We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Night Stopover”
Review of Ibis Avallon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Avallon
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Magny
Certificate of Excellence
N. Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“One Night Stopover”
Reviewed 17 February 2012

A pleasant, clean, attractive hotel.

I only used the hotel for sleeping and breakfast. A stopover between Cherbourg and Fréjus was needed, so I picked this hotel. The hotel's location near to the autoroute and roughly half-way, were the prime considerations.

I'm glad I picked this hotel and plan to return for the same use, in 2012.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor_McC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    193
    40
    10
    5
See reviews for
64
196
22
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vicenza
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Good location just near the highway exit. Room a little too small but is the right price you pay for.
Parking with a lot of space. Personnel very kind and gentle and speak easily English.
Good cooking service but with low choices. Good vines choice.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACDCGaudenzio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Arriving at CDG airport after a long haul flight from Australia and picking up a Citroen lease car, we did not feel like driving much more than two hours to the south of France. We set the GPS to scenic and selected Avallon as a convenient first stop. Tripadvisor showed Ibis Avallon as a good hotel. We were not disappointed. Location, service, quality of food and rooms were excellent. We spent two nights there and toured the area, visiting the medieval centre of Frezenay and the caves of Arcy, with stone age murals older and more interesting than in the better known caves of Lascaux. Enjoyed it very much.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annetjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne
Level Contributor
77 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

When you are staying at an Ibis Hotel, you know that it won't be the Ritz. Still, the rooms are clean and reasonably appointed. Ask for rooms overlooking the fields (not the Route Nationale where there are a lot of heavy trucks rumbling past) and you will be woken by the lowing of cows and the singing of birds. The restaurant is pleasant and the "pièce de boeuf" is excellent. The menu is good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GEL52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 6 June 2011

This was a return visit follwing a pleasant over night stop last June. Location is pleasing and staff helpful and welcoming. It would also be a good place to stay to tour araound and Acces from the A6 is good.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Hotel met all expectations. We are frequent Ibis chain users and the decoration, cleanliness and quality of service was as good as we expected. Location is next to one of national roads, but quiet, bringing close to routes to many sites int he area. if this is what you are looking for, it is very convenient.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VicDjuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jarrow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2011

We stayed for one night on our way back from Spain, we have stayed in lots of Ibis hotels and would say this one is by far the best The staff were very friendly and helpful nothing was too much trouble , We decided to eat at the hotel as they was nothing else near and we are really glad we did it was really good in fact we had 3 courses
The next time we are in the area we would stay again

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magny
0.8 mi away
Campanile Avallon Sauvigny
Campanile Avallon Sauvigny
#1 of 2 in Sauvigny-le-Bois
60 reviews
3.0 mi away
Dak'Hotel
Dak'Hotel
#2 of 6 in Avallon
146 reviews
5.5 mi away
Le Moulin des Templiers
Le Moulin des Templiers
#1 of 3 in Pontaubert
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Le Relais Fleuri
Le Relais Fleuri
#3 of 6 in Avallon
242 reviews
3.6 mi away
Citotel Hotel d'Avallon Vauban
5.0 mi away
Moulin des Ruats
Moulin des Ruats
#1 of 6 in Avallon
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Avallon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Avallon

Property: Ibis Avallon
Address: Route de la Bergerie | Acces A6, 89200 Magny, France
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Yonne > Magny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Magny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Avallon 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Avallon hotel is located in Magny, in a green and quiet setting, close to the Parc Régional du Morvan and Vézelay. Surrounded by numerous châteaux, abbeys et museums, the hotel is ideal for weekend stays and longer tourist stays. It has 42 rooms, including 2 fitted out for disabled guests, a restaurant, a bar with a terrace serving light meals and snacks 24/24, and also a pétanque pitch and a meeting room. Free private outdoor parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, ACCOR, Booking.com, Priceline, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Avallon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Magny Cours
Ibis Avallon France/Magny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing