We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
Nearby Hotels
Arte-Sano Hotel Cafe(San Juan del Sur)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Bahia Hotel(Playa Marsella)(Great Value!)
US$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Jardin Hotel and Restaurant(San Juan del Sur)(Great Value!)
US$75
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel La Dolce Vita(San Juan del Sur)(Great Value!)
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Estacion(San Juan del Sur)
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rositas Hotel(San Juan del Sur)(Great Value!)
US$32
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Barrio Cafe Hotel(San Juan del Sur)(Great Value!)
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel & Resort Palermo(San Juan del Sur)(Great Value!)
US$136
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Victoriano(San Juan del Sur)(Great Value!)
US$123
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (556)
Filter reviews
556 results
Traveller rating
440
73
25
11
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
440
73
25
11
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssuspension bridgeprivate beachhowler monkeyshorseback ridingbeach barclamssound of the wavesclose to natureboogie boardstortillasplunge poolrainy seasonswinging bedfour seasonsjuan carlosopen aircosta rica
Filter
Updating list...
339 - 344 of 556 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We visited for 3 nights from the 4th February 2013 as part of a three month tour of Central America. We had heard good things about the place and were very pleased that the first night's stay was on my partner's birthday. I booked dinner on the 'deck' well in advance by email, which was confirmed twice. Imagine my horror when they managed to double book the table and the restaurant staff did not have a clue what to do. The manager tried to make amends by offering his 'finest champagne', which turned out to be a cheap bottle of Cava.

Things went from bad to worse when on two occasions we were served gin and soda instead of tonic, this time the staff did not know the difference. This was also compounded by menu items (lamb) not being available and the general air of nobody being in charge of the food and beverage part of the hotel.

It is a stunning location and the rooms are very different and well maintained but it felt like a whole group of very new and inexperienced restaurant and bar staff had been taken on with nobody to train and help them.

To be fair to the manager, he took charge and we were offered a complentary tour of the farm and a bottle of good French wine.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HMJ99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MorgansRockMgr, Manager at Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2013

It's always very difficult to begin a stay on the wrong foot. The confusion on your first night was one of those human errors we do our very best to avoid at Morgan's Rock. We apologize for that error here again, as we did that evening. We understand that a complimentary bottle of fine wine doesn't erase the error. But it was wonderful to hear your comments at the end of the evening and at the end of each of your dinners at the lodge about how much you enjoyed the food and special attention we provided. I was especially glad to hear from you while you were here about how much you enjoyed your stay overall.
As an ecolodge in a remote location in a newly developing country, with a focus on sustainability and a special effort to promote and implement a farm-to-table strategy in our food service, we do occasionally have availability difficulty with some items on our rather large menu at any one time. Thus our practice of attempting to collect dinner orders earlier in the day, so that we can make every effort to provide a top-notch dining experience, while reducing waste.Rest assured that we our trying our very best each day to meet every expectation of our guests, we continue to work hard to that end, and we look forward to having you visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

An incredible serene, beautiful, relaxing, awe inspiring, refreshing, get away. Very pleasant & helpful staff. Surrounded within the natural habitat, listening to the sounds of creatures, wind and crashing waves all day was a transcending experience. Accommodations of the uniquely made bungalows extended the experience of being alone in nature and the continued experience of all sites and sounds. We look forward to returning in the future!

Room Tip: All rooms include some stair climbing.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaBradRoland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MorgansRockMgr, Manager at Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2013

Hi Lisa - Your review gives an exact feeling of what we want to transmit to our guests. Thank you for expressing it so thoroughly. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We loved morgans rock it is a beutiful property and it is very secluded. The only negative I can say is that service is a bit slow. Everyone in the staff was very nice but the management has to be mutch more visible. This hotel was the best we stay at during our trip around central america.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claes71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MorgansRockMgr, Manager at Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2013

Thank you for naming us the best hotel you visited during your Central American vacation. We are constantly working with our staff to improve our service for our guests to enjoy. We hope you visit us in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Just returned and I want to go back real bad. For anyone looking for a hidden paradise - this is it. Morgan's Rock is a place where the natural and still wild environment sets the perfect stage for a bounty of activities - or nothing but relaxing in the sun. First there's the private mile long beach where we actually were the only ones there (except maybe for the hatching sea turtles). You can even ride horses through the surf like so many movies you've seen.

The infinity pool was our next stop. wow, then lunch under the airy palm thatched dining room/patio. The food was great and plentiful served by some of the friendliest and caring staff I've ever had the pleasure to meet. Gotta have an ice-cold Tona - the local beer - served a degree over freezing. Then up to the Cottage for a nap in the shade on the swinging porch bed. The rooms were wonderful! Very airy. Very secluded. We had ocean views of two beaches. The crashing surf and constant breeze made sleeping a nice long dream.

Our only note to possible visitors is that you will do a lot of waking and stair climbing from the beach to the lodge to the cottages. Ours was up about 300 well lit and tended steps, along a nice path through the forest - a great workout but may be too much for some.

This place has soul - from the proud Nicaraguan staff to the farm workers where they get all the eggs, dairy, poultry and much of the produce they serve at the lodge. They are reforesting the 4,000 acres with native hardwoods and fruit trees so the wildlife was everywhere. We say 3 kinds of monkeys, possums, sloths, iguanas, tons of colorful birds and even a skunk!

We took advantage of the location to visit the non-touristy town of Revas and the local market (very cool and cheap!). Then went to the hip surf town of San Juan del Sur where we feasted on a lobster dinner (3 huge tails with all the fixings) for just $12. Nicaragua is a bargain!

If you come I'd recommend 4 or more days to take it all in - a week would be heaven. And the coolest thing - it's cred as an eco-lodge in the truest sense is real. The owners and directors are all dedicated to sustainability and making it the showcase eco-lodge in Nicaragua - and it shows!

Room Tip: Room #13 is where we stayed - best view of all but a nice climb up!
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaWigMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MorgansRockMgr, Manager at Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2013

Thanks for coming and see you next time (the Toñas will be waiting)!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Morgan's Rock is an ideal place to relax and appreciate the beauty of the premises and the surrounding nature. The staff are very courteous and friendly and are engaged in providing a memorable experience to visitors. The cuisine is exquisite and offers healthy options prepared with care. The chalets provide a wonderful view of the lovely beach and provide a luxurious yet simple and tranquil environment for a holiday!
A memorable experience which we would highly recommend!

Room Tip: All chalets face the ocean so the view is equally as wonderful in each one.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gcwalkty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MorgansRockMgr, Manager at Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2013

Thank you for taking your time to post your comments. Holidays at Morgan´s Rock are really about eco-luxury and tranquil environment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews