We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once in a lifetime experience”
Review of Ice Hotel Romania

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ice Hotel Romania
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fagaras
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

Absolutely outstanding, once in a lifetime experience!

Individual, hand-crafted rooms in the Ice Hotel (with the nearby chalet as back up) - highly recommend having dinner there too (be aware that you'll need to wear something waterproof as the table will melt slightly where the warm plates have rested).
You'll need a base and technical layer for daytime, and a thermal + loose layer for night - not forgetting hat, gloves and heat warmer socks).
Don't forget your phone or camera - you'll take plenty of pictures! And free wifi is available in the chalet.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UkYummyMummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (309)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 309 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2014

This is the second time we have had an ice hotel experience. The first time was in Norway. Bang for buck this is an amazing experience in Romania! The Carpathian mountains are beautiful. We did this with Di and Jez of Secret Transylvania. They ensured that everything went according to plan.
There is a pristine feel to this part of the world in winter. We had an amazing group of people with us, so much drinking and merriment prevailed!
We did the trek through the road tunnel and came out the other side into Wallachia. There was much fun with an inflatable boat and a frozen lake!
The sculptures in the ice hotel are very pretty and the ice bar and ice restaurant are pretty spectacular to see!
If you are after an awesome snow/ice hotel experience this is the one I would recommend!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AnitaBaumann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We drove from our ski resort to the ski hotel. Arrive after about 25 mins from the main road. Cable car up to the Ice Hotel at certain times unless you pay an extra option. It's 25 local per adult and 15 for kids so that's £5 as 5 to the pound each way.
It's a fantastic ride, really good.
On arrival we went to the Cabana across the frozen lake. We left our bags and went over to the ice hotel. It is fantastic. I don't what to say but just ice and freezing. About 18 bedrooms and a bar.
Being lightweights I booked a separate bedroom in the Cabana just in case. £30. (Didn't care).
Bad points are the staff are not exactly forthcoming with info about anything.
After walking around the lake and playing on the sledges etc we decided to eat.
The food is only ok which was a shame as for the previous 7 days in Brasov it had been fantastic.
We had chosen our bedroom in the ice hotel. At about 9pm we decided to give it a go. My wife and 6 year old and me sleeping on a block of ice.
We had special rugs and special duvets and blankets, fully dressed. Laughing we just lay there. After an hour the man knocked on our room and said do you want your sleeping bags yet.
We just fell about. See no information given to us.
Me and my boy lasted till midnight and finally gave up and crossed the lake and into the Cabana for a warm sleep my wife lasted till 6am.
Breakfast in the morning is dire.
We left at 10am having had a laugh

Room Tip: Smoking and smoke is a problem everywhere in Romania.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank COYMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I have wanted to stay in an Ice Hotel for years, though the cost of the scandinavian variants has always brought me to my senses.

After spending a couple of wonderful summer holidays with Di and Jez of Secret Transylvania and visiting Balea Lac in the blistering mid summer heat when the place is rammed with tourists I thought it was time to revisit the area with my camera in the depths of winter.

What a wonderful experience it was too..Secret Transylvania go all out to make it so.
Nothing is ever a problem, everything runs like clockwork.

We ascended to Balea Lac at 6700' using the cable car (as the Transfagaras Highway ~Top Gear road, is closed now until May/june) where Jez checked into his nice cozy warm room which also doubles as a dumping ground for all our luggage and valuables.
After a leisurely lunch of Micci and Fries we headed out for a trek through the deserted spooky road tunnel to the other side of the mountains and into the bright sunlight of Wallachia.
This was followed by hot chocolate and brandies all round, before a quick couple of laps of being dragged at top speed, in an inflatable boat around the frozen lake!! WoooHooooo!!!!
After all that excitement we were left to our own devices which gave me ample time to take my pictures as the sun gave way to an awesome starry night.
Dinner can be taken either in the Ice Hotel or in the warmth of the Cabana and drinks from the Ice Bar kept us merry until close on midnight when we all retired to our spectacular rooms.

The sleeping bags provided are really good and a selection of fleeces and blankets keep you snug and warm. I slept in until 8:30am without problem.. The silence on waking was really odd and memorable..Really I've never been anywhere as quiet as in a building made of ice, high above the snow line. No traffic, no birdsong, no tourists.. even the cable car wasn't running. It was magical!

After breakfast we returned to Cisnadiaora (nr. Sibiu) in the Land Rover where Di fed us up as if we'd been missing for a week.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheMarsBars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

It was my dream to spend a night in an ice hotel.everything was perfect from my trip to the hotel which was 2 mins walk from the cable cars stop over.the rooms were beautifully decorated with ice statues.the ambiance in the evening was great at the dining area/bar.Four inconveniences.
1)one shud have clothing like skiers or mountain climbers because finally one has to sleep on ice , sit on ice for diner therefore jeans with 2 or 3 heavy pullovers and normal boots will not save you...i could not sleep more than 30 mins even with the warm sleeping bag provided.i went next door to the chalet Thank God they had a free room for us.
2)music/dance in the ¨¨hall¨¨ outside the room (there r no doors) was on till early morning i heard-
3)if you are in bed and need toilette break there is one outside (2 mins walk) in the freezing very windy night walking in deep soft snow and limited lights /visibility.
4)diner was getting cold very fast on the ice table and quantities were too small and the price expensif..just good for photos and romantic moments ,,best eat at the chalet a good warm meal for half the price.
On the net they have a package deal dont take it!! it works out more expensif..on the spot we saw prices cheaper

Room Tip: if u r too close to the entrance you will get theice cold draft each time someone comes in or out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yellowsubmarine117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UntravelledPathsLtd, General Manager at Ice Hotel Romania, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2013

Hello yellowsubmarine117,

Thank you for your feedback and I'm pleased you enjoyed the overall experience. The vast majority of our clients tell us they are surprised that it's not as cold as they expect, however we do recommend that they go to the chalet for a final beverage and a some time to warm up before sleeping in the Ice Hotel. However, as a rule the locals visitors feel the cold more than our foreign guests, that said as you mention it is prudent to wear water / wind proof clothing, especially if you feel the cold.

With the Untravelled Paths tours the Ice Hotel is managed by the guide who ensures that the music is played no later than 11pm if clients have retired to bed, last orders is also at this time. However if all clients are up then on occasions the Ice Hotel will stay open later. This should be the case every night and is the discretion of the Ice Hotel manager / UTP guide on duty.

We advise all our clients to use the bathroom before sleeping in the Ice Hotel, however if nature calls then it is a little bit of an adventure to get to the bathroom. The nearest is actually in the cable car station which is 20 – 30 metres away, rather than the chalet which is closer to a 2 minute walk in the snow. With regards to the Ice Hotel dinner, I'm sorry to hear that you felt the dinner was too small and over priced. The customer feedback forms for last season from the Untravelled Paths guests rated the meal at 4.26/5 with many unable to finish the 4 course meal – overall we got fabulous feedback. By local standards the meal is certainly expensive but the quality is higher and as the only Ice Hotel to serve dinner it is a once in a lifetime opportunity and we feel well worth the extra expense.

Regarding the Hotel of Ice's packages, you may have to elaborate but I would suspect that with the extras included it would have worked out cheaper or there would be little point in the package deal.

Thank you once again for your constructive feedback, we have taken your comments on board and if we are to get more comments in support of yours we will investigate further.

Many thanks,

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

In this place, you can't stop photoshooting!! Visiting the ice church, the igloos, walking through the silent side of the mountain or to the snowy mountain road is something magic! Breakfast and dinner reall tasteful and you can enjoy a lot of chocolate.... or brandy, both of them are recommended ;) . The staff really friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Having originally wanted to go to the Swedish ice hotel for my 40th Birthday, the wife found this through Secret Transylvania and (along with an amazing five day schedule of other sights and activities), it was everything I had hoped it would be.

I went with a mate and our two sons and looking at other tour operators who go here, Secret Transylvania are by far the best for your money and you’d be daft if you don’t book through them!

You can stop off on-route to take as many pictures as you like of the mountain views, Jez (from ST) sorts out all fees so you’re not fishing around for your cash all the time and points out the various points of interest while climbing in the cable car and once at the top sorts you out with lunch, sledging and skidooing.

There’s time to visit the igloos and ice church before taking a fantastic walk through the deep snow to the mountain road tunnel and a spooky dark walk through to the other side of the mountain where the silence is just amazing (I believe through research that other tour operators charge for this walk!)

Everything is done at your own pace and on route back, there’s a stop off for a drink (Brandy and hot chocolate is recommended!) before you return to the main hotel (where you can stay if the ice hotel isn’t to your liking) before you enjoy a few drinks and then dinner in the ice hotel.

After dinner, there’s a relaxed evening in the main hotel before bedding down for the night on a bed of ice.

The sleeping bags and blanket are plenty to keep you warm (I was down to my t-shirt and boxers – the only problem is that you have to get dressed if you want to go to the toilet in the middle of the night!) but just sticking on snow boots and a woolly hat did the trick for me…

After breakfast the following morning, there was time for some more sledging before we took the cable car back down and with the cloud gone, we got a brilliant view from the top of the mountain giving us more picture opportunities. Only down side was that I wish I had booked two days so as I could have done it all again!

All staff up at the hotel are helpful and friendly and Jez is always on hand to sort any problems or issues you may have (not that we had any, but it was reassuring to know he was!)

Top marks for a brilliant trip Secret Transylvania!

Room Tip: All the rooms were brilliant and if there is nobody else staying there (as when we arrived) that nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fagaras
6.4 mi away
Complex Pastravaria Albota
Complex Pastravaria Albota
#1 of 1 in Arpasu de Sus
95 reviews
18.6 mi away
Complex Turistic Capra
23.8 mi away
Pensiunea Diana
Pensiunea Diana
#6 of 12 in Fagaras
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 mi away
Hotel Bulevard
Hotel Bulevard
#3 of 12 in Fagaras
50 reviews
24.1 mi away
No photo provided
Pensiunea D&D
#1 of 2 in Fagaras
1 reviews
23.5 mi away
White House
White House
#4 of 12 in Fagaras
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ice Hotel Romania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ice Hotel Romania

Address: Balea Lac | Fagaras mountains, Fagaras, Romania (Formerly Balea Lac Ice Hotel)
Region: Romania > Transylvania > Central Romania > Brasov County > Fagaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fagaras
Price Range: £77 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Faragas Mountains provide a perfect backdrop for the Balea Lac Ice Hotel. Its remote location, at over 2000m is reached only by cable car making it an exclusive 10 room hotel. Set amidst breathtaking scenery, the Ice Hotel is rebuilt every year and the views and silent nights make a visit to the Ice Hotel a must. The stunning Ice Church is a short walk away. Activities: Sledging, snow mobile, skiing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ice Hotel Romania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ice Hotel Romania Fagaras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing