We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing accommodations in Biertan”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Unglerus Medieval Pensions
Ranked #1 of 3 Biertan B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 September 2013

They preserved the original front for the building, but behind that, they brought the modern and comfortable stuff.
Rooms at Unglerus are really big and clean. Beds have the right size and are hard enough to relax your back after hiking around all day.
The sleeping space is at 3 minutes walk distance from the local fortified church and the restaurant (where you will have breakfast also).
In the evenings we enjoyed a huge camp-fire in the yard of the pension - excellent for team building.
The shower tap-ware were a bit old, creaky and finicky to operate. But I enjoyed the fact that they were not so easy to manipulate - it made me feel like I worth the hot shower when I managed to make it work.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiaDomide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2013

This is a nice place to stay when exploring Saxon country in Transylvania. Our suite was very spacious, all the rooms were pretty well-equipped, bathrooms especially were large and well-appointed. The village of Biertan is picturesque and the fortified church that is its centerpiece is beautiful. This is a decent place, not a luxury resort, but it was comfortable. We had a few minor complaints: the fridge seemed to be heating rather than cooling and the drain was a bit slow--but I'm sure they would have been fixed right away if we'd bothered to complain.

Our room was on the street which was surprisingly noisy and made it difficult to sleep. We ended up closing the window and it was a bit stuffy.

Room Tip: May want to ask for a room away from the street, especially if you want to open windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

We arrived in Biertan having walked for 15 kms through several villages and were naturally tired. The company who organised our walking tour gave us the address for a completely different Pension, it had been closed for two years. However the staff from Unglerus were looking out for us as our bags had been delivered there and we arrived late in the afternoon. Our company had booked us a double not a twin as requested but they immediately gave us a twin upstairs which was large, light and nicely decorated with the best mattress on the bed that we had had in 10 days in Romania. Shower was really hot and the bathroom large. They have a slightly expensive restaurant with a French chef a short walk away but although the company we booked with had told us we were full board they hadn't informed the Unglerus! They couldn't have been kinder and the staff who work there are really efficient and so sweet and made us a picnic lunch, fed us supper each night and billed the company involved after they saw a receipt showing we had paid for full board. A lovely welcome and we were shown great kindness and understanding. Thank you everyone at Unglerus for making our stay so comfortable.

Room Tip: There is a sunny and quiet garden at the back with tables and chairs to relax in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank madgirltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Heinz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Censoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank AntoCru83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Biertan hotels
0.0 mi away
Pensiunea Oppidum
Pensiunea Oppidum
#2 of 3 in Biertan
8 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Pensiunea Thomas
#2 of 4 in Biertan
1 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Pensiunea Michael
#4 of 4 in Biertan
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Pensiune Cetate
#1 of 4 in Biertan
1 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Unglerus Medieval Pensions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unglerus Medieval Pensions

Address: Str. 1 Decembre no 20, Biertan 557045, Romania
Region: Romania > Transylvania > Central Romania > Sibiu County > Biertan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Biertan
Price Range: £34 - £48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Unglerus Medieval Pensions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing