We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
Nearby Hotels
Arte-Sano Hotel Cafe(San Juan del Sur)(Great Value!)
US$102
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Bahia Hotel(Playa Marsella)
US$74
US$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mango Rosa Nicaragua(Playa Marsella)
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Jardin Hotel and Restaurant(San Juan del Sur)(Great Value!)
US$74
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Alcazar(San Juan del Sur)(Great Value!)
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel La Dolce Vita(San Juan del Sur)(Great Value!)
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Estacion(San Juan del Sur)
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Casablanca(San Juan del Sur)
Hotel Estrella(San Juan del Sur)
Reviews (552)
Filter reviews
553 results
Traveller rating
437
73
25
11
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
437
73
25
11
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssuspension bridgeprivate beachhowler monkeyshorseback ridingbeach barclamssound of the wavesclose to natureboogie boardstortillasplunge poolrainy seasonswinging bedfour seasonsjuan carlosopen aircosta rica
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
458 - 463 of 553 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2008

Six of us spent 3 days in Feb. at Morgan's Rock and had an absolutely wonderful time.
Previous reporters noted the climb to most of the bungalows which is true, but worth the climb. Bungalows all the same; location and views only difference.worth it. A handicapped individual will have great difficulty maneuvering around the facility.

Although menu selection may be small to some, our party of six found the food to be very good to excellent. Food ingredients always fresh. Local beer very, very good + mixed alcoholic drinks (while not included) delicious. Staff always smiling & helpful.

Beach quiet and beautiful but again a hike down to the beach. Main hacienda includes small bar area & restaurant which overlooks salt water pool + ocean.

Very, very quiet atmosphere. If you are looking for a very lively, full activity all-inclusive resort, then this is definitely not the place for you. Stay at Sandals, Breezes, etc. However, if you want relaxation amidst a beautiful nature preserve, then this is the place for you.

We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank pblibrary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2008

Beautiful bungalows, great staff, great project.

A handy tip however, the website says there are 'some steps' to the bungalows. Make that more than 200 if you have a bunglow at the top - that means every breakfast, lunch and dinner at least, you have to do the steps. The bungalows are 1-15 with the higher the number, the higher you are up the hill. It's a great way of getting fit and after a couple of days you don't really notice it, but if someones got a bad back or can't do that many, you might want to book one lower down.

Don't let that put you off though, you can sit on you balcony, just watch the monkeys playing in the trees and chill out.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harpUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2008

We took our two small sons, ages 1 and 4 with us to Morgan's Rock. Morgan's provided a crib for our little one and a twin for our four year old. The deck on our bungalow was not a safe place for the baby, so we had to hold him when we were out there. However, the room itself worked just fine. The kids loved the howler monkeys and the pool was amazing. The only thing better was the beach and the farm. Morgan's Rock was the highlight of our trip. The staff appears to be well chosen. They all speak English and were very kind to our baby. The food is great and the service is too. We spent a lot of time on the beach, with small coolers full of food provided by Morgan's. We will come back again.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank cowboy668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2008

My husband and I stayed at Morgan's Rock last year and when we decided that we needed a week of sun and relaxation, we just had to go back! It is unusual for us to return anywhere and we worried that the stay would not live up to our memories and expectations.

I am happy to report that it was just as fantastic the second time around. Many of the staff were still there and welcomed us like old friends. They were genuinely happy and proud to see us come back as a testament to their great service. They have had many repeat visitors; we met another returning couple there who were equally pleased.

The place still looks great, the food is delicious (though less variety in the fish this year but you get whatever is biting!) the beach is spectacular and the very wet rainy season meant that the forest was much greener than it was in January of last year. This also allowed us to go kayaking on the estuary which was breathtaking. In 6 days last year and 7 days this year I only did one repeat hike (Los Miradores - always worth doing again!) We did a day trip to Granada and Mombacho - highly recommend the Mombacho hike.

All in all if you are thinking of going back to Morgan's Rock, do not hesitate...and if this is your first visit, it may well not be your last.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Zoezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2007

The website of Morgan's Rock is a beautiful and an accurate representation of what to expect with your stay at Morgan's Rock. The lodge is well maintained. The staff is superb. And, the food is beyond imagination - wonderfully prepared and always extremely yummy. The excursions offered were amazing and I highly recommend the trip to Grenada, shopping and the volcano. You are really close to nature and you will see monkeys, lizards, iguanas, small snakes, land crabs and many birds right outside your cottage - don't worry - they will run from you before you ever get close. I strongly recommend this eco-lodge and a visit to Nicaragua - it is a beautiful, friendly and safe country and the eco-lodge is truely an experience.

Stayed: November 2007
3  Thank JoHall123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews