We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Muyuna Amazon Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
Reviews (751)
Filter reviews
751 results
Traveller rating
647
93
5
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
647
93
5
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspink dolphinsno electricitythe riverpiranha fishingsan juannearby villageamazing experiencefood was greaton stiltsdry seasonhot waterswimming with the dolphinsguide luisdays nightsthree hoursboat ridejungle experience
Filter
Updating list...
286 - 291 of 751 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We did a three night trip out of Iquitos. 2-3 hour boat trip down Amazon on tiny speed boat, then up little tributory, to the lodge. Three days packed full of excursions, generally just in couples or in very small groups. Note that if you want to see birds, sloths and monkeys, you need to be in small canoes peering into the jungle padding/pottering up small tributories, and need to stay some hours out of the bigger towns like Iquitos. You will not see these if you stay on the Amazon itself, or close to the towns, or just by walking through the jungle. We stayed in the dry season, so also did some walks (didn't see much on those, but interesting experiences none the less). Went piranha fishing (and ate them - very tasty bites), went spear fishing finishing in a bbq in the jungle, went on nocturnal walks, canoe-ing, night boat rides catching cayman, swimming with dolphins in Amazon, saw prehistoric bird, largest water lily in the world, etc etc. Rooms were entirely comfortable, with fantastic netting all around and a large verandah with hammocks. Lots of jungle noise at night. Note very very hot and damp, no electricity, no hot water. Very good plentiful food, and cold beers are available. Fantastic experience.

Room Tip: tip from my husband - use the hot water from the thermos to shave with
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melanie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

My partner and I had a very enjoyable stay at Muyuna. We did the 5 day, 4 nights tour but would have been happy to stay for longer. The accommodation was nice and spacious and provided protection from mosquitoes. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Our guide was great at spotting animals and we got to see pretty much everything that the lodge promised including pink dolphins. The staff at the lodge went out of their way to help when my partner and I fell ill. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 532Maria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Spent 3 nights, 4 days, at Muyuna in early December and I can't find a fault with the the experience. The accommodation and catering is excellent and our guide was very knowledgeable regarding the rain forest fauna. We followed this visit with 3 nights at a more famous American-owned lodge which didn't even approach the standard of Muyuna.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

The lodge was lovely, built on stilts to be able to withstand the annual flooding of the Amazon. There is a lovely balcony overlooking the river with two hammocks, very relaxing. We were hardly bothered by mosquitos in late October. Our guide was well trained, grew up in a river village, and spoke excellent English. I was having some problems with my back and the staff was able to make adjustments to the trips I was planning to take to make them comfortable for me. The food was good. The trip up the Amazon to the lodge was one of my favorite parts of the trip. The staff in Iquitos was very helpful, recommending restaurants, taking us to a shoe repair, and getting us a hotel. A wonderful experience. I would really recommend this lodge.

Room Tip: all rooms have balcony on the river. Since the rooms have extensive screening, not conventional walls, it is best to not have a room right next to someone else for people noise. The birds outside are wonderfully noisy neighbors.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shelly c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We just returned from a 3-night, 4-day stay at Muyuna Lodge in the Amazon, Peru. We traveled to Muyuna Lodge by boat, 3 hours upstream from the Amazon city of Iquitos. The lodge is built on stilts, to protect against flooding in the rainy season. There is no electricity but a generator and solar panels provide lighting and power to recharge camera batteries, etc. The walkways and the dock are lit with kerosene lamps which gives the place a romantic feeling. The staff were welcoming and accommodating. The typical Peruvian meals were fabulous. The lodge offers various outing.... morning, afternoon and evenings.... from jungle walks to piranha fishing to various boat excursions, a visit to a nearby village, etc. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and his English was excellent.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CynthiaHW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews