We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, excellent food!”
Review of Ibis Avallon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Avallon
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Magny
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We arrived here late in the evening, but nonetheless were kindly welcomed and able to order a meal which we enjoyed immensely. It was beautifully cooked and very tasty. Our room was clean and comfortable, and we will "travel Ibis" in the future, when we possibly can!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PartyGirlScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (362)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 363 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Bryan3011
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 12 July 2013

I like Ibis hotels, you always know what you're getting - clean simple decor, good beds and a really good shower. Everything you need for a 1 night travel hotel. Avallon Ibis is no exception - the place was spotless and comfortable and the shower was great (I always judge hotel rooms by the shower first!).
What did make this stand out was the hotel staff and the manager, all of whom were friendly and welcoming and made our stay even better. Dinner was really good and the local beer was excellent. Even the buffet breakfast was top notch (great coffee).

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

very good hotel for a stop over, or to use as a base in the area. The rooms are clean, functional and comfortable. The restaurant is excellent. Great value food, excellent quality, 4 star presentation. The staff, although their English is limited are fantastic. Very helpful and between my pigeon French and their corresponding English, we communicated very well. Nothing was too much trouble. Would thoroughly recommend this Ibis.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank SagaloutsTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Easy to find off A6 signed Avallon. Can't help but wonder if Brian Ferry stopped here? Great little place stands out on its own surrounded by countryside. Great place for a stopover, totally modern - with 1664 a pression. The rooms are typically Ibis standard - excellent. But where this hotel excels is its cuisine, has a first class menu took me ages to decide what to have. Ended up with Soupe d'escargots aux petits légumes, Joue de boeuf a la Bourguignonne, and Framboisier. I have to say it was one of the best meals I have ever eaten. Take a look at the menu you decide what to have. And this was the cheaper option. Nice view of the woods from the rear bedrooms.

Room Tip: The rear rooms have a lovely view of the woods
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorgeBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

This hotel is really in the middle of nowhere and it does not look good from outside but it is actually a nice place. The rooms are modern and clean but try to avoid twin beds, I didn't like them very much, the double beds are really good. The restaurant is indeed great if you want to have a dinner - cheap and very good food. However, the breakfast is poor but all in all a good value for the money. The people there don't speak much English, be prepared for that, but they are all nice. Parking is free in front, a lot of places, so that's also good.

Room Tip: Avoid twin beds, you could keep on falling in between them, but it's not a big issue, I still ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZoranNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We have chosen this place as a base to explore Burgundy. You should have a car to stay here, that's for sure. But if you do - it really is a good starting point for travelling around the region. There are a lot of nice little towns within 30-60 minutes reach. The rooms are basic, rather small (as in most French hotels) but ok. Everything was clean. The thing I did not like about the room (as I am a light sleeper) is that door is not soundproof, and you can hear people walking in the corridor and even talking in a restaurant (if you stay on the 1st floor). However there is an additional door between rooms and reception area, if it is shot, then there is not too much noise. Amenities were basic - Ibis recently started using this shower gel-shampoo-soap 3-in-1 product, which imho is not serious, so I prefer to bring my own soap and shampoo. Hotel staff was ok, one of the girls spoke rather good English, while other did not speak at all, though it was written on a badge that they do speak English. However both were willing to help, and I had a chance to practice my French. We did not take breakfast at a hotel restaurant, but the dinner was a nice surprise, maybe not too big choice in menu, but the food was very good, in the best traditions of French cuisine (well, not some sophisticated high cuisine, but the real cute French one - simple but tasty!). To sum up - I will definitely recommend this hotel and willingly gonna stay here myself next time.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonora59812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magny
3.0 mi away
Dak'Hotel
Dak'Hotel
#4 of 6 in Avallon
158 reviews
3.6 mi away
Citotel Hotel d'Avallon Vauban
0.8 mi away
Le Relais Fleuri
Le Relais Fleuri
#2 of 6 in Avallon
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Campanile Avallon Sauvigny
Campanile Avallon Sauvigny
#1 of 2 in Sauvigny-le-Bois
71 reviews
5.0 mi away
Moulin des Ruats
Moulin des Ruats
#1 of 6 in Avallon
255 reviews
3.5 mi away
Les Capucins
Les Capucins
#6 of 6 in Avallon
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Avallon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Avallon

Address: Route de la Bergerie | Acces A6, 89200 Magny, France
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Yonne > Magny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Magny
Price Range: £45 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Avallon 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Avallon hotel is located in Magny, in a green and quiet setting, close to the Parc Régional du Morvan and Vézelay. Surrounded by numerous châteaux, abbeys et museums, the hotel is ideal for weekend stays and longer tourist stays. It has 42 rooms, including 2 fitted out for disabled guests, a restaurant, a bar with a terrace serving light meals and snacks 24/24, and also a pétanque pitch and a meeting room. Free private outdoor parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, ACCOR, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Ibis Avallon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Magny Cours
Ibis Avallon France/Magny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing