We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sochut Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arthurs Aghveran Resort(Yerevan)(Great Value!)
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tsaghkahovit Hotel(Tsakhkadzor)(Great Value!)
US$27
US$26
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ani Resort(Artavaz)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
University Hotel(Tsakhkadzor)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (17)
Filter reviews
17 results
Traveller rating
3
3
6
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
3
3
6
2
3
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 17 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We stayed in this resort in July 2013, with family. It is a very child friendly rest house located next to Dendropark of Stepanavan, in the middle of forests where one can breath fresh, clear and cool air. The food offered was very good. The staff are very friendly, and speak Armenian, English, Russian. The resort has a nice playground for kids, table tennis, billiard, outside volley ball place, etc. In short, if you are planning a short stay there (up to a week) this would be an ideal place to rest with your family.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Arsen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Progress is slower than you'd expect when driving in Armenia. There are traffic jams of cows and sheep on the roads, long delays when you're caught behind ancient Soviet-era trucks with more wheels than you thought possible, and potholes the size of giraffes. And so it was that I found myself well short of Tbilisi, my planned destination for the day. It was getting darker and darker, and I knew I needed to find somewhere--anywhere--to stay.

The problem? I don't speak Armenian or Russian, and I can't read either language. Almost everything here is signposted in Armenian-only, or if you're lucky Armenian and Russian. So I felt really, really lucky to see a sign for "hotel/restaurant" by the side of the road. "3km."

Well, the first sign pointed to a second sign that was in Armenian only but had the number 3 on it and a picture sort of like the one by the highway, so I figured I must be going the right direction. The road was a road once, maybe at some point during the Soviet era, but now it's just bits of pavement here and there that serve more as a hindrance than a help. I wound my way slowly, paying attention to the km markers, and 2km on I came to a collection of buildings. "2km, that doesn't make sense," I thought. The road got even worse and turned into basically what looked like a logging road, but I figured I might as well press on until the km marker hit 3. If I didn't find it, I'd turn back around.

Exactly at the 3km mark, the road ended at a gate. Two surprised-looking security guards came up to me, speaking in Russian. I said "hotel" a few times, and then one of them remembered what "hotel" means and said, "DA, DA, HOTEL!" with a big smile. The gate opened and I drove onto the grounds of an incredibly improbable resort. "This is going to be expensive," I thought, "but I don't have a choice."

I parked the car, made my way into the lobby, and went to the desk. "Hello!" I said. "Do you speak English?" The two clerks at the front desk didn't, but they knew exactly what I needed and found someone in the back who spoke English very well. I explained that I didn't have a reservation and asked if there was availability. There was, and she checked me in in the cool, casual way where you just know that a whopping bill awaits. "OK, the total is 17,000 drams," she said, a total of less than $42 including breakfast. The room was very nice, the breakfast was incredible, the grounds are beautifully forested with walking paths throughout, and ... well, I'll just let the view speak for itself.

Why only "very good" instead of "excellent?" I am a very, very tough reviewer. An "excellent" rating means everything was 100% perfect. In this case, the hot water supply is inconsistent in the shower. It can go from too cold to scalding in an instant, and is the familiar game of "shower roulette" that travelers often face in hotels. Also, while WiFi is free, it does not work well inside the rooms. Finally, the hotel is in the process of expanding and a lot of stuff for the renovation is left in public areas (I wouldn't subtract too much for this, it will probably all be gone and the new wing open by the time the next TripAdvisor reader stays).

Should any of these issues give you pause? No! For one, you will not find anything better in a remote part of Armenia, and notwithstanding that this is a remote part of Armenia, it is still very good even by fully Western standards. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: For the best view, get a high floor. However, there is no elevator so you will be carrying your luggage--keep this in mind.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank dialtone69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Basic accommodations but in a beautiful forest settings. The place has the feel of a campus dorm as you have no choice of the day's meal plans and it's served only at certain hours -- they don't have a restaurant where you can order what you want when you want. We saw lots of families staying there to enjoy the fresh air and time together. Very peaceful setting. A good retreat spot.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
1  Thank MP3Seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Very nice place. Actually one of my friends advised me to choose this place and I was really glad that I have follow his word. The things I like the most were the garden named Dendropark just 5 minutes walk from the resort which had incredible amount of exotic trees and also the food, which is natural,healthy and tasty. The resort is just in the center of the forest and you can enjoy the freshening atmosphere of nature.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Wassabi10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Wspaniała, cudowna przyroda.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews