We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aranyaka Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mountain Rest Holiday Homes(Pallivasal)(Great Value!)
US$29
Booking.com
View Deal
Devonshire Greens(Pallivasal)
US$87
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Whispering Meadows Munnar(Pallivasal)(Great Value!)
US$52
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$44
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Forest Glade(Pallivasal)
US$84
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Aadithya Regency(Pallivasal)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,032)
Filter reviews
1,032 results
Traveller rating
576
358
76
14
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
576
358
76
14
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottagesganga cottagemr rajeshnew buildingtea estatemunnar townwaterfall viewhome stayattukad waterfallssuper deluxe roomsight seeingbeautiful locationgreat viewroom serviceaway from the hustle and bustlestayed for nightstata tea
Filter
Updating list...
842 - 847 of 1,032 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2013

The resort is in a very quite place and very close to Pullivasal Tea plantations giving you a good view every day. The rooms are built up nicely and the staff also takes care of you. Its a family run business and do not compare it to a hotel-hotel. Its what they say a "Home-stay".

Some things to know before you stay here:
1- They dont have concierge or Housekeeping after evening - I tried to get hold of them in the night but could not find anyone. No one sits at the reception in the night. But the owner is very helpful and told us to give him a call in any such future event.

2- They have two rooms Nila-1 and Nila-2 which are the oldest rooms of this resort and are very very small (especially Nila-2 which is very dingy). The other cottages/rooms seemed to be nice

3- They dont have (atleast didnt have when we travelled) a big staff line-up in the kitchen and they would take dinner orders in the morning so that you are served on time (goes to show that they take care of you)

4- You need to have your conveyance or should be willing to get a taxi as this is far from any touristy place

Room Tip: Avoid Nila-1 and Nila-2
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chandan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

we 7 traveled to Munnar, searched for cottage .. Tourism information center - informed abt this place ... its 3 km from center of the town ...
Excellent scenic
for Friends they gave a separate cottage which is 2 min walk from the main resort.
Private cottage - Excellent to Enjoy
Food - Dinner Excellent
Morning Breakfast - Superb
Good Quality and Quantity

Will surely recommend my friends to stay in this place.

Aranyaka best place to enjoy staying

Room Tip: Sudarma - stay for friends
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank premkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parvathirajesh, Owner at Aranyaka Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

Thank you very much for the wonderful review sir. We always recommend this private cottage called Sudharma for friends/bachelors to enjoy their privacy. Great to know that we succeeded in serving you to your satisfaction. Thanking you once again for the time spent to give this wonderful review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

I have stayed in Aranyaka Resort for two nights with my family and relatives. We reached Aranyaka on 18th March, 2013. I actually booked Godavari Cotteage (entire cottage with 2 B/R + Living Room), however after reaching the resort, we were upgraded to Ganga Cottage (2 B/R but no Living Room) without any extra charge, by resort management due to some of their internal issues. The resort is located nearly 6-7 km outside of Munnar Town. It was an excellent location far from city hubbubs. Ganga Cottage is located in the most elevated location of the resort and having the best view (you can also see the waterfall) among other cottages. Hotel staffs were friendly and room service was good. However little bit of extra effort is required for maintenance of the rooms. Breakfast was served as per our order based on daily menu available and it had good variety. I recommend this place for the people who love nature and want to spend some peaceful holiday in Munnar. Thanks to Aranyaka - Suvadeep.

Room Tip: Go for Ganga Cottage...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suvadeep_besu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013 via mobile

Pros:

1. This resort is located in one if the best best places in Munnar.
2. Having very good food and friendly service, I would recommend this place for peace lovers.
3. Breakfast is awesome as you get to choose what you want and pretty much I had very good breakkie everyday

Cons:

1. Very poor room cleanliness. Towels are substandard ones, tea and coffee but no milk and kettle, rooms are very cold in winter
2. It could get scary at nights as rooms are not air tight and that some unusual sound keep coming through mountains when windy.
3. Little expensive

Overall, if you want to have some good time away from town and have little concerns over room cleanliness and weather, it is recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pratik0013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parvathirajesh, Owner at Aranyaka Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2013

Thank you very much for choosing our resort for your stay and for the valuable time spent to give us a sincere feedback.

Very sorry to find your mark of disappointment with regard to the cleanliness. The towels and other similar accessories provided in the rooms are of the new lot purchased recently, to be more specific on. 3rd of march 2013. We have engaged an out side agency for laundering clothes whereby the service to the customers' satisfaction is ensured. If you have any such discomfort with the cleanliness our house keeping team is always around to serve you at any time.
The scary noise in the resort is nothing but the Nature's naughtiness. When you choose a developed part of india's one among the most densed forests, the valley has kept many such strange and funny activities for you. The noise is nothing but the vibrations caused by the wind in the valley. And the ventillations are the mandatory provision fixed by the architects, hence both are unavoidable.
And Sir,,,, whether is the unique attraction we fortunately hold to draw
The dissatisfaction on the cleanliness part if caused, is deeply regretted though the chances for the same are very less. Kettles are provided only in the super deluxe room, but hot water is provided to all other rooms in flasks, if demanded.

Expecting to have a chance to serve you with more facilities and improvements soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We stayed for two nights at the Aranyaka Resorts. It is a very peaceful, small resort on a beautiful location in Munnar. Nice room, good food, great service. We went on a full day trip to Top Station with a rickshaw, organised by the hotel manager, which was a great experience: fun to see all the local attractions and the beautiful scenery.

Room Tip: We stayed in the first room (K11 I believe), which was absolutely fine, but a bit noisy because right above the parking lot. If you come to Munnar for the silence - go for a room a bit further away.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
parvathirajesh, Owner at Aranyaka Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2013

Thank you so much for choosing our resort for your stay and also for the valuable feedback.
Having great concern on the valuable time you have spent to stay with us and also to write the review, we have already taken steps to arrange the parking which you found disturbing, developing the land on the other side of the road.
Pleasure serving you......

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews