We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Serene and clean accomodation with good food”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Chattai Beach Huts

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Agonda
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chattai Beach Huts
Ranked #32 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Agonda
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Serene and clean accomodation with good food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

I've been to Chattai Huts Agonda on second week of Dec 2013 for a short one night stay, it was chosen by me based on a friends recommendation and I do not regret the decision since I had a peaceful stay with good food options. The huts are having very basic amenities like a double bed with mosquito net, a dressing table and 1 plug point for mobile charging. Those who are used to staying on hotel rooms with all facilities should avoid such huts as these are very very basic in nature and those looking for a bit luxury may get disappointed as in reality the pictures posted on their websites are far more appealing than what you actually face while in the cottage. Specially if visiting during winter season like Dec-Jan in the early morning you are likely to feel chilling cold along with cool sea breeze since the huts are not fully sealed from outside atmosphere, so be prepared with at least one jacket or so. The bathrooms are clean and hygienic in terms of tissue rolls etc provided. People visiting this place should carry their own toiletries or can get it from nearby shops in 2 min walk. I was allocated the first hut and from the sit out on top of the hut enjoyed a great view all the time. The reception manager was very cordial and helpful, service by the restaurant stuffs are a bit slow. We tried various non veg items among which squid butter garlic and tandoor fish and chicken items were pretty good. Avoid ordering Chinese items like chicken chilli and hakka noodles, for me it was complete no no after testing it once, instead go for goan/indian cuisine. The USP of this place is breathtaking view of calm and less crowded Agonda beach and a small hill in right hand side of it. We didn't find it cheap but just for relaxing in agonda and specially to stay in beach huts made of chattai material for a different experience it was ok for a day.

Room Tip: chose front side huts
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robanerj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    20
    8
    2
    5
See reviews for
2
28
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Went for lunch there on our last day in Agonda. The place is beautiful with thatched roof.. very quaint! Must try their prawn goan curry and prawn masala. They were divine! Really a good experience!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PriyanjanaDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hubli-Dharwad, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

This place was a gamble for us as we didn't know anything about South Soa. All the buzz revolves around Calangute & Baga in North Goa.

If you are looking for a peaceful getaway, no hawkers, privacy, cleanliness, secure, picture perfect memories, hospitable service, warm atmosphere, romantic moonlit beach walks, candle light dinners & more...head to Chattai Beach Huts.

Their pricing is very reasonable. You get a Hut to stay. Beach front restaurant serves good food. Limited menu but good food. The manager Mr.D'Costa is quite a friendly person & will help you with any reasonable request.
We didnt miss the sea at all, This place is right on the beach !

Every Hut comes with a sea view terrace.
Chattai is close from Madgaon, around 30 kms. We had hired a scooter from Madgaon Market, it's close to the railway station.
The ride upto Agonda is worth the view.

Don't expect anything fancy in Agonda or at Chattai Beach Huts. It's a romantic getaway, not a party capital. Thanks to the noise curfew at Chattai post 10 pm.

Try the Goan Fish Curry with Rice. Pasta here isn't authentically Italian nevertheless tastes great. Staff is very polite and courteous. Costal delicacies served are surprisingly fresh.

Nearby attractions are Dolphin spotting, honeymoon beach, Butterfly Island & Sea Waterfalls. All these are only accessible by boat. Ask the Manager Mr.D'Costa, he will get the tour arranged for you at a competitive price. We paid 1500, boat to ourselves. This was only for Honeymoon Beach, Butterfly Island & Dolphin Spotting.
Caution : Don't leave without sunscreen and preferably a hat and sunglasses.

Room Tip: Hot water is available on request so order ahead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AdnanTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

Stayed in Chattai in December 2010 as a group of 02 couples. We had booked 02 huts after checking the place online. Spoke to Charlie and voila we were ready to travel to Paloleum. The images on the web page can be a bit misleading as the website is brilliantly made. Arrived at Paloleum after a short stay in Calangute. Paloleum is an out of this world place after the crowded beaches of Baga and Calangute.

Finding Chattai isn’t very difficult as the locals are very helpful. Charlie the manager helped us with the luggage. We were provided with huts that has an overhead lounge/ deck. This is a nice place to just chill at night as there is no view from this place. It is not on the beach and is a bit interior but a short walk from the beach. The hut is very basic with a very basic thin mattress, a mosquito net and a fan. At night the whole place is lit up with tungsten bulbs.

Charlie is a very helpful person. He had no problems in lending us his bike (Honda Dio) to the nearest ATM as we were running short on cash. Huts are cleaned regularly and the whole place is kept neat and clean. The huts are basic and economically priced. Chattai is recommended for Price, Staff and Charlie and location. This place provides you with all the basic facilities required to enjoy the lovely area of Paloleum and Agonda.

Room Tip: Request the huts with the over head deck lounge area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

Very simple huts with a raised balcony which is a nice feature. Maybe the most basic in comparison to other Agonda stays but excellent value and location. Restaurant area is the only lounging area which is perhaps the only let down- no where comfy to lounge in the shade other than the restaurant furniture. Service was excellent lovely gentle staff can't do enough for you. All food we had was fresh and tasty.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

I was delighted with my overall stay at the guesthouse. From check-in to departure, Charlie and his charming team of staff could not have assisted me further if they tried whilst on my holiday in Goa - transfers from the airport, day-trips, local pearls of wisdom, they could not have been any more helpful if they tried.

I found my room to be absolutely ideal for my stay here, although the bungalows are not situated on the beach, they are a mere 2 minute walk away and, in my opinion, a much better better option than staying directly on the beach because in the height of the summer these bungalows can be a little intrusive - hearing the sound of the ocean from my room only heightened my sense of solitude :-)

Having originally booked for five nights, I quickly extended my stay to ten because when you find yourself at the Chattai, you wouldnt want to be anywhere else.

P.S. - The food was top banana!

JL

Room Tip: Bring your tunes and turn them up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JoeLamb87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

Stayed at Chattai Beach Huts, Palolem from the 8-10th of March 2013. It was pretty basic. I assumed that it was beach facing but it wasn't and we had to walk a bit after a swim and the day on the beach. Rooms and bathrooms are basic. The huts and the sit out were a little 'shakey'. The day we got to Palolem we scouted the place and we were offered (coco) huts at Rs. 500/- cheaper than what we were paying! The restaurant attached to the property is vegetarian so we didnt eat there. In a nut shell... pretty ho hum.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheikhnafisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agonda
4.1 mi away
Chattai Beach Huts
Chattai Beach Huts
#41 of 139 in Canacona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
0.2 mi away
Romance Beach Huts
Romance Beach Huts
#14 of 62 in Agonda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.1 mi away
Om Sai Beach Huts
Om Sai Beach Huts
#1 of 62 in Agonda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Madhu Coconut Beach Huts
0.0 mi away
Agonda Paradise
Agonda Paradise
#19 of 62 in Agonda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.2 mi away
Resort Hotel Velvet Sunset-Agonda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chattai Beach Huts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chattai Beach Huts

Property: Chattai Beach Huts
Address: Doval Kazan North Agonda Beach | North Agonda Beach, Agonda 403702, India
Region: India > Goa > Agonda
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Agonda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Also Known As:
Chattai Beach Huts Agonda, Goa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing