We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to stay for Gallipoi” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gallipoli Houses

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Gallipoli Houses
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Eceabat
Certificate of Excellence
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
44 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good place to stay for Gallipoi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed here for two nights in late April. The hotel is in a quiet village and we found having a car an advantage for getting to the hotel and visiting the various battlefield sites. Room was large and comfortable and there was a good wi-fi connection in the room. Breakfast was good but we thought the evening meal a little expensive by Turkish standards. We would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Taipo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    21
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
35
96
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
131 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

After a long day of physical and emotional Battlefield tours this place is a little spot of tranquility. The rooms are spacious and well appointed. The large shower was clean and with plenty of hot water. Breakfast and dinner at the communal table were both excellent. This B&B is set in a small village within the Nationally Park and Erik and his family and staff make you feel welcome. Go for a walk in the village, be woken by the call to prayer and soak up the ambience of this beautiful rural village.

Room Tip: Whether you chose an upstairs room or one with its own patio be sure to sit on the roof top and enjo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballina, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

We found the accommodation excellent. Rooms were spacious and clean, bed very comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful, spoke very good English. Food was delicious with mixture of Turkish and European dishes. The location was in rural area and very quiet and peaceful. A good stepping off point to explore the Gallipoli Peninsula. I would not hesitate in highly recommending this accommodation.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank CathyFerndale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Set in a nice location inside the national park. Remote for some but fine for us. Good host family and staff that know their business.
Buildings are relatively new and set in a traditional village. A nice marriage of old and new.
Only wish the lounge and kitchen opened during the day.

Room Tip: Enjoy the deck over the lounge room, and take some eats and wine to enjoy the sunset!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BowyerOman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

We had high expectations of Gallipoli Houses having read the reviews and were not disappointed. It took a while for us to decide our travel dates but Eric patiently and promptly responded to each enquiry. Once the booking was confirmed Eric provided lots of information such as the recommended route for the drive from Istanbul and we pre-arranged an evening meal for the night of our arrival which meant that we could relax as soon as we checked-in.

The rooms are spacious, comfortable and very clean with free wi-fi, small fridge and kettle for making tea/coffee.

Breakfast consists of a good buffet selection with fresh bread plus eggs with sausage prepared to order. We didn't take up the packed lunch option as we found breakfast sufficiently filling to keep us going through to dinner.

Dinner, which must be requested in the morning, is a four course table d'hote affair - good value at 15 Euros per person. The food was simple, delicious and home made and served most efficiently by Halil who did a fabulous job of serving and clearing dishes and taking drinks orders. Special mention here for the local Suvla Shiraz - it's delicious but sadly doesn't appear to be available in the UK. We were lucky that our visit coincided with that of a mixture of Brits and Aussies with whom we enjoyed pre-dinner drinks around the cosy fire and then more of that lovely Shiraz as we sat together for dinner.

There is a very homely feel to Gallipoli Houses and Eric provides plenty of information and knowledge of the local area to enhance the visit. Service from all members of staff is excellent - friendly and efficient.

The Gallipoli peninsula is quite beautiful. It's difficult to imagine how very different it was 99 years ago. As the centenary of the Gallipoli campaign approaches there will doubtless be many more visitors to the area. There may be other hotels in the area but I'm convinced none can come anywhere close to providing such a comfortable and welcoming stay - Gallipoli Houses is in a league of its own.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank turleynodds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
62 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

What can I say that others have not already said. It is a tranquil beautiful place to stay. Rooms are extremely clean but basic, with no tv which is a nice change. I stayed in a room inside the main house which was very quiet. Meals are home cooked and delicious.

Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Swissie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
111 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

And I'm an American (and former resident of Canberra). I have studied Gallipoli on and off for several years but wanted to see the terrain. Luckily the guy who used to set up all the Dawn Services for the Australian Government and lived in Istanbul recommended this hotel to me. I contacted Eric and he was extremely helpful in advance of our visit but was not there when we arrived (visiting his parents). However everyone at the hotel was extremely helpful, arranging follow-on tours, transport to the bus station, bus tickets onwards to Istanbul, etc. They even gave us a list of walking tours and we did the one going down from Chunuk Bair along Rhododendron Ridge (the ridge the NZ Brigade assaulted up) - unbelievably difficult terrain. Bring good walking shoes! We stayed two nights in the Kocadere Room (biggest) and were the only folks in the hotel so we had their undivided attention. Excellent dinners and breakfasts served by a very attentive and polite staff. Nicely appointed rooms, no problems of any kind that I can remember. We had drinks each night in front of the fire and looked at the ANZAC artifacts scattered around. This place must be packed in the warm weather so ensure you reserve early. Take the Crowded House Tour of Gallipoli first to get your bearings and then spend the next day walking the ridges and gullies on your own (take water, snacks, and a first-aid kit - this is very rough terrain and people do get hurt). The overall experience was very positive and having stayed in 26 beds over 6 weeks in Turkey and Greece, this hotel is in the top 2 or three.

Room Tip: Spend the extra and get the Kocadere Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eceabat
9.2 mi away
Kolin Hotel
Kolin Hotel
#1 of 28 in Canakkale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Kum
Hotel Kum
#2 of 3 in Eceabat
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
8.4 mi away
Anzac Hotel
Anzac Hotel
#6 of 28 in Canakkale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Grand Anzac Hotel
Grand Anzac Hotel
#5 of 28 in Canakkale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
22.0 mi away
Hamzakoy Blue Park Boutique Hotel
3.5 mi away
Grand Eceabat Hotel
Grand Eceabat Hotel
#3 of 3 in Eceabat
3.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gallipoli Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gallipoli Houses

Property: The Gallipoli Houses
Address: Kocadere Koyu | - Eceabat, Eceabat 17900, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Canakkale Province > Eceabat
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Eceabat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gallipoli houses is a small authentic hotel, tucked away in the heart of the Gallipoli National Park. This privileged location makes it an ideal base to explore the Gallipoli battlefields. The rooms have been designed with modesty yet are fitted-out with everything necessary for a comfortable stay. Every room features a walk-in shower, coffee & tea making facilities and air conditioning. Wireless internet covers the foyer, breakfast room and most of the guest-rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Gallipoli Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gallipoli Houses Hotel Eceabat
The Gallipoli Houses Turkey/Eceabat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing