We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Monsoon
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cinnamon(Agonda)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (72)
Filter reviews
72 results
Traveller rating
50
14
6
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
50
14
6
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnepalese staffhomemade mueslithalilocation is greatthe food is greatseabeachhutsnovindiaguys
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 72 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We didn't stay at Monsoon, but we ate several times in the restaurant and the food was always delicious and the stay very helpful and friendly.
We did, however, contact the owner - Franklyn on a number of occasions to hire his fantastic Royal Enfield motorbikes and scooters for the day to explore the region. His rates are very competitive and they were always delivered to our place on time and in good condition.
We also used Franklyn for our taxi to the airport and again, cannot fault the service or rates. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sutt40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We initially intended to stay at Monsoon for 2 nights and ended up extending to 4, despite our pretty tight schedule, because we loved it so much!

Monsoon has a number of rooms in a main building, and some beach huts, plus a large round, sociable seating area and tables all facing the beautiful, quiet and clean Agonda Beach.

There's a yoga space, with two lovely yoga teachers Ursula and Mona who run classes at 8am and 9.45am every morning, the style of yoga varies each day, so we got to try Scaravalli and Hatha.

The Nepalese staff were helpful, courteous and friendly and the owners were always around, making sure everyone was being looked after. We sat with them on the first night and they told us the history of guesthouse. When we extended our stay they offered us a larger room that had become available at no extra cost.

Everyday at sunset everyone headed for the beach. The general atmosphere was chilled out and friendly.

The only downside was that our room was a bit noisy at night with the kitchen below and a barking dog but we would definitely recommend Monsoon. Try the Monsoon breakfast!!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Cesekberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

That was really not what I`ve had expected from a german runned guesthouse.On arriving the staff show us the wrong room,a very little hole without daylight.As we complaint that this can`t be the booked room they show us another with a balcony and we thought that is the right one that we had booked.To clear this situation we had asked for the owner and the staff called him and told us that he arrives in half an hour.After a hour he arrives from the neighbour house just 10 meters away from the monsoon.He showed us the dirty room with the balcony and told us that one is the one we had booked.After he cleans up the dirt from mices and ants,he told us is just lizards poo what is normally,because they are right next to the beach.The roof of the rooms are not closed so everything could crawl into to your room.The bathroom is just a bad joke and we got more for less money in other places of goa.The room was spacey but had really worn furniture and bad matresses and dirty bedclothes.There was not really a warm welcome and the worst goodbye i`ve experienced on our india trip.Dirk the owner try to get more money from us then the price for the room was offered.He discussed about the money he wants with my wife and as I appear he wents away,accepting the price for the room which was offered at booking.Really a poor performance and I can`t recommend this place,there is old dry dogs poo at the garden area and it seems that they don`t clean up often.They just want your money for their location on a very dirty beach and nothing else.We don`t try the offered breakfast and lunch or dinner,because ther was only a very burned smell from the kitchen at all times.The staff is more interested to hang around and do their own things than in customers service.We`ve had much better places for lesser money in Goa.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Travelling M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

Great place in the Spirit of south Goa. Different types of rooms. All great except for Maya Room.
Excellent restaurant and staff.
Perfect location. A basic accomodation in a perfect location. Close to Palolem. Stayed for 8 nights. Wish i could have stayed more

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Valentin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We were due to stay in Monsoon for 3 nights initially, but extended our stay to 10 nights.

The hotel is right next to the beach and has a really relaxing chilled out vibe - just what you need.

The rooms are decent enough and we were happy with the accommodation. The only downside was we had no hot water, but it is warm in Goa, so this isn't that big a deal here.

The food in the restaurant (aside from pasta dishes which were average) was all really good and also great value for money.

There are lots of useful little extras at Monsoon like games to play, umbrellas to take onto the beach, mopeds you can rent out etc.

The best thing though is the staff who work very hard, but you can also have a good laugh with them. Could not fault them at all. Monsoon also seems to attract a good crowd staying at the hotel.

This is definitely a place I would return to next time I am in Goa.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmazingSimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews