravelled Paths, which was very well organised from start to finish. The ice hotel was certainly an experience, as was the cable car up into the solitude of the mountains. The staff at the hotel could certainly improve on their personal skills, but the guides were helpful, informed and friendly, and there was little concern over personal safety.

The days trips were enjoyable, but more importantly this was about experiencing Romania and the beauty of Transylvania.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

I have just come back from a fantastic trip to Romania with Untravelled Paths. I've never written a review before but I had a great time and feel obliged to point out to others that this is well worth doing. I've travelled a lot (enough to get a bit fussy!) I don't normally use travel agents (prefer to barter for best prices myself and not keen on being 'Shepherded' or having in-your-face people pretending to like you because it's their job.) My experience with Untravelled Paths was spot on. Helpful, friendly, relaxed, interesting and sincere people doing a brilliant job with commitment and joy. I formed genuine bonds with the guides who are very well hand picked for their characters. I could probably have arranged this independently for less money but I suspect there are many areas where I might have come unstuck without the gentle guidance of Untravelled Paths - especially as I was not there long enough to come to acquire the necessary 'local knowledge' (not to mention language). I loved Bucharest and appreciated having the best bars and cafes pointed out. The ice hotel blew me away. The ice chapel was even better. It was overcast when I was there but it didn't matter to me.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sara p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

We stayed at the Ice Hotel in Balea Lac, Fagaras Mountains in Romania in February 2013, as part of a week-long holiday with Untravelled Paths. The experience was unforgettable, from the amazing views and solitude of the location, to the dinner within the ice hotel and overnight stay there. The staff at the hotel were very helpful. It was definitely a highlight of the tour, which also included trips to the stunning Peles Castle and other sites and beautiful medieval cities. UTP made us feel very welcome. Special thanks to out guide Dragos who was very attentive and helpful. There are not many places that make you feel like you might be going back to a different time. Romania is one of them. It is a beautiful country in parts, especially in the mountains where you get a sense of being in a great wilderness - not something you can experience in western Europe. But animal lovers be warned, there are an unbelievable amount of stray dogs and cats there.

Room Tip: In Bucharest at the weekend, ask hotel for a room away from overlooking the street as it is noisy.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaMiKingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Such an amazing trip, wonderful experience, very well organised, well done Untravelled Paths. All five of us thoroughly enjoyed it, will definitely be looking at some of your other trips. The hotels were excellent the Ice Hotel and scenery spectacular, food lovely, Romanians very friendly.Have to say, big thank you to our fantastic guides Flavius and Dragos, for looking after us, you were great. Would definitely recommend this experience to friends and family. Keep up the good work Untravelled Paths and we look forward to travelling with you in the future. Thank you.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jannine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fagaras
6.4 mi away
Complex Pastravaria Albota
Complex Pastravaria Albota
#1 of 1 in Arpasu de Sus
91 reviews
16.6 mi away
Hotel Posada Vidraru
Hotel Posada Vidraru
#1 of 2 in Arefu
53 reviews
1.6 mi away
Complex Turistic Capra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Andrada's House Soars
Andrada's House Soars
#1 of 12 in Fagaras
1 reviews
8.9 mi away
Complex Balea Transfagarasan
Complex Balea Transfagarasan
#1 of 6 in Cartisoara
2 reviews
14.5 mi away
Brukenthal Palace Avrig
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ice Hotel Romania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ice Hotel Romania

Address: Balea Lac | Fagaras mountains, Fagaras, Romania (Formerly Balea Lac Ice Hotel)
Region: Romania > Transylvania > Central Romania > Brasov County > Fagaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fagaras
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Faragas Mountains provide a perfect backdrop for the Balea Lac Ice Hotel. Its remote location, at over 2000m is reached only by cable car making it an exclusive 10 room hotel. Set amidst breathtaking scenery, the Ice Hotel is rebuilt every year and the views and silent nights make a visit to the Ice Hotel a must. The stunning Ice Church is a short walk away. Activities: Sledging, snow mobile, skiing. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ice Hotel Romania Fagaras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing